You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monday Morning Quote: "No place is ever as bad as they tell it's going to be."

in #travel6 years ago

I would say that quote is mostly true. Its just expectation management. Your more at risk of dream destinations turning bad as you have such high hopes for them. That said if someone said I had to spend 6 months in suburban Damascus perhaps it would be as bad as I expect.

Sort:  

Yeah, I guess we can only draw a conclusion when we go and see it. I had a really bad image of my own city, until I started travelling. I was able to see that some places were not as different, or much better.

I guess it all goes on travelling styles, I think hitchhikers like me tend to see countries in a better way, because we are more connected to the people and the simplicity.

For example, people say that Iceland is super expensive, but for me it would possibly not be. Or that Brazil is super dangerous, yet I have never been robbed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66431.89
ETH 2569.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65