Monomad B&W Saturday Challenge - Silhouettes (In Laos)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

cambodia 9.jpg

Never in my life did I think I would be walking on the streets of Laos

Looking out over the Mekong river. I mean, how many people even ever think of Laos, or could point it out on a map? Yet, here I was just chilling for a week while my passport got a tourist renewal visa for Thailand.

I had gone into Thailand overland by train from Malaysia, which got you 14 days in the country, but I was going to be there longer because my girlfriend was coming to visit me on my trip. That meant a side trip to either Cambodia or Laos. Since I knew I was going to Cambodia later and didn't want to rush around, Laos it was. Cool thing was at that time Thailand was giving away 90 day multiple re-entry visas to tourists because of a huge conflict going on between the red and yellow shirts. A very, very nasty political conflict. They wanted to drum up tourism even with bombings going on in Bangkok. I kid you not, lol. (please don't tell my mom...)

I think I captured this on the first day I was there.

There were so many moments that I want to go through, I just need to find the photos again, but this is where I wanted to start. These men working beside the river. I have no idea what they were doing and sat there for minutes, just watching them pile stuff up, move it over, pile it up again, never in a hurry.

The dirt was this crazy reddish brown. More vibrant then I'd ever seen before. Thick, rich, piled up everywhere. All along the river there was some sort of construction going on. Machines parked, haphazardly, spaced far apart. Yet, very few people were working. Like the river, they just seemed to flow at a different pace. I had just come from the frenzied insanity of Bangkok and this sudden downshift was a bit jarring. Yet, very welcoming as I I got in-step with the world around me.

I mean, seriously, how the heck did I end up in Vientiane, Laos?

Thanks for stopping by and reading! Hope you enjoyed my memory.
Love to hear what you think!
Michael

my submission to the #monomad Saturday challenge - Silhouettes - hosted by @brumest

Similar posts
Memories from abroad -My morning swims in Cambodia
Market Friday goes to Tsukiji Fish Market
Memories from abroad -The temples of Tokyo

cambodia 12.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monomad-b-and-w-saturday-challenge-silhouettes-in-laos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You certainly do get around good sir :) It must be very freeing to step back and take stock of where you are; to ground yourself in the moment in that place and time. Quite enriching I should imagine.

That's a big chunk of what this blog is. On the surface I'm writing it for all the people here, but the true purpose is for myself, remembering where I've been so I can be stronger going into tomorrow. Enriching is definitely a good description of my travels, hehe. :) Thanks for stopping by and reading!

No problem, it's very engaging content for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51