Memories from abroad - Koh Rong island sunrise

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

cambodia 14.jpg

It's easy to get up early when you really want to see something.

Or do something. Off the coast of Cambodia on an island called Koh Run my alarm chirped it's annoying song. I don't know why I didn't change the tune. I'd been using the same one since hitchhiking in Japan like 4 months earlier and man did I hate it. But, I let it be.

The whole place was dead quiet, except for the dogs. I was staying at a place a stones throw from a squatters village on the beach and they kept a lot of them. And none of them were friendly. They barked, yipped, snapped at everyone. Which isn't a surprise watching how they were treated. On this isolated place far from the mainland, they were, well, I'll let you use your imagination why the islanders kept them. Luckily, only a few of them stirred and gave their opinion about my intrusion. The points didn't really connect for me until I got some lunch at one of the homes.

Other than that it was a lonely place at that hour.

White sand, small waves lapping, everything bathed in this crazy orange red hue. The island in this shot was across the small bay. The clouds caught me by surprise, layered like cake and falling off into the distance. Even more isolated than we, I wondered if there were people living there as well.

To me it was such a novel concept. Staying where I was. A squatter village, a shady owner/manager of a skimpy resort in the middle of nowhere Asia, no access to civilization. But, it came to me as I was watching the sun rise on this alien shore. This was how people lived. Like, I understand that people know it exists, but, brushing elbows with it, shaking hands with it, being a part of it, living it.

Breathtaking.

So many different ways to live

And as people from a 'civilized' world we so quickly paint ourselves into a corner as to how we should live, how we should direct our lives, all based upon a thought process heavily influenced by people who have no connection to us and don't care about us. For us to break those bonds and step out of that corner...it's a moment, for sure.

Take a moment, please. And think, what would it be like to have a completely different life. I don't mean rockstar, glamorous, all shiny and pretty, but something real, something different, something you only see in documentaries. Maybe it will help you get out of a corner you've unwittingly painted yourself into?

Or just enjoy the story and the pics :) Your choice.

Thanks for dropping by and reading! I'd love to hear what you think.
Michael

Similar Posts
Monomad B&W Saturday Challenge - Silhouettes (In Laos)
Memories from abroad -My morning swims in Cambodia
Market Friday goes to Tsukiji Fish Market

cambodia 15.jpg

Sort:  

"The clouds caught me by surprise, layered like cake and falling off into the distance." I absolutely love this imagry! Nice brother.

Haha! Thanks. My friend who I used to run a print nightlife magazine with always gave me crap about my descriptions. Print doesn't have time for pretty words...but digital does, so.... :) Thanks for dropping by and reading!

Very much worth the trip brother

What a good story friend, and excellent photos

Thanks @maev for dropping by and reading! :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 21:31:39
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 286.94/400.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 40
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

B&W Saturday Challenge

Hehe, that's on a different post. My #monomad contest submission for silhouettes. Black and white is AMAZING :)

that same person left me the exact same comment lol

Lol, so weird. Not sure what I was challenged to.

I dont know either.. mine was on my 1 month relfections post

Travel and reading give you that. That's why I love both...I get to live thousands of different lives!

If you can't go yourself, find someone who has and who lived it well and left behind the words to bring us along :)

crazy clouds mike

Not as crazy as the relationship we have ;)

I always imagined living in a castle in a medival type setting or on an island away from people except those closest to me! I found your blog! woohoo!

Hehe, sounds like a good life :)

I like how simply you described and discussed a big concept- living differently. Living differently can often be a challenge for a lot of us, mainly because we have become so used to living in a place we have been for years and doing things a certain way. However, I often think about what you wrote- how will it be if I was a garbage collector or if I had to live without electricity or if I simply moved to another area? It is fun exploring those ideas but don't know how fun it will be to actually experience them. Enjoyed this post a lot- look out for it in my latest curation posts.

I've always loved to get up early to see the coming sunlight. Feels like you are witnessing a brand new birth in many ways, as if despite it being the same star simply returning to view, this sun feels fresh to the universe :)

This place you are showing us here must be a real magnificent place to witness such a thing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58117.54
ETH 3128.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23