Easy, tasty homemade Chinese Pork Dumplings - includes short how-to and food critic videos!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

My friend Wendy asked me to come to her house to teach her and her girls how to make my famous Chinese Pork Dumplings she’s heard about. (I’ve been making them since I was a kid.) Most people don’t realize how easy it is to make these so I will attempt to take the mystery out and encourage you to try it yourself.

Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix (Prep time 10 minutes)

Ingredients for Chinese Pork Dumpling Meat Mixture (Serves 6)
1.5 pounds of lean ground pork
1 egg
1/4 cup of water
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1/8 teaspoon of pepper
3 tablespoons of soy sauce
2 tablespoons of sesame oil
1 to 1.5 cups of finely chopped cabbage
2 stalks of finely chopped green onions
1/2 cup of chopped cilantro

** If you don't want to use pork, substitute it with ground turkey.
**Optional to add 1 teaspoon of finely chopped fresh garlic.
**Optional to add bean thread noodles to meat mixture.

Fold meat into wonton skins (30 - 40 minutes)

Start by putting a spoonful of meat mixture onto the wonton wrapper. Wet your finger with water and wet 2 sides of the wonton wrapper and fold in corners and give each edge a gentle squeeze. (See 31-second video)

**Wonton wrappers come in round and square shapes. I like the square ones because as you see in my video above, they are super easy to fold.

Boil dumplings (5 minutes)

Once your dumplings are folded, put them in a boiling pot of water and cook for 5 minutes. (See 20-second video)

** I like to start boiling water before I make the dumplings so the water boils while I’m making dumplings.
**Also, if you are boiling frozen dumplings, take them straight from the freezer (don’t let them defrost) and put them in boiling water for 6 – 7 minutes.

Make the dumpling sauce (3 minutes)

Put 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro and 1/2 stalk of chopped green onion in a bowl and pour some soy sauce over it. Add a tablespoon of sesame oil and mix.

dumpling sauce.jpg

Food critic’s corner

This review was given after the girls were already on their second helping. (See 19-second video)

The aftermath

We couldn’t finish all the food. In fact, we ended up freezing 20 dumplings. If you have to freeze them, lay them out flat in a gallon zip lock bag and slide it onto a shelf in the freezer so they don’t freeze together in a big clump. To cook frozen dumplings, DO NOT defrost. Put them in boiling water and boil for 6 to 7 minutes.

we are stuffed.jpg

The brands I use...

Soy sauce

I like Wei Chuan China Soy sauce because it’s flavorful and not too salty.
weichuan china soy sauce.jpg

Sesame oil

Any pure sesame oil works. However, for the extra burst of flavor, buy black or dark sesame oil if you can.
sesame oil.jpg

Wonton wrappers

I love Prime Food brand square wonton wrappers. I call them dumpling skins. For some reason, this brand has always been super easy to fold. They aren’t dry and don’t tear.

prime food wonton wrappers.jpg

**If you don’t have Prime Food wonton wrappers, you can try out other brands.

I hope this inspires some of you to make some homemade Chinese Pork Dumplings. And, if you do, please let me know how it went!

Bon Appetit!

Some of my other posts

Remember to upvote, follow, comment or resteem to show support!

Much Luv,

@karencarrens

Sort:  

That looks amazingly good - thanks for sharing :)

thanks you karencarrens..
:)
@azman

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 2.17 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @karencarrens.

This post has received a 18.75 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @karencarrens. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Just stopping by to say Hi! Those look really good but I don't cook so I will just have to look at them. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61