Belgium - Where Even the Trees Have Character

in #travel6 years ago

Thanks for joining me in my adventures. This blog is dedicated to travels off the beaten path. You won't find my review of Disney World here, but you might just discover a new way to explore your world. If you're a fan of the road less traveled, I think you'll like what we have in store today.

One thing you'll notice when crossing the border into a new country is that the air feels indescribably different. The scenery tends to look the same, and the houses haven't changed much, but you know that this is a completely different place. In Belgium, nothing illustrated this difference more than the character evident even in the trees. On a hike through the area around the hotel, which was an old castle (although not an ancient one), many trees stood out for their peculiar strength and character. Join me on a short hike as I introduce you to some of the more lively trees in the town of Dinant.

These three immense trees, pictured also in the cover photo, stood in a clearing of their own making. They huddled together like schoolgirls looking over their shoulders, whispering about the boys down the hall. Their bark was soft and spongy, pockmarked with thousands of little holes eating into their delicate bodies, yet still they stood. None of the trees nearby were so tall, or so wide, or so proud. Standing in the center of their circle, I felt tiny - and glad to be welcomed into the circle of the cool kids.

This twisted true grew alone and unique by the side of the trail. Its body covered in grotesque rivulets of bark like melted wax - a candle made into a tree. Her limbs stretched to the sky still, smooth and green, defying age and time all in one swift motion. Her curly branches waved as if to call to Medusa - to call "Here I am! I am like you!" To sit on the lone bench under the candle tree is to enjoy the stopping of time. Nothing else matters in that moment as you listen for life in the distant forest. Pause a moment, catch your breath, and move on before you too become stuck in this place.

Here we find a tree almost completely covered in her modesty. She is cloaked in green and towers over the rest of the forest, a true queen. Her vines cascade down her side in a gown as rich as any the finest empress has ever worn, and she lifts her boughs ever skyward as if to give thanks for each new day. The green things of the forest pay tribute to her, crouched at her feet like supplicants, asking for one more audience with their beloved ruler. She will outlast them all. To spend time in her presence is to truly recognize the beauty inherent in nature, and the power.

And finally, we find the vagabond, the wanderer, the wild child who refuses to stay in one place for too long. He is free and grows where he likes, despite what other may tell him to do. His limbs have been shorn, his flesh has been branded with the initials of countless lovers, and his territory is barren of all other life. He is the rebel, and to spend time with him is to invite your inner child to come out and play - to climb the tree, to jump the rope, and to sing out at the top of your lungs. He is opportunity and hope, and the very spirit of resilience.

text01.png

Thanks for taking a little hike with me today. To book your own forest adventure, find me at Travel Life Services. In the meantime, drop a pic of your favorite tree in the comments. I'd love to meet your friends.

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

All text and images are my own. Special thanks to #steemitbloggers for the use of their fancy text dividers and super cool footer.

This post was originally posted here, but I also posted it here on WEKU.
Sort:  

Some serious nice trees. They all have their own unique character, I like the lumpy one the middle one third from the bottom.

Thanks. That was my favorite too. :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mattifer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love trees! And these ones are majestic! What a great idea to make a post about trees Jen :) Very creative!

Thanks. They really struck me as interesting while I was there, so I figured I'd share them. :-)

I love in the springtime walking or hiking (and foraging) and seeing all the beauty nature offers.

These trees look so calm... so serene.

Me too! And I did get the chance to forage a bit. I picked blackberries all throughout our European trip. They were everywhere!

Foraging has become one of my favorite things to do. Plus the exercise you get and when you discover a new plant or flower is so rewarding.

I stuck with just what I knew. I don't know enough about different plants to take chances on vacation just yet. :-)

I can't figure out which I love more - the amazing captures, or your awesomesauce descriptions! Thanks for introducing us to these gorgeous characters, @mattifer! 💚 🌳

You're welcome! Thanks for hanging out! :-D

Very cool! I love trees. Those big ones look like giant Sequoias!

I thought they were Sequoias too, but they aren't quite the same tree. So then I thought they were Cedars like the kind in Lebanon. They have teeny tiny pine cones. They may still be Sequoias... I just don't know enough to know.

Dang those are some cool trees! I love fantasy looking trees. Also I enjoyed your descriptions as well. Especially the last one. I can vibe with the rebel! Heh.

Thanks! I'd love to hear which tree people resonated with. That would be a fun experiment. :-) I'm glad you enjoyed.

Dear @mattifer,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

I loved how far your imagination could lead you :D
I'm sure some people would look at the same things and call them just trees lol

Yep! For some reason, I've always felt the personality of trees. Not every tree mind you, but frequently I encounter trees that just seem to speak to me. Thanks for dropping by!

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47