7 amazing waterfalls around the world

in #travel6 years ago

It’s time for the next article in my seven series. Today I show you some of the most beautiful waterfalls I have visited during my various travels.

I’m a huge fan of waterfalls. And I love all the different types: There’s the plunge, the horsetail, the multi-step, the punchbowl, the fan and much more. All have their unique characteristics. Whenever I get close to a waterfall and can hear the tumbling water I get curious and excited.

1. Krimml

We’ll start in Europe with the multi-tiered Krimml cascade. This is one of the mightiest waterfalls I have visited. Especially in early summer, when the ice of the glacier up in the mountains begins to melt, this waterfall is a roaring beast. But it’s also a beauty. Especially around dawn and in the early morning it’s such a peaceful place despite the thunder of the falls.

It’s a place where I can totally immerse myself in nature. The roar of the waterfall snuffs out all other noise.

Krimml Twilight

Krimml Magic

2. Wahclella

Next stop is in the USA in the Columbia River Gorge. It’s a place I had wanted to visit for a long time because of the hundreds of waterfalls in the area. In 2013 I finally travelled to Oregon and spent a few days in the gorge.

The waterfall I show you here is Wahclella falls, which can be easily reached via a one mile hike. Around noon the sun was just above the falls, creating those nice sun rays in the mist.

Wahclella

3. Cascada la Esperanza

This is one of the more hidden waterfalls. It’s not very popular and is located in a private reserve in the cloud forest of Ecuador. I had to arrange a visit of the reserve with a local guide, otherwise I wouldn’t have found it.

The good thing about this waterfall not being all too popular was that the guide, my girlfriend and I were the only people there. It was fantastic.

Hope

4. Hopetoun Falls

Next we head over to Australia. Just one hour drive from the Great Ocean Road you enter the beautiful Otways. Within this woodland area you can find several waterfalls. The one I show you here is called Hopetoun falls. It’s a wonderful setting with rocks and huge ferns surrounding the cascade. It creates the impression of being somewhere deep in the jungle.

Hopetoun

5. Whangarei Falls

Also on the other side of the world – at least for me – on New Zealand’s North Island you can visit Whangarei Falls. If you drive towards the Bay of Islands from Auckland there’s a little peninsula called Whangarei Heads, which you should include in your travel itinerary. There are beautiful mountains and wide, scenic beaches, which even in summer aren’t very crowded.

Most of the people driving up north visit only the waterfall though, which admittedly is a very beautiful waterfall. If you head down to the base of the falls you can find some nice viewpoints to photograph the waterfall right from the banks of the river.

Whangarei Falls

6. Stirling Falls

I’m sure most of you have heard of Milford Sound. When I visited back in 2014 I went on a boat ride through the fiord on one morning. It was an awe inspiring experience.

I have to admit that at first I was a bit skeptical about the place. I thought Milford Sound was just too popular and that it would likely not live up to the hype. But man, this place is awesome. The drive there alone is worth the journey. It’s one of the most spectacular places I have ever visited.

During our boat tour we also drove very close to a few waterfalls. This one here is called Stirling Falls and it looked wonderful after a rainy night.

Stirling Falls

Stirling Falls

7. Kuang Si

The last waterfall I show you lies in Laos, close to Luang Prabang. I visited during dry season in winter and first I wasn't sure, if the cascade would hold enough water. But the conditions were perfect. While other waterfalls I had visited in Laos were nearly dry, the Kuang Si waterfall was still a beauty.

People even come there to swim in the various pools along the river and it can become quite crowded. So if you want to enjoy the waterfall in relative silence, make sure to get a motorbike or a tuk-tuk and go early in the morning before the masses arrive.

Kuang Si

I hope you liked my little selection. Which waterfalls should I visit in the future? What’s the most impressive waterfall you have been to?

And don’t forget to checkout the other articles in this series:


instagram    google-plus    facebook    flickr    youtube

Sort:  

I just saw your posts for the first time.
Your photography is stunning! Puts mine to shame for sure, and I love art and photography.
Look forward to seeing your stuff in the future.
ReSteeming this.

Following you now.
@ohicklin

That's nice of you to say. And thanks for the resteem :-)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 08:03:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 94.31/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mibreit-photo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

These photos are gorgeous! I feel peaceful and refreshed just by looking at them. Thank you so much!

Der Geroldsau Wasserfall hätte auch noch gut hier reingepasst ;)

they look great!

Der Kuang Si Wasserfall schaut richtig gut aus mit diesen kleineren Plattformen

Hello , I Invite you to participate in contest if you are interested !

Thanks for the invite. I just posted my submission. Cheers

This is beautiful. There is a lot of waterfalls on "Stara planina"- Balkan mountain. I've just drop one post about Bigar. https://steemit.com/photography/@vranilo/bigar-waterfall

New to Steemit, I didn't see this till now. Great waterfalls!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64291.71
ETH 3502.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51