Monday Morning Quote: "No place is ever as bad as they tell it's going to be."

in #travel6 years ago

Goooood morning readers! How are you? Monday is here: Head up and let's work!


Monday Morning Quotes: A place where, each Monday, I'll bring my favourite quotes to send you a bit of my positivity to start the week on full power! Hope you enjoy it.

Source: Chuck Thompson is the author of the widely reviewed political screed Better Off Without ’Em: A Northern Manifesto for Southern Secession, acclaimed comic travel memoirs Smile When You’re Lying and To Hellholes and Back and a two-volume World War II survey (The 25 Best World War II Sites: Pacific Theater and The 25 Essential World War II Sites: European Theater), regarded as the most comprehensive catalogue of World War II sites in existence.


Have you ever visited countries that were told to be bad?

I don't know how many times I've heard from people that some places should not be visited for a series of reasons. Mainly those opinions come from people who have never steped outside of their own comfort zones; or am I being way too optimistic?

I have proved to myself that some locations seen as dangerous, are not really all that bad. Am I pushing the luck too far?

I wonder if you have gone to places with a really bad *reputation*, but in reality turned out to be great.

What's your interpretation of this quote? Feel free to 'philosophize' on the comments down bellow.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Altair | A Shipwreck Story | Photography

[vlog # 15] Steem Challenge | DIY with 5 Steem in Brazil? | Bike MudGuard

Understanding Resource Credits / Entendendo os Resource Credits (En / Pt-Br)

Monday Morning Quote: "With age comes wisdom with travel comes understanding."

[Blog #43] Mountain Biking | Photography | 38km

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.564 which ranks you at #5856 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 40 places in the last three days (old rank 5896).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 299 contributions, your post is ranked at #240.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I would say that quote is mostly true. Its just expectation management. Your more at risk of dream destinations turning bad as you have such high hopes for them. That said if someone said I had to spend 6 months in suburban Damascus perhaps it would be as bad as I expect.

Yeah, I guess we can only draw a conclusion when we go and see it. I had a really bad image of my own city, until I started travelling. I was able to see that some places were not as different, or much better.

I guess it all goes on travelling styles, I think hitchhikers like me tend to see countries in a better way, because we are more connected to the people and the simplicity.

For example, people say that Iceland is super expensive, but for me it would possibly not be. Or that Brazil is super dangerous, yet I have never been robbed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49