The Many Dangers Of Mexico - Dangerously Too Much Fun

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My friends all warned me how dangerous it is in Mexico even though none of them have been there or even know anyone who has. I kept telling them I have been to all the places they warned me not to go to and never had a problem but apparently that didn't make any difference. They heard it was dangerous and so it must be.

Deciding not to argue with ignorance I went anyway and discovered they were right. I'm in danger of getting a sunburn on a beautiful beach, I'm in danger of a massive hangover with beers costing only $1.25 and tequila at every corner. I'm in danger of laughing my ass off until my stomach hurts with all my friends. Yes, it is dangerous down here and not for the weak-hearted.

I have been back for a week now and have been staying at the Hostel Rio and having a good time, although it is a bit noisy here so I'll be moving to another hostel tomorrow which I'll write a review about for Steemit.

dangers of mexico.png

The contrast between Playa Del Carmen, Mexico and Seattle, Washington couldn't be more stark. It begins with the sky. It took me a few moments to realize that bright light in the sky was the sun for it had been so long since I had seen it I almost forgot what it looked and felt like and the attitudes of the people here in Mexico is as sunny and warm as the weather.

I think weather has a lot to do with how people behave in general and the warmer a country is the warmer the people seem to be. Everywhere one goes in this beautiful town they are welcomed like a relative who has come home.

I'm meeting with a bunch of friends this Saturday for a big reunion in Cancun but I did hook up with a few people that I know already and one of my best friends offered me a dream job that I accepted and am starting on Monday.

To call this job work would not do it justice. Everything about if feels more like playing than working and it's hard for friends back home to even believe it. Starting with the hours, four hours a day from 8 am to 12 noon. Each morning I will meet a couple who will join me for delicious, all-inclusive, breakfast buffet at the resort, then we stroll around the eco-resort and its beautiful cenotes, pools, and petting zoo. Then I show them a two bedroom condo straight out of Lifetimes Of The Rich And Famous and stroll along an idyllic beach and up to an air-conditioned sales room with a view that looks like your screensaver on your computer only its real.

If that wasn't enough, we are greeted by a friendly bartender who serves us free drinks. Yes, I can drink at work. I've pinched myself and I'm not dreaming. This is all real but it doesn't stop there.

The pay is unbelievable at 10-14% commissions and if I place in the top three salespeople for the month I get an extra 2% commission on all my deals the following month. Taxes in Mexico is only 16% and you don't file a return so it appears I'm also in danger of making too much money.

The kicker is after taking a tour if I finish before 12 I have a choice of leaving early or staying and closing other people's tables to earn more money. Like I said, a dream job.

The resort is an eco-resort and has the smallest carbon footprint of all the resort down here. They have solar power, low-flush toilets, and recycled bar cups.

I almost forgot, they have three resorts in this area and a bunch more in Spain and I can use them all for next to nothing.

This is a quick tour of the resort but only shows a fraction of the property. The raccoon looking animal is a tejon and they run wild around the Yucatan peninsula, are very friendly and many people here keep them as pets. They are omnivorous and will eat pretty much anything and a great tree climbers with that long tail of theirs.


Sandos Caracol Resort In Playa Del Carmen Mexico


So, I'm feeling very blessed and grateful and now will have to find things to do with all this time off. One thing I'll be doing is starting to sign up merchants for BlockPay as a Blockpay Ambassador. Crypto is just starting to get some traction here in Mexico and I feel like I'm at the right place at the right time doing the right things with the right people.

I'm the meantime, I have to get my tan on so I've been hanging out at the beach a lot. Here's the scenery at the beach in Playa Del Carmen for you to enjoy.

This video is down by the main plaza. I got there just in time to see the Dance Of The Flyers do their ritual dance which is quite a sight to see.

The Danza de los Voladores (Dance of the Flyers), or Palo Volador (pole flying), is an ancient Mesoamerican ceremony/ritual still performed today, albeit in modified form, in isolated pockets in Mexico. It is believed to have originated with the Nahua, Huastec and Otomi peoples in central Mexico, and then spread throughout most of Mesoamerica. The ritual consists of dance and the climbing of a 30-meter pole from which four of the five participants then launch themselves tied with ropes to descend to the ground. The fifth remains on top of the pole, dancing and playing a flute and drum. According to one myth, the ritual was created to ask the gods to end a severe drought. credit


Strolling At The Plaza In Playa Del Carmen


I'll leave you with this last video of a typical day at the beach in Playa and a few sights around town including a party I went to where the girls got so drunk they started singing with the band. Very dangerous Mexican Karaoke. You've been warned.


Beach Bumming In Playa Del Carmen

Sort:  

Sounds positively frightening! I was warned that I might get kidnapped in Chile too, but somehow survived a few months there.

Where you are, though, is particularly concerning. Those low-flush toilets can be brutal!

Hahaha! Toilets in Mexico cannot handle toilet paper so you throw your paper in a wastepaper basket. That gets a bit scary.

Definitely dangerous stuff @luzcypher! I fear for your liver. LOL

Wow. Nice life you have. I did not even know that's a job. Seems like it's right up my alley. Thanks again for sharing!

It doesn't feel like a job except for the showing up on time part. Guess that's why I've been doing it for ten years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53