Traveling around Central America – First stop, Panama City!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Already the approach to Panama City was impressive and after having slept most of the flight I fortunately woke up on time for the arrival to enjoy the magnificent view over Panama City’s remarkable skyline.

IMG_20170712_114349.jpg

Only a few minutes later we arrived at Tocumen airport and after passing the security checks and finding my luggage without any problems, I left the airport building and was already facing my first problem: For the first few nights I had booked a dorm bed in a hostel in the Casco Viejo, but now I had no idea how I should get there. Finding a taxi to take me directly to my hostel wouldn’t have been a problem, but paying $30 was not an option for me. I went to look for a tourist information and quickly found one.

Contrary to the statements of the taxi drivers, who told me that the public bus wouldn't be much cheaper and I would need several hours to get from the airport to the city centre, there actually was a direct bus to the Casco Viejo which only cost about one Dollar. After less than 40 minutes, I reached the Mercado de Mariscos where I got off the bus. Foresighted, I had downloaded the maps for Panama City on my smartphone and after an exhausting walk through the heat I reached the Lunas Castle Hostel.

After checking in, taking a shower and stowing my luggage, I set out to explore the Casco Viejo. The Casco Viejo is the historic quarter of the city, UNESCO World Heritage Site and characterized by narrow streets and colonial buildings. The whole area is littered with chic bars and restaurants and overcrowded with tourists. As the Presidential Palace is also located in the Casco Viejo and there is a lot of police presence, it is considered a very safe zone. The view over the Bahía de Panamá, the Cinta Costera and the skyline of the modern parts of the city is amazing.

P7130856-Wiederhergestellt.jpg

Since I had not planned to stay many days in Panama City, I decided to visit the famous Panama Canal the next day. I left my hostel after breakfast to arrive in time for the passage of the vessels through the Miraflores lock. After a walk to the Estacion 5 de Mayo, I took the subway to Albrook and from there a bus which took me directly to the Miraflores locks.

The Miraflores locks are one of three locks the ships have to pass on their (around 15 hours long) way through the Panama Canal and the last one before reaching the Pacific Ocean. In two chambers, the passing vessels are lowered around 16m down to sea-level. From the visitors center you have a perfect few on the locks operation, so definitely make sure to be there either in the morning or in the afternoon to observe the vessels passing the locks. The visitor center also includes a panorama restaurant and an interesting museum that offers you a lot of background information. The entrance fee is about $15.

I spent nearly 4 hours there, took hundrets of photos and also filmed two time-lapse videos:

The next and my last day in Panama City I spend a bit more relaxed. I borrowed a bike from my hostel and seized the day exploring the surroundings of Casco Viejo. I had a great time in this city and wish I had spent more days there.


Thank you for reading! Feel free to comment, upvote, follow me and resteem!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ninolatino to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67