Chasing the famous Resplendet Quetzal

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

When I was backpacking around Central America last summer, I finally managed to spot the famous Resplendet Quetzal!

Ever since I’ve been to Guatemala the first time I wanted to see this beautiful bird. The Quetzal is the national bird of Guatemala, part of their flag and even lent its name to their country’s currency. Due to its long tail and its vibrant colours many consider it among the world's most beautiful birds. It was once sacred to the Mayans and is a symbol of freedom. It is the only bird in the world that can’t be locked up because it would die of sadness, so the only way to spot it is in its natural environment.

P7262014.JPG

I started my first attempt in Boquete in Panama: Near the small town of Boquete, in the Volcano Baru National Park, I hiked for over 4 hours on the Quetzal Trail. I left my Hostel early in the morning, but even before arriving to the considered Quetzal habitat it started to rain heavily. Even though they are relatively large for a bird, they are very difficult to spot and due to the rain, I was forced to head back to the town without seeing a single Quetzal.

Due to lack of time I left Panama and decided to try my luck in Costa Rica. In my tourist guide I read about Monteverde National Park and I was almost heading there, when I met a local tourist guide in my hostel in San Jose. He recommended me not to go to Monteverde and better head to Trinidad de Dota near the National Park Los Quetzales. A less touristy place, near to San Jose and far cheaper than Monteverde. I changed my planes and the next day in the morning I took the bus to Trinitad de Dota, where I arrived not even two hours later. A friend of the guy I met in the hostel already waited for me when I got off the bus and he offered me to guide me to the area where the Quetzales usually eat.

We were pretty near the main highway and not even 10 minutes away from the place where the bus dropped me off. I was quite sceptical about being able to spot a Quetzal that close to civilization but not even 5 minutes went by when I saw the first one. It was a female, all in green and without the long tail. I spent the whole day wandering around the area, spotting five Quetzales and taking over 500 photos.

P7261991_1.jpg

If you are interested in birdwatching but maybe don’t want to hike hours through the jungle without even knowing if you really lucky enough to see a Quetzal, Trinidad the Dota is definitely the place you should visit!

It was an awesome day and definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Costa Rica!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bypaul from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Wow! Beautiful bird. I've been to Costa Rica once, but hadn't heard about this bird.

¡Buenísima recomendación, gracias! ¡Y que viva el Quetzal! 🇬🇹

Thnx @ninolatino for putting this info all together.

You're welcome!

appreciate , It is nice to follow you. follow up

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ninolatino to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @ninolatino! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65