Facts about Colosseum, Rome Beauty.

in #travel7 years ago

Gladiator movie is one of my favorite movies of all time. When my husband and I planned to visit Rome, one thing that excited me the most was seeing Colosseum and feeling like I have stepped into my favorite movie. The tour guide explained couple facts about this place that I didn't know before, including a mistake by Hollywood when they produced the movie. Hope this works as a virtual tour for you who haven't seen this place yet:

1- Hollywood has repeatedly mistaken the meaning of the "thumbs up" in ancient fights. The gesture meant death while down-turned thumb meant that the winner had to lower the weapon and not kill. (Interesting! huh?)

2- Although lions were used in fights against human, or for executing criminals, there is no evidence that Christians were thrown into a field with lions as a punishment for their faith.

3- Long after the fall of Rome, some ancient Romans used the Colosseum as their residential fortress. The center was used as a cemetery.

4-The Colosseum was not always referred to as "The Colosseum", its name was "Amphitheatrium Flavium", because it was built by the Flavian dynasty of emperors; the name "Colosseum" referred to an enormous statue a colossus, ​which stood outside but vanished ever since.

I try to share the information we received from our tour guides in my posts along with the photos I took. If you find them useful, please follow and upvote. Thank you.

rome23.jpg


THANK YOU FOR UPVOTE & RESTEEM

for more travel photos please
FOLLOW ME : @maryarez
MaryaRez


You might also like my other posts such as:

Streets of Rome

Virtual Tour of Rome #2 — W&B

Things you didn't know about Rome — Colors of Buildings


Sort:  

Wow so interesting. These are some information that everybody need to have when visiting there.

Thanks for sharing ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 22:31:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 48.70/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You got a 2.42% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maryarez!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Very cool. # 2 is my favorite. Makes more sense that way. I should start bringing back the ancient method...;-)

Our favorite movie is the same, I often watch like a movie gladiator, I like your post.

Thank you. You should definitely see Rome then

Thank you maryarez for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 2.57% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

a place where the place is a roman heritage. besides roman warriors fighting males and knights. long swords drawn and then they promise to be the same champion, but the reality is not so. that's where I mean .. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13