Travel Challenge # 12: Rilski monastery

in #travel7 years ago

Its creation is related to the life of the Bulgarian saint Ivan Rilski, who was born at the end of the 9th century in the village of Skrinno, a small village in the folds of the Osogovo Mountain. Ivan Rilski witnessed some of the most important events in Bulgarian history - the adoption of Christianity, the rise of the state at the time of Tsar Simeon and its decline to his son Peter. After taking the monastery at Boboshevski Monastery "St. Dimitar" the saint gave himself to Hermit life.

Ivan Rilski was in many places before settling in Rila, where he founded a monastery where he stayed for the rest of his life.
In the 11th-12th centuries, during the Byzantine rule the monastery was already known and was the mainstay of Bulgarian self-consciousness and generic memory. After the rebuilding of the Bulgarian state in 1185, Carried the relics of the saint in the new capital of Turnovo - an indisputable sign of the immense significance of St. Ivan Rilski, considered to be a heavenly patron of Bulgaria.

`

In the 14th century, the monastery became a solidly fortified and impressive complex, thanks to the efforts of the local feudal ruler, Hagel, the sevastokrator. In 1335 he built a five-storey defensive tower with battlements, known as the Hrelyo's Tower, and in 1343. Built a church that was destroyed in the 19th century.

IMAG2672.jpg

Upon the conquest of Bulgaria from the Ottoman Empire, the monastery survived and preserved its privileged position. But in 1435. Was completely deserted by robbery attacks. It was restored in 1460. By three brothers who, in 1469, Managed to obtain permission from Sultan Murad II to return the relics of St. Ivan Rilski to the monastery. The return of the saints' relics has become a nationwide demonstration of the unspiritual Bulgarian spirit. The procession was described by Vladislav Gramatik in Panagerika of the monastery.

IMAG2673.jpg

During the years of slavery the monastery was a great literary and religious center. Here worked writers, translators and icon-painters, trained clergy, and active contacts with other Orthodox countries. In the early 19th century the monastery was renovated by master Alexi Rilets. In 1834. The construction of the new church "Nativity of the Virgin" began.

IMAG2674.jpg

All frescoes in it were painted by icon painters from Samokov and Bansko schools. Its iconostasis is the largest in the Balkans. It has been threaded for three years by master Atanas Theladur and has been completely gold-plated a few years after its placement. The two extremely valuable relics are the relics of St. Ivan Rilski and the miraculous icon "St Bogoroditsa Odigitria (Guide)", which are located in the main church. The library of the monastery stores 16,000 volumes, among them there are particularly valuable copies from the 15-19th century.

IMAG2675.jpg

The museum of the monastery has over 380 exhibits - icon, weapons, priestly garments, worship articles, gifts and gift certificates. One of the most interesting exhibits in the museum is the first geographic globe in Bulgaria, made in 1836. By Neofit Rilski for the monastery school and the Rafail's Cross.

IMAG2676.jpg

IMAG2677.jpg

IMAG2678.jpg

IMAG2679.jpg

IMAG2680.jpg

IMAG2681.jpg

IMAG2682.jpg

IMAG2684.jpg

IMAG2685.jpg

IMAG2686.jpg

IMAG2687.jpg

IMAG2689.jpg

IMAG2690.jpg

IMAG2691.jpg

IMAG2692.jpg

IMAG2693.jpg

IMAG2694.jpg

IMAG2695.jpg

IMAG2696.jpg

IMAG2698.jpg

IMAG2699.jpg

IMAG2700.jpg

IMAG2701.jpg

IMAG2703.jpg

Thanks for reading, you can follow me here for more articles: @nakedchef89

Sort:  

Great site to visit...nice historical narratives...good to share...thanks


This post got a 3.23 % upvote thanks to @nakedchef89 - Hail Eris !

I just upvoted you, you are number 3 100% upvote for me today. I have not yet been to visit this monastery, it is not far from me here in Sofia.

I only want to clarify one thing, though I can see well enough most of the photos must be your own, that all of them are duly credited, if they are not your work.

Apart from that small question, btw, you should change the naure tag to nature.

I am very fond of this funny little country, and I enjoy reading more about its history and sites and artifacts. Good luck and I hope this post, for your sake and for my curation reward, gets upvoted to the moon :)

Great comment ...love the little countries history top !)

Thanks :) Only the first two pictures are not mine, the rest I have done them personally.

Cool, thanks for that clarification :)

Bulgaria is a beautiful country, and the people are kind and helpful. I have a friend who lives in Bulgaria. I have seeing pictures of snow, and the trees, mountains and every time I see such a beauty, I feel the need to move there and live.

Perhaps, someday I will visit.

P.S: I post stuff on How to Become a Writer and make money with Steemit, please take a look at it.

Thank you.

You will not regret if you retire here :)

Someday my friend someday.

It is a beautiful place, wild and natural. More than any other place I have been in my life. The nearby countries all are also quite beautiful as well, but there is a sense of magic and freedom here that none other has.

so great photos, the photography is so real that it seems i am with you, seeing with my own eyes all that fantastic place right next to you

an up vote for you, See My Visit to Attock

https://steemit.com/travel/@jakkk/my-trip-to-attock-fort-in-pakistan-the-fort-is-a-memorial-of-great-mughal-empire

I saw your article. It's very nice work and seems like a lot of fun!

Stunning buildings! We do travel vlogs on YouTube and would like to make some connections on Steemit! Please follow us back so we can be friends :) Looking forward for your posts

I will ;) You can check my other travel chalenge articles. Iám shure you'll be impress.

It's soooo beautiful. I love Bulgaria!

One day I need to go back to Bulgaria! I was only a child when I was there last since it was one of the very few countries the czech nationals under the communist regime could go to on vacation. I have made some friends there over the past few years so might be good reason to go!

You can check my other travel chalenge articles. Iám shure you'll be impress.

Very cool, following for more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47