Ski Trip to Hunter Mountain, NY - January 21, 2018

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0441.jpg

Ski Trip to Hunter Mountain, NY

January 21, 2018

On Sunday I took a trip to Hunter Mountain with @byrn31down and two others. It was my first ski trip of the winter and I was anxious to get on the mountain. This was also my first time ever skiing at Hunter Mountain or anywhere in New York for that matter. I usually tend to visit Vermont. Hunter Mountain is one of the largest mountains in the Catskill range but it's still rather small compared to the slopes of Vermont. The lift tickets were cheap and the weather was nice, so I was not complaining.

IMG_0453.jpg
333333.png

Lift Lines

The first lift line of the day was really long as you can see in the photo below. It was the longest line we had to see all day but it moved pretty quick. Once everyone gets dispersed across the mountain the lines tend to die down.

IMG_0435.jpg
333333.png

The main lift is a 6 seater that brings you to the summit from the base. It moves fairly slow but gets the job done. Slow lifts give you more time to enjoy the beers between the runs. It was an awesome view of the Catskills from the chairlift. I was certainly excited to get up to the top.

IMG_0440.jpg
333333.png

Trail Map

The map was available at the top of the lift. Most of the trails on the way down were rated as Black Diamond but there were a couple Blue Squares too. I definitely think some of the trails were overrated compared to the mountains I usually go to.

IMG_0450-2.jpg
333333.png

Here's a photo of @byrn31down and Colin strapping in as we get ready for the Upper K27 trail. It was a Double Black Diamond loaded with moguls. @byrn31down and Colin are both snowboarders and I was the lone skier, which means I had a lot of down-time as I waited for them to strap in each run.

IMG_0439.jpg
333333.png

Lunch

For lunch we went to base camp and got some sandwiches at Jerry's Deli. They were fantastic and really hit the spot after a few hours of shredding. I got roast beef on an everything roll with just about everything on it. The sandwich had a lot of mass to it and it held me over for the rest of the day until we went to Hunter Mountain Brewing Company.

IMG_0448.jpgIMG_0449.jpg
333333.png

We hit the slopes hard after lunch. I posted a video to DTube from a run as we went down the Belt Parkway trail. This Blue Square starts at the summit and leads to the base. The trails were a bit crowded as you can see in the video. At the end I was cut off by another skier and was forced to bail.

The cliffs on the side of trail were covered in ice. I thought it was really cool so I took a selfie with the icy backdrop as you can see by the thumbnail photo...

IMG_0443.jpg
333333.png

Overall it was a great day on Hunter Mountain with some awesome people. The sun was shining most of the day and the weather was warm making the snow very soft. Although Hunter Mountain did not live up to the mountains of Vermont, it was a good (but late!) start to the winter ski season and I look forward to getting more trips in over the coming weeks.

IMG_0454.jpg
333333.png

Visit Hunter Mountain

https://www.huntermtn.com/

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

I love Hunter/the Catskills... I'm not much of a winter person so I go up for hiking in the Spring/Summer/Fall. My family has a house near Windham, I spend as much time up there as possible. If you are ever in the area again and want to venture a little farther from the resort for food/beer... there's a spot in Tannersville on 23A called Last Chance... the food is good and they have a huge beer selection. I'm rambling... I'll stop haha. Looks like you had fun despite the crowds.

That’s the good kind of rambling! Always love a restaurant recommendation. I appreciate that, thank you my friend. I imagine it’s awesome to hike up there in the summer and fall

looks incredible beautiful! I miss snowboarding so much :( this was my first winter without snow since I am living in the Philippines right now.

I would miss winter and the snow too, but I am sure the Philippines brings along it's own form of beauty!

yes definitely!! I am so in love with this country and its nature.

hahah I never tried out drinking beer while riding on the ski lift! Definetly a good idea. Enjoying a beautiful view whiled rinking :D
Anyway great pictures and now I really would like to go for some skiing!!!

Haha yes it's also a great way to loosen up the legs before getting to the top ;)

May be smaller than your used to but looks like a good time out on the slopes

Looks like a great time Jeff. How long of a drive is this place from where you live?

A little over 3 hours

The whole place looks so beautiful!!! <3 Glad you like it!
The sandwich looks also delicious, now I am hungry!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Well thank you very much! That explains the recent spree of attention it has been receiving. I appreciate it @steemitworldmap! Keep up the awesome work

This is fun, but I'm afraid with a high derivative.
give me tips to conquer it. hehehe

Just gotta put the fear aside and have fun! When you see little kids skiing around you having a blast then you know there is nothing to be scared of.

I will try your opinion. may be can I do it.thanks

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 01:39:38
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 292.25/400.00
Total Photos: 48
Total comments: 33
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeffjagoe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ski-trip-to-hunter-mountain-ny-january-21-2018


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44