How I Managed To Deal With My Depression Or Why Russian Soil Heals

in #travel8 years ago

It is common belief in Russia that native soil can give you strength and energy. This stimulant drug has been used by all bogatyrs (Russian knights) as far as I know, and this time it was my turn.

Here are some reasons for my depression:

  1. The business I was into did not take off. Of course, I am the one to blame because although I tried hard I made a lot of mistakes. I am going to try again but I do not know when.

  2. I ran out of money. I hate this feeling when you have to curb your desires and cut your leisure time because you are short of dough. It is not the quantity of money left that is depressing rather the feeling that you do not know where you can earn more.

  3. I was all alone in my flat for a week, and it was the first time when nobody was at home for so long. At first I thought that would be marvelous but later I realized how strongly I depend on human interaction. Of course, I met some friends but it was nothing compared to the time I spent in my secluded flat.

  4. In June I graduated from university and adult life hit me hard. I have been waiting for it so long but now the only thing I feel is escalated responsibility. Now I have no excuses for myself. Failures are failures, not false starts.

Fortunately, I had a journey to make. On August, 4 I went to Karelia (Russia) with my special friend.

I guess you have never heard of Karelia. There are two things you should know about this region: it is poor and beautiful. It lies near Finland and I would not call it a popular summer destination except for tent tourism.

When I reached my destination, I dived into studying the economy of the region because the sight of it was oppressive. I found out that Karelia had the 60th place out of 85 federal subjects of Russia as for well-being of its people. Practically it means that there are few jobs and much poverty.

Although there may seem to be nothing positive in poverty, still it is very telling. You see a lot of old houses, and while some people try to keep them clean and neat, others let planks fall year after year. A can of paint does not cost much after all.

This thought was the one that cured my depression. Do I have the right to be sad when there are people who live with decency even when they do not have a proper job?
I realized that I do not have the right to miss my chance. I cannot do that when I know that the things that I am going to do in life can improve lives of so many other people.

P.S. This one is my favourite pic because it shows perfectly what I have been trying to say. Guys, please, try to live in the best possible way.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fenelona! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fenelona! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @fenelona! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44