The Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and Roman Forum

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

20170607_093035-1-1.jpg

Todays adventures included a ton of history. We started with an impromptu tour of the Colosseum, followed by a trip to Palatine Hill and the Roman forum. Pretty amazing to see exactly where Rome was founded over 2700 years ago in 753 BC! I had heard the story of Rome's founding in the past, but it was great to hear again from our tour guide. For those of you who have never heard the story before, Rome was founded by twin brothers, well one brother really, but I'm getting ahead of myself.

The brothers were named Romulus and Remus. They had been set adrift on the river Tiber after their mother, Rhea Silvia, was flung into the river by Amulius, their mother's uncle. Why had she been flung into the river you ask, great question! Amulius had actually taken the throne of Alba Longa by ejecting Romulus and Remus' grandfather, Amulius' brother, from the throne. Amulius wanted no threats to his throne so he made Rhea Silvia become a vestal virgin. Unfortunately for him, Mars, the god of war, was enchanted by Rhea Silvia and had his way with her while she slept, thus impregnating her with Romulus and Remus.

So now we have the two twin brothers floating along the river - motherless, when all of a sudden they are snagged by a tree branch. From there a she-wolf suckles them and they grow up to be men. True to their heroic origins, they raise an army and return to defeat their great uncle Amulius, and return their grandfather to his throne.

Now after winning this great battle and killing their uncle the two brothers are like, "Hey, what should we do now? Maybe found a town near where the tree branch stopped us on the river!?" They both think it's a great idea!

Unfortunately, they couldn't agree on which hill to found the town, Romulus wanting Palatine Hill and Remus wanting Aventine Hill. Basically what happened is their fight over these hills got so big that Romulus threw a spear at his brother and killed him (so glad my brothers and I aren't into the whole town founding thing, sounds dangerous) thus resulting in Rome being founded on Palatine Hill in 753BC!

Ok, so that is all from memory of what the tour guide said and what I could remember from 7th grade history (with a little help from Google on names), so please don't hold it against me if I got any of the details wrong. In fact, comment and let me know if I mixed anything up please!

Now, onto some pictures from today, hope you enjoy!

20170607_075018.jpg
Inside the Colosseum

20170607_074148.jpg
Inside the Colosseum #2

20170607_101807.jpg
Roman Forum, as seen from Palatine Hill

20170607_103827.jpg
I can't remember what this place is, but I do remember our tour guide saying the door is the original Bronze door and that the lock still works! Over 1000 years old, and they still have the key...amazing!

20170607_103941-1.jpg
Roman Forum, the building on the far right is where the Senate was created giving us democracy as we know it

As always, thanks so much for reading and stay tuned for more to come!


Bonus pic of me trying to take a selfie while staring into the sun

20170607_102115.jpg


Check out our other adventures in Rome at these links below.

Trevi Fountain

Vatican City

Everyday Rome


Don't forget to Upvote, Follow and Resteem! STEEM ON EVERYONE!

Sort:  

I've never been in Italy before, I hope that I would have chance to visit this place too. Nice pics!!!

I hope so too. The history, art, and culture are fantastic!

Wow, your photos are amazing I hope you enjoyed the Caput Mundi​, the eternal​ Urbe. Of course upvoted

I have enjoyed every moment in this city so far. Glad you like the photos! There will be more to come, tomorrow we travel to Florence.

Rome is such an incredible place. I could explore for months.

It really is! I love the fact that you can walk from one side to the other, pretty sure we have walked about 45 miles over these past three days. Unfortunately, today is our last day in Rome, but luckily, we are head to Florence!

this reminded me of gladiator.

I was thinking of Gladiator the whole time we were there!

one of this days need to visit it ❤

The city really is amazing! There's so much to see here.

I've never heard the story so thanks for retelling it. I love history so your trip and all the info and pics you're sharing are great to see. Can't wait to see what tomorrow will bring

Glad you enjoyed! It really is an awesome story, I wish I could remember more of what our tour guide told us!

Rome is really cool! Thank so much for sharing those stunning photos with us! I subscribed to your page to follow more of you trip! Submit more stories! Cheers! ;)

It is my pleasure. Thanks so much for following, there will be more to come for sure!

Stunning photos, gives a great story.

I just posted my first story, about my drone photography:
https://steemit.com/drone/@valhallaa/phantom3-drone-photography-series-1

You have a very interesting post. I see you are interested in this story. Click the link to find out about Kiev Rus https://steemit.com/travel/@hajevoy60/unique-seal-of-prince-svyatoslav-in-the-church-of-the-golden-gate-10th-century

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69342.59
ETH 3678.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.35