FIRENZE! By Day and Night!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

20170609_120048.jpg

Hey everyone, it's been a few days since my last post about our travels. Jet lag and spending every moment seeing the sites wore me down, but I'm back at it tonight! When you last joined us we were in Rome, but while I was away we moved on to Florence!

The two cities are so very different, and yet similar in many ways. Things are a little bit slower in Florence and it is quite a bit smaller, but there are still some amazing sites to see.

The main attraction in Firenze is the Duomo, it is an enormous, beautiful marble building with not one but three huge domes on top. Tomorrow we'll be taking a tour so I'll have some more history of the building to share then, for now I hope you enjoy these photos!

20170609_114623.jpg

20170611_145707.jpg

20170609_064654.jpg

20170611_145228.jpg

One of the other sites in Florence is the Ponte Vecchio bridge. It is one of the oldest bridges in Florence and the entire bridge is lined with jewelry shops!

20170609_120019.jpg
Ponte Vecchio Bridge

20170611_151429.jpg
Ponte Vecchio Bridge at night

The final place I want to share with you is Piazza Michaelangelo. It affords the best views of the city, by far. It is quite the hike up to the piazza, my feet and legs can attest to that, but the view is breathtaking and simply can't be beat! We're going back up tomorrow morning so I can share some shots taken during the day. In the meantime I hope you enjoy the nighttime view, I absolutely did!

20170611_153405.jpg
View from Piazza Michaelangelo, you can see the Duomo in the middle and Ponte Vecchio in the bottom left

Thanks so much for viewing everyone. I'm hoping I'll have sometime to share with you the trip we took to a couple Tuscan wineries and a special butcher shop in the next day or two, so stay tuned for more!


Check out our other adventures in Rome at these links below.

Trevi Fountain

Vatican City

The Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and Roman Forum

Exploring Rome


Don't forget to Upvote, Follow and Resteem! STEEM ON EVERYONE!

Sort:  

such a fantastic city to explore.

For some reason I always like the night shots with the city lights.

I agree, we have a lot of really good pictures on our actual camera that I am excited to put up when I gst back home and can download them. A couple really good night shots on there, that I'm sure you'll love!

I never knew the entire bridge is lined with jewelry shops.

They are gorgeous shops too! At night it's cool because they all have fancy doors that close on the displays and entry ways, it almost looks just as good if not better at night!

Awesome! Go to Giardino di Boboli if you have time, it's a really beautiful place. And Forte di Belvedere has a cool installation on right now and has a great view of Florence. Enjoy your travels!

We actually went past Giardino di Boboli yeaterday, but there was very little in bloom unfortunately. I'll have to see if we have time for Forte di Belvedere today! It's our last full day in Florence...tomorrow we are pff to Venice for a few days. Thanks for the recommendations!

are these your pics?
I love the night shot!

They are! These were a little harder shots to get, especially the ones of the duomo since it is so so big and there isn't much space around it! Glad you likr them, there are a couple others from Florence that I'm excited to share, but I want to wait until I have my laptop so I can put together a good post (only have my phone with me). I'm glad you still like them! Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69