Memories from abroad -My morning swims in Cambodia

in #travel7 years ago

cambodia 6.jpg

It was already hot, but not unbearably so.

It was the humidity that was killer. Coming off the rainy season meant there was always a chance of a gnarly storm, but not this morning. I had started a strange habit, if it could be called that, here in Sihanoukville on the coast of Cambodia.

Nothing stirred on the broken down, or was it building up, streets. Pretty much everyone was still asleep. They had no reason to get up. Today was just another day to them. To me, it was something different. A time and a place to be savored and experienced. Travel in many ways can become habitual, if you're at it for an extended time, and it takes practice to kick yourself out of certain states. That's why I decided to take a swim every morning at sunrise while I was here.

cambodia 8.jpg

It wasn't a long swim, more like a dip.

But it was before anyone else sullied the quiet. Some time to myself before plunging into new experiences. A moment to collect myself and just enjoy some moments. The water was lukewarm, like bathwater. And the waves were low, slow, and methodical. Like the breaths of an athlete before an event.

Occasionally the far off sound of a starting motor muted by the sea reached out to give accents to the stillness. People climbed into boats, heading to places unknown to me to do tasks I had likely never experienced or ever would. The same way I was here in an unknown place doing thing other had likely never experienced. To other people I was that person off in a boat...

Breath in, breath out, breath in.

The water lapped at my chest. Colors washed over my face. My ears tuned sharp relaxed in the peace. Cambodia...I was swimming off a beach in Cambodia watching a sunrise...how crazy is this, was this. Life, it's an amazing thing when you try to take part in as much of it as you can. Don't forget to take a 'morning swim' whenever you can. :)

Thank you for stopping! Ever been to Cambodia? Ever have moments like this? I'd love to hear about your experiences and what you think.
Michael

Similar Posts
Market Friday goes to Tsukiji Fish Market
Memories from abroad -The temples of Tokyo
Memories from abroad -The colors are always deeper

cambodia 7.jpg

Sort:  

Not Cambodia, but many other places. I was born to travel and I have given in to that several different times for extended periods of time.

I love it.

Your story is so well done, the writing is superb and I love the fact that i feel like I am right there with you.

Thank you so much.Truly. Tip!

Travel is addictive and my parents got me started at 3 months old with a trip to visit family in Germany, hehe. Extended travel is the best. Especially when it's open ended. No rushing, taking time where you want to. I almost ended up staying in Cambodia for several months. Had perfect timing that I could have gotten a job at one of the bars for the tourist season. Would've been a whole different life story, hehe.

Thanks so much for stopping by, and for the tip! :) Going to keep on doing what I can to contribute quality content to the ecosystem :)

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

Lol...forgot when you put Tip and ! together that happens...

Hi @mikesthoughts! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Gift. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-my-morning-swims-in-cambodia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Incredible writing and the phenomenon you speak of… that need to almost want to pinch yourself because the gratitude you feel for that exact moment is so unreal. Traveling opens up so many different facets of ourselves, some that we didn’t even know existed, that evolve us as a person. Thanks for sharing!

Exactly. Easy to forget the amazing that we are a part of because it's 'just another day.' Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Touché ✌️

Nice post. I think it deserves more than it got so far, so I'm resteeming it. Much Love bro!

Thank you :) Just grinding away, getting to know other people, seeking out like minds, hoping my work will catch. Really appreciate the resteem. Every little bit helps. A little more positive energy added to my day ;)

nice photography

Thank you! :) Practice makes perfect.

It is pleasureable to be up in the morning before everyone else!

It really is! :) So peaceful before people get up.

Sounds like you had an amazing time travelling, a refreshing early morning swim must have been good with the stifling heat. Super story, thanks for sharing.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks for reading! Yeah, My twenties were a time for seeing the world, trying to get back to that again because I think that's the core of who I am, hehe. Got sidetracked on some other stuff and I think the worlds telling me to correct my path.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.71
ETH 2527.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53