Memories from abroad -Shirakawa

in #travel7 years ago

random japan 12.jpg

The mountains in Japan get really cold over winter...really, really cold....with lots of snow.

Which is awesome if you love secluded places with lots of snow. And since I love adventuring to places like that...Shirakawa was definitely near the top of my list. So one crazy winter vacation whilst I was living in Japan I decided to head north and check out this winter wonderland I'd only ever seen on posters at the local travel agent.

It's in the middle of nowhere, hours from anywhere by car, bus or train. You really need to want to go here to get here, especially in winter. Hidden in the far north reaches of Gifu prefecture this little town owes a lot of it's economic well-being to the throngs of tourists who come to see the unique architecture. Well, not really unique, more like classic. Thatched roofs, wooden beams, water wheels, everything is old-school.

random japan 35.jpg

I searched for reasons why they haven't modernized

But really couldn't find any. Most likely economic. Either not enough money to start with, or once the tourists caught wind of this winter wonderland, no reason to change. Or maybe they just like it...should've asked while I was there.

Noted as one of the snowiest places in Japan, I can attest personally that fact. In the day or so I was there I think we got at least 6-8 inches. Which made life interesting as I was camping and my tent only claimed to be 3 season.

random japan 32.jpg

My stay was pretty short, just a single night.

There's not much to do here. Just the usually touristy Japanese stuff. Walk around, take pictures of old things, grab lunch at a recommended diner, buy some official souvenirs from the shops that were everywhere.

I think I really began to like this place after it started to get dark. When all the tourists had left and the only people around were either the locals or those staying at an inn just outside of town. Like a deep breath that had been held for a long time, let out.

random japan 15.jpg

random japan 16.jpg

It was, how do I put this, quiet. Like, you think you know winter quiet until you find yourself in the middle of the mountains where the loudest sound is your breath and the snowflakes flying around you. I'm sure some of you have been in places like that. Peaceful, right? Even the inn was super quiet. Maybe the fact that it had a hot spring and most people just chilled after hours of soaking kept it that way.

random japan 30.jpg

I was up and about early the next day.

The snow had stopped and I hadn't been buried alive next to the woodpile. Sun was creeping through the clouds bringing a warm glow to this bitter cold place.

I chilled (literally) for a couple more hours, just savoring. Imagining myself a hundred years ago trying to be a part of this community. Having to deal with the rigors of not only a country life, but in the harsh conditions of living deep in the mountains.

Then, I was off again. Heading to the next village and the next adventure.

I hope you enjoyed this quick trip to Shirakawa, Japan with me. Have you ever been there? I'd love to hear about it :)
Michael

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad -Kinkakuji in Kyoto
Memories from abroad -Late nights and cold days and my love of Ramen
Memories from abroad - Koh Rong island sunrise

random japan 1.jpg

Sort:  

Hi!
Came here from steemitworldmap digest.
Great post of Shirakawago!
We were there 2 years back, in the summer, and didn't caught the beautiful winter scenery.
Definitely would love to come back on a winter.
If you don't mind, would like to ask where you stayed and the price?

wonderful

wow Mike, that looks super freezing. def not for me for too long but looks totally fun. Loved the post. really cool place. keep posting travel stuff, id love to know where youve been

Thanks for coming by to read more :) I've definitely got a lot more memories to talk about. Living abroad for almost 6 years, a 5 month backpacking trip...stay tuned ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-shirakawa


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @mikesthoughts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Seeing such traditional wooden structures set against the snow is really pleasing :) Like looking at history and heritage of Human resilience.

Exactly! It was really cool to be able to have gone there. Now I look back and realize how lucky I was.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 06:44:00
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 311.74/400.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awesome photos and description Mike. Any plans to visit Japan again? If you do hit me up.

Definitely. Got friends with kids over there and a lot of drinking to catch up on, hehe. When I'm over there I'll hit you up :)

You slept in a tent with 6-9 inches of snow outside!? Dang hahah
Were you really bundled? Your stories sound crazy and super intriguing. "Which made life interesting as I was camping in a tent" that part made me laugh. Looking forward to reading your next post :)

Hehe, yeah. The first time I winter camped....maybe I'll write about that tonight :) Lot's of random tent stories. Loved traveling around Japan.

Ohmygosh the Japanese snowpeople are hilarious! Did you make them? What an adventure! I can't believe you did that in a tent! Burrrr... I'd be in the hot springs, myself. As for the quiet snow can bring, yes. Love that.

Hehe, no, they were there already. Had to take a pic because they looked so cute. It was pretty cold, but not as cold as the first time I winter camped. Definitely a great place to get away from everything :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76