Snorkeling With A School of Milliones of Sardines, Moalboal Cebu

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

moalboalcebuphilippines.JPG
Known as the gateway to some of the most famous diving spots in the entire Philippines and a renowned spot for sardine run (wherein a school of hundred thousands if not a million sardine fish can be found swimming year-round), Moalboal is a must destination to include in your bucket list.

Me and hubby was lucky enough to get a remarkable invitation from a friend who stays in an apartment in Editha's Holiday Houses.
EdithasHolidayHouses.JPG

We grab the once in a lifetime opportunity and pack for a weekend getaway. We took a bus from Cebu City Bus Terminal to Moalboal which is roughly 3 hours ride and a fare of more or less 100 pesos, a choice of aircon and non-aircon buses are available. We took the non-aircon one so we can have a bit of fresh air during our ride.

On our trip I can't help but take a snippet of the amazing view from the bus. I feel so excited of what awaits us.
moalboal.JPG

IMG_0056.JPG

The trip was tiring but the thought of me snorkeling on the crystal clear water keeps me awake and active.

After the 3 hours trip, we reached our destination.
EdithasHolidayHousesMoalboal.JPG.
The view was simply awesome. I feel like I can live there for the rest of my life. The area was well maintained and so is the landscape.

firetree.JPG
Here's the view from our room. Outside was what I assume a fire tree (though I'm not sure if it's the real name). I only knew from college days that we called it Fire Tree from its red fire-like flowers (we got lots of it on our school ground). The clear peaceful ocean and the great mountains complete the view.

gazebo.JPG
The view from their gazebo is simply awesome!

This is paradise!

It seems like the water is calling me so in less than an hour since we got there, this is how I look!
swim.JPG
I simply cannot resist the water.

Since I am all wet anyway, Flong, the good friend who invited us, gave me some bits and pieces of idea on how to snorkle. It's a big deal for me since I never had the chance to even hold the gear.
IMG_0089.JPG
The next day, we go snorkeling. The thing is, by snorkeling, I thought that we will just go float into some shallow waters (like where we practice as shown above), well maybe not that shallow but somewhere where we could go stand on our feet atleast when we go all tired.

I never in the life of me expected to go snorkle on a water where a school of millions of sardines often swim. Millions not just hundreds! Imagine how much water that entails. In fact nobody ever mentioned of swimming with sardines!

It was the first time that I swim in a water wherein I'm not able to stand on my own two feet. What's worst is, I have no idea that we're going on a 50 feet deep water! I'm not the best swimmer, in fact I won't even consider myself a swimmer. I don't know how to swim for God's sake! I only know to float and they make me snorkel in a 50 feet deep water?

diving.jpg

I thought snorkeling was done in a shallow water just looking at the corals and the fish swimming but no! They chose to go snorkel in God knows how deep we even got divers below us!

divingmoalboal.jpg

Lucky they thought of giving me a floater.

ScreenHunter_1027 Jun. 17 14.27.jpg

I would have been dead by now. Even with the floater I even drank a considerable amount of sea water because I got scared when I learned that I couldn't stand on my own two feet anymore and panic strikes me particularly with the waves and all! They didn't even warned me beforehand of how deep we're going. I can't even appreciate the fact that there's turtle below us as they excitely claimed.

ScreenHunter_1031 Jun. 17 16.17.jpg
Look how desperate I am to hop on the boat's balance beam because I got sooo tired but to no avail. I'm trying so hard to fixed my snorkel because the sea water keeps entering either on my mouth or my nose. They keep teasing me for not being able to hop on successfully. A friend of mine decided to help later after a handful of teasing.
moalboalexperience.jpg
I never in my life thought that I get to experience swimming with sardines and turtles and other awesome sea creatures. I didn't even care of the sting caused by tiny jelly fish. Even so, I got the best experienced in my life ever! Thanks to my friend Flora and her husband Ron.

moalboaltrip.jpg

Once again thank you for visiting and taking the time to read my post. Let's keep steemin'!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lrastriker
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=snorkeling-with-a-school-of-milliones-of-sardines-moalboal-cebu


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Thank you! :D

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're an Honorable Mention in our Daily Travel Digest!

This post has received gratitude of 2.02 % from @appreciator thanks to: @lrastriker.

This post has received a 2.50 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @lrastriker.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59