2,111 Foot Long Zip Line Adventure in Park City, Utah with Video

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My husband and I went on a little zip line adventure during a summertime trip to Park City, Utah. We signed up for the Epic Zip Tour in Canyons Resort. The mountain air is invigorating. When we went, the leaves were just starting to turn.

On the way up

gondola ride.jpg

Geared up and ready to go

getting ready to zipline.JPG

The tour took about 1½ hour to hike and zip line. They started us off on a training zip line, kinda like the bunny slope for skiers. It was mostly listening to the teenage guide teach us safety since this was going to be just a teaser of what was to come.

After the training zip line, we went on an 800 foot Red Pine zip line. Okay, more interesting than the training one, but because we could see the end, and it didn’t seem too far away, I was not the least bit scared. It was fun.

I absolutely loved hiking to take the final ski lift up to Lookout Zip Line. As we were making the final ascent, I started to see tiny specks flying down what looked to be an invisible cable hundreds of feet in the air. Those specks were people and it sunk in that that was going to be us soon.

When we walked up to the edge of Lookout Zip Line, I actually got a little bit scared. The ride was 2,111 feet long. You literally fly across the canyon between Lookout Peak and Red Pine Lodge hundreds of feet off the ground. The instructors were repeating safety instructions such as, remember to brake, but I was so distracted, it sounded like Charlie Brown’s teacher talking, Wah Wah Wah Wah Wah. I looked at my husband for reassurance but he was too fired up to notice my apprehension, so I decided to suck it up.

Feelings involved with the super long and high ride

1.) Doubt – Looks scary!
2.) Fear – Stepping off into the unknown!
3.) Exhilaration – So fun!
4.) Relief – We lived!
5.) Pride – We did it!

The ride itself

Sort:  

Hi Karen, I have two bothers, a bother-in-law and a nephew that visiting Costa Rica and the other day they went on a rip line there. I am waiting to see they picture when they get back. Looks like fun!

Man that looks way to scary for me...I can't do heights lol looks fun tho!

It's actually so much fun! And, I get vertigo with heights when I look off a bridge, building or cliff. So, if I can do it, I know you can too! LOL

weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Looks awesome!

OMG! How are you? Is your head clearer because of the diet? I haven't popped over to check up on you but will soon. I had to push myself to get this last post out because it was going on 5 days without posting. Yikes!

And, thanks for your fun comment! Adore you to pieces!

Feeling great actually! First week under my belt and not a single craving for a pork pie or any of that meaty business :)

It's actually been easier than i thought so i'm mega happy!

5 days is a long time, what's with ya, steem on!

That's the craziest zip line I have ever seen ! I would love to try it:) it must be one of the longest in the world ?

I don't know if it's the longest but it's long enough that you get a chance to take in the scenery. Pretty amazing ride! And you have to brake yourself. 😬 You start to brake when you see the guides frantically waving their arms.

Update: So, I just found out that the longest zipline in the world is the Parque de Aventura Barrancas del Cobre in Copper Canyon, Mexico. Over 8,350 feet long (more than a mile and a half!), and with a 17% grade that drops you almost 1,500 feet... 84 mph. Yikes!

Looks like it was an awesome adventure...☺.

It was so much fun!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karencarrens from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 8.87 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @karencarrens.

This post has received a 8.75 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @karencarrens. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

That is very cool. I admit I'd be nervous too lol. All bathroom breaks before the ride please lol :)

That's funny! I can't remember if we had the option to take breaks. I don't think so... too much gear on. Kinda glad I didn't think about it before starting out. I would have been FREAKED OUT! And, @dreamingirwin, I saw you resteemed. :) Thank u!

That's sounds a little intimidating, but like a great ride!

Lol. It's not scary as soon as the ride takes off. The air is so crisp and pure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61