Bonaccini Circus Show

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0575.JPG

I was never a fan of the circus shows. That's mostly because I found the clowns creepy or scary. Also because I did not enjoy seeing animals being mistreated or caged. I like Cirque de Soleil shows because they are unique and there's nothing like them. This post is not about them, it's a about a local circus.

DSC_0610.JPG

DSC_0500.JPG

Last week I had no choice but to take my son to the Bonaccini Italian circus. We have seen the show being advertised throughout the city and I had promised my son we'd go see it together.

DSC_0612.JPG

To be honest, I have no clue which one of the performers was Italian nor why it had an Italian name.

DSC_0488.JPG

Most of the spectators were parents and children aged between 2 and 10 years old.

DSC_0511.JPG

The show lasted two hours and had a pause of 15 minutes between the two parts. The price of the ticket was close to $10 USD.

DSC_0505.JPG

Was it worth two hours of my time? I would say: Yes! Though I did not go there for me! I took my son there and he had a blast.

DSC_0512.JPG

He really enjoyed the show and found the clown quite funny as most of the children present that night.

DSC_0520.JPG

He was speechless by the end of the knife throwing act.

DSC_0525.JPG

When he saw the knives were burning, his jaws dropped and eyes popped out.

DSC_0527.JPG

DSC_0528.JPG

DSC_0529.JPG

DSC_0531.JPG

In the beginning he was hoping to see some animals and circus trainers. He seemed to be a bit disappointed when he found out that most of circus shows were no longer allowed to have animals performing.

DSC_0547.JPG

His disappointment faded away shortly when he saw the stunts performed by this acrobat.

DSC_0553.jpg

DSC_0554.jpg

The fire eating act left the audience in awe. Seeing their fire eating skills was something!

DSC_0560.JPG

DSC_0561.JPG

At this point all of the little spectators were silent. Everyone's eyes were on the fire eaters.

DSC_0568.JPG

DSC_0572.JPG

DSC_0573.JPG

DSC_0578.JPG

DSC_0576.JPG

DSC_0581.JPG

DSC_0580.JPG

The doves and white fluffy dogs were the only animals we saw that night. The rest were performing arts acrobats and the clown.

DSC_0585.JPG

DSC_0594.JPG

DSC_0597.JPG

What was unexpected was the act where they introduced a car as a Transformer.

DSC_0601.JPG

I personally did not see what that had to do with the circus. Nevertheless, I admired their creativity.

DSC_0602.JPG

All the children seemed to love it and most of them wanted to have their photos taken with the Transformer.

DSC_0607.jpg

I tried to take a photo of my son and the Transformer with my camera, but I was told that I wasn't allowed to do so. By the time I found my wallet in order to pay for having his photo taken with their camera, the second part of the show had started, so we dropped it.

DSC_0629.jpg

DSC_0641.JPG

DSC_0647.JPG

DSC_0668.JPG

DSC_0672.JPG

DSC_0682.JPG

Right before the final act, which I would say was the best, the clown had the stage to himself for a few minutes. He managed to engage the public in his act and made everyone laugh, including me.

DSC_0700.JPG

DSC_0728.jpg

DSC_0713.JPG

The show ended with an impressive act where a performer skipped a cord on top of a moving wheel, number which he performed even blind folded.

DSC_0735.jpg

DSC_0738.jpg

Once the show was done, all the performers entered the arena where they were welcomed with a warm round of applause.

DSC_0756.JPG

Here are other travel related posts:

CONSTANTA'S MARINA, ROMANIA

TREI PAPUCI BEACH, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BUBBLES - INDOOR PLAYGROUND IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

VISITING DAMARLI ESTATE IN BOQUETE, PANAMA

BAHIA DE PAQUERA, NICOYA GULF, COSTA RICA

EXPLORING AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS

MACKINAC BRIDGE, MICHIGAN, USA

CHASED BY TORNADOS IN MINNESOTA

MINNEHAHA FALLS REGIONAL PARK, A GEM IN BETWEEN THE TWIN CITIES

BANFF, A RESORT TOWN INSIDE THE BANFF NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA, CANADA

OLD PORT OF CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

TEN FACTS OR MORE ABOUT BOQUETE, PANAMA

ENISALA FORTRESS, ROMANIA

MORAINE LAKE, A SURREAL BEAUTY IN ALEBERTA, CANADA

TIPS ON HOW TO MAKE A LIVING WHILE TRAVELLING THE WORLD

FEELING UNINSPIRED? VISIT A WELSH RETREAT: GLADSTONE’S RESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

TURDA’S 400 FEET UNDERGROUND AMUSEMENT PARK, A HIDDEN GEM OF TRANSYLVANIA, ROMANIA

MEMORIES FROM CANCUN, MEXICO

CARIBBEAN PARADISE: BOCAS DEL TORO

TOURING MONTREAL CITY, CANADA

BOQUETE’S FLOWERS AND COFFEE FESTIVAL, PANAMA

VISIT TO SAINT-JOSEPH’S ORATORY IN MONTREAL, CANADA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Very beautiful pictures you have here to explain the adventure. I remember i loved watching shows like this when I was younger. All the fire works and all thrilled us as youngsters.

I am still thrilled to see the fire eating acts at my age!

In some of your photos, you caught the expressions on the faces of the performers. All of them seem to genuinely enjoy themselves and on some of them, I could see a quiet sense of fascination with their acts. This was particularly evident with the lady in the knife throwing act and the fire eater.

Now I have a few good reasons to take my kids to the circus.

Greta shots of the show, I know your son was disappointing but I am glad they had no animals to always found the idea of that pretty cruel

I didn't like it when they had animals either!

Hi lymepoet,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you! I am honoured!

It has been a long time since I've been to see a circus act but I absolutely love watching the acrobats. Thanks for sharing. It brings me back

I went to the circus after 30 years. It was a nice experience. I am glad to enjoyed it!

Congrats on the curie, it’s fabulous see a family outing turned out so well, sweetened by a steemit boost! :)

Thank you! Sweetened and unexpected!

awesome!!! Excellent post - you guys obviously had a great time!

And congrats on the curie!

I have not watched any circus shows in real. But I used to be a big fan of circus shows. We had it in a channel called DD Metro in India. It was telecasted every day. I used to watch it with lots of curiosity during my childhood after school. Images are wonderful.

Thanks! It must have nice to watch all of those shows! Were you tempted to learn any of the magic tricks being done during any of the shows?

Yes obviously @lymepoet. Ha ha ha. It was my young age and after seeing all those I really wanted to become a magician some day. But you know how life pushes you in different directions. 😀

I have never seen a live circus before. The show looks amazing and I hope I could get to see a show at least once. You also got some great photos there. Cheers!

Thanks! Last time I saw a circus show was during my childhood but it wasn't that great. This one, I enjoyed it.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48