Memories from abroad -Kinkakuji in Kyoto

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

random japan 18.jpg

Kinkakuji, majestic in its radiant beauty

Is the precious jewel of an ancient city steeped in history. Located in Kyoto, Japan, the Golden Pavilion (Eng.) has stood for hundreds years. A focal point for crowds at any time, even greater masses flock to it in fall when the grounds bleed with the red of turning maple leaves.

Located In the north western section of Kyoto, Kinkakuji is pretty easy to get to. A couple train/subway lines end within an easy walk (~0.5mi) and I'm sure there are countless busses. Taxis are also an option and nowadays I hear that Uber exists over there as well.

The land was originally purchased by Shogun Ashikaga Yoshimitsu in 1397 and turned into a Zen Buddhist temple upon his death. It was burned down a couple times. Once during the Onin War (1467-1477) and the other time by a crazy monk. What people see before them nowadays was finished in 1955. (thanks Wikipedia for the info)

Kinkakuji-Gold...is there a connection?

Of course, hehe. The name derives from the gold leaf that decorates the surfaces. Why'd they put gold leaf all over a temple? Because they believed it helped to lessen the negative energy and feelings surrounding death. I'd have to agree. Seeing gold really does cheer me up. They must have had some really rich donors and I'd love to meet the guy who suggested it.

kinkakuji 055.JPG

The grounds are flawless. And when you catch the maple leaves just right it really does look like the trees are bleeding. The colors are brilliant, but their masses give it a weighted, painterly feel. You could spend hours just walking back and forth on the paths catching different details, different angles, completely different scenes. Mix that with the excited yet respectful throngs of people and the cool press of chilly air...unforgettable.

random japan 19.jpg

During the 6 years I lived in this breathtaking city

And I do mean breathtaking, Kinkakuji was one of the places I regularly visited. Whether on a date, to guide some visiting friends, or for the brilliant photo opportunities that always arose, it was one of my go-to's. And as the Fall approached, so did my excitement for my next visit.

What really makes this series of photos stick for me is because I think it's the first major step I took towards becoming a photographer. It's not for the reasons many reading this article probably think. It was such a small thing, but pivotal in how I thought about capturing what was in front of my lens.

Let me give you a little back history.

My buddy Joe is an amazing dude. And I mean amazing. If it weren't for him I'd likely be living a corporate drone lifestyle, never even considering using a camera to make a living. Month after month, year after year, I absorbed an encyclopedia of photographic knowledge from him. Photo walks, random explorations, late night drunken conversations, his non-stop discourse on the physics, history, and technical bits gave me a one-of-a-kind education, and a friendship that lasts to this day. He's still chilling in Japan, married to an amazing women with a cute looking kid I hope to meet someday soon.

What he did was teach me to shoot in RAW.

random japan 20.jpg

RAW...what's that?

Simply put, it's the uncompressed form of the picture your digital camera takes. It's a file untouched by the chips and meant to be edited in special software. Nowadays even cell phones are getting that option but back then it was a rare ability, and my camera had it. Using that option allowed for a range of retouching I'd never experienced before. I was able to look at the world in a whole new way and see more possibilities than ever to express my vision. I was no longer trapped by what I saw in the preview image, but could imagine more. And that was the planted seed that grew into the creative I am today.

random japan 21.jpg

Kinkakuji is one of those places you hear about

That you plan to visit once in your life, that when your friends show you pics from their trip you go, 'oooh' and 'aaaaah.' I was lucky enough to live just across town from it. Sometimes in the fires of youth we don't fully appreciate that which we have, but thanks to my friend Joe and my camera, I was.

I hope you enjoyed this quick journey back into one of my memories from when I lived in Japan. Perhaps one day you too will stand where I did with your camera snapping pics of pretty leaves just like me :) I really really hope you do.
Michael

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad -Late nights and cold days and my love of Ramen
Memories from abroad - Koh Rong island sunrise
Memories from abroad -My morning swims in Cambodia

random japan 26.jpg

Sort:  

Nice place, shooting in raw is fun and there is so much more to do with it, phone cameras are catching up to the fact, cool bro be well

Hehe, yeah, larger file sizes used to be an issue. But not so much anymore with modern phones. Same thing with the computing power you need to manipulate raws. Phones are crazy powerful nowadays, hehe. More and more about the art than the technical bit.

Awesome! Would love to visit

You should! It's expensive to get there and travel, but so worth it. :)

Beautiful post. I had heard of raw, but never really understood what it was or the advantages. Resteemed.

Thanks for resteeming :) And I'm glad you liked the post!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-kinkakuji-in-kyoto


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing place! I will try to visit

The pictures are fantastic and I wish I could there!!!

Set a goal, work towards it, and you'll get there :)

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's #TravelDigest!

Coolio. Thanks for letting me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49