Postcards from Cali

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

1_01.jpg

Nearly every traveller who is crossing Colombia from North to South (or vice versa) is going through the Salsa capital, Cali, which is the third-largest city in Colombia by population and and the second-largest by territory. It was founded in 1536 by the Spanish conquistador Sebastián de Belalcázar.

DSC05237.jpg

The founder himself

The city center lies between two mountains, making it appear as if it's flowing from there along with the river Rio Cali, rushing down the slopes through all Santiago de Cali to the junction with Cauca River, which gives name to the region - Cauca Valley. On top of those mountains monuments are built: Cristo Rey (a big Jesus statue) and Las Tres Cruces which I skipped.

Cali is a nice place to be in, the mean day temperature holds around 24 C and weather more or less constant during all year. Some say it's boring. I say shut up, it's way better than half a year of the winter, believe me.


DSC05235.jpg

Foothills make plenty of cool viewpoints for those willing to search for them

As for the other conditions - criminal situation seem to be quite bad around here, tourists are getting robbed all the time. Locals say Cali became dangerous after the rise of Cali Cartel in 80s and 90s which branched out of Pablo Escobar's cartel in Medellin. This cartel was so powerful, they were said to control 90% of world's cocaine in mid 90s. They also had a wide intelligence and surveillance network, along with multiple connections to mercs and spies. All that earned them the name "The Cali KGB", being compared with omnipresent Soviet KGB.

DSC05238.jpg

Those are the bullet's traces


2.jpg


I, however, find the city cozy, at least the parts I inhabited during my short and uneventful stay. There are also many museums, shops and other attractions. I am also sure I didn't see 90% of what's worth seeing so always make your research before coming somewhere. Not doing so might lead to an adventure, as practice shows, but it also might create a situation when you have no idea where to go.


3.jpg

And here we have some scenes from Cali's green city center

If you liked this post, consider giving it an upvote or resteem. Follow me for more cool stuff and stay loco!

To view my posts on @SteemitWorldMap click here:
Logo.jpg

Check out my travel blog as well!
My recent posts:
Pluto's Quinpuplets (1937) - a fragment of film demonstration
A Charismatic Street Performer, Bogota, Colombia
Caliwood - a museum of cinematography in Cali, Colombia
[ASW Contest] An empty corridor in the ruins of Armero, a Colombian Ghost Town
Hiking in Cocora Valley, meeting condors, hummingbirds and coatis

The stories I'm most proud of:
Sectants and magic potions, Ayahuaska experience in Colombia
Haiti: Poverty, gangsters and UN party
Exhausting ride along the border of Afghanistan
Overnight adventure in Haunted Bhangarh, a Ghost Town in India
Beheaded Goat and Bloody Idol above the Clouds in Himalayan Temple

Sort:  

The truth has always wanted to have a car of the type
Volkswagen Beetle, like the one you show on one of your postcards; I imagine it will be because it was one of the first cars that my paoà used, but a long time ago ... I have never had the opportunity to go to Cali, but certainly the reference one has of this city is the "salsa" and its "pachanga" ... here I leave you a sample of his very sticky music "Cali Pachanguero" and images of such a beautiful city:


Carpe Diem...
Greetings @nameless-berk

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

"better than half a year of the winter" - Where do you come from? I thought this phrase was relevant only for Russia))

There you have it. I'm from Siberia to be more precise.

I know about The Cali KGB in the Netflix's series, Narcos. They must be so good back then. You wrote a very enjoyable article with good photography, @nameless-berk. Have good time travelling, and keep posting, looking forward to seeing more.

Cool to know, I have heard the title before.

So far, the title already has 3 seasons. The Cali KGB was mentioned in second season. It is one good watch about Colombian drug cartels, if you were in to this kind of movies. I myself have been interested in the name of Pablo Escobar for some times before the series appeared.

Could I just ask which camera you took those photos with? Maybe I should learn also from you ... if you do not mind!!

I doubt you can learn something from me, I'm just an amateur. It's Sony Alpha 5000.

But the quality looks better than my Samsung Galaxy Alpha :) :) I am planning to buy a new camera which makes also video ( At the moment I am learning to the theory how do that)

The city of Cali is really very beautiful
Professional photography really
I wish you success, my friend

I love the shots.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=postcards-from-cali


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61