Traveling around Central America – Panama’s highlands

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The first few days of my trip around Central America had begun impressively. Panama City and the legendary Panama Canal will remain in my memories for a long time to come. I had planned less than two weeks in Panama and before I left Panama City I had to decide where to travel next. The country offers countless places worth to visit, which made the decision quite difficult. Due to the heat and high humidity in Panama City, I longed for a bit of cooling off and therefore decided not to stop at the Pacific coast, but to visit a small village in the mountains north of Panama City. Fully packed, I left from Casco Viejo to the terminal Albrook and got on a bus heading towards El Valle de Anton.

El Valle de Anton

After about three hours’ bus drive and one change I reached the small village El Valle de Anton. Cool mountain air welcomed me and the oppressive heat of the last days was quickly forgotten. I checked into a small hostel on the outskirts of the village, made my way to the marketplace to get some food and to check out the town centre and kicked off the evening with a beer or two.

P7161035.JPGP7161072.JPG

El Valle de Anton is located in the largest populated volcanic crater in the world and is surrounded by tropical cloud forests. Under Panameños it is a popular destination to escape the heat and stress of the big city, spend time in nature and explore the surrounding mountains, forests and waterfalls.

Boquete

Delighted by the magnificent mountain scenery of Panama, I once more decided against a stopover at the pacific coast and made my way to another mountain village. Boquete is one of the most popular destination among travellers and offers everything from a visit to a local coffee farm to challenging hiking trails. It is also the perfect starting point to climb Volcano Baru, the highest point in Panama.

P7181148_1.jpgP7191155_1.jpg
P7191198.JPGP7191201.JPG

After spending a few days in Boquete I finally headed towards the coast! After the stopovers in the highlands of Panama, the Caribbean Islands Bocas del Toro should be my next stop – more in my next post!

If you haven’t read the first about my trip through Central America, I should definitely check out my post about Panama City.

Thank you for reading! Feel free to comment, upvote, follow me and resteem!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bypaul from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ninolatino to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @ninolatino! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49