My Travel to Cuba: The Streets of Trinidad

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Article feature pics (1).png

Trinidad is a touristy city on Cuba's south coast.

MapTrinidad2.png

Narrow, cobblestone streets, centuries-old Spanish colonial architecture, and a first-rate beach draw visitors from all over (though not too many Americans...yet). So yeah, you'll see more tourists than locals in some places, but if you're in the mood for good restaurants, lively music, rich history, and some fun-in-the-sun, then Trinidad is the bulls-eye on your Cuba dart board.

I arrived here December 27, 2017. And I did so simply because it's where my guide Hanna (who I know from salsa dancing in Minneapolis) takes her tourists. Her group this time was small--just me and her two adolescent boys, who are blessed with an adventurous mother.

IMG_0438.JPG
Hanna and her boys--center/left--sitting with children from our guest house and their neighborhood friends

For this first week in Cuba, Hanna would guide her three boys (her two sons + me) on adventures in and around Trinidad. For Week 2, I'd have to remove the Cuba-traveling training wheels, hop into a classic car taxi by myself, and head back to Havana for a week getting to know the heart of this country so close to America, yet so far away.

But first was Week 1 in Trinidad, and this began with a morning trek with Hanna and her boys...


When in a new city, I just want to gain a feel for it. So, after a bread, cheese, eggs, fruit, and coffee breakfast at our guest house (which I'll write about later), we hit the streets of Trinidad.

IMG_0323.JPG
The street we lived on

IMG_0325 (1).JPG
Horses here aren't just for romantic tourist rides. They are a regular transport.

IMG_0775.JPG

IMG_0333.JPG

IMG_0331.JPG

You'll be seeing many classic cars throughout my stories. They are so common as to become ordinary--and this speaks to somethings extraordinary: the sudden impact of the 1962 US embargo, the fact that they don't make cars like they used to, and the power of culture to maintain these classics as part of Cuban identity.

They just need a little TLC every now and again.

IMG_0425.JPG
Come to think of it, I never saw an auto service shop while here. I saw several street repairs taking place.

Streets in Trinidad feature street mechanics.

Streets here also come with street bands

IMG_0364 (1).JPG
See them performing in the video below.

Can't let a good salsa go to waste.

IMG_0369.JPG

Continuing with Cuban culture, we popped into a museum nearby--just one of many in this city.

IMG_0394.JPG
Artist with his creation--a re-creation of a classic painting

Finally, Trinidad's most famous attraction:

IMG_0402.JPG

Plaza Mayor dates back to the founding of Trinidad over 500 years ago.

IMG_0398.JPG

From the Wikipedia article:

The Plaza Mayor of Trinidad is a plaza and an open-air museum of Spanish Colonial architecture. Only a few square blocks in size, the historic plaza area has cobblestone streets, houses in pastel colors with wrought-iron grilles, and colonial-era edifices such as the Santísima Trinidad Cathedral and Convento de San Francisco.

IMG_0401.JPG

On and around these Plaza steps above is where one can access the internet.

Internet in Cuba: Cuba is stingy with access to the world wide web. There are some hard line connections in privileged businesses and government organizations. But for 99% of the people, the internet is accessed only in these public wifi hotspots. (There is no internet over cell phone service--though that is said to be changing this year.) Courtesy of the government-run communications monopoly, individuals need a wifi card (like long-distance calling cards) at a rate equivalent of $1/hour. This is expensive for most Cubans, but some pay it to enjoy Facebook, email, and other basic online services.

Something I learned researching this: Buying a computer was legalized in Cuba in 2008.

IMG_0403 (1).JPG
Young Cubans online

When not online, we saw another common activity young people do across the country.

IMG_0450.JPG

IMG_0452.JPG

IMG_0451.JPG

IMG_0454.JPG

IMG_0458.JPG

And this takes us back to where we started, for it was here I took this photo:

IMG_0438.JPG

Check out footage of the ballers:


After dusk, we returned to the steps of Plaza Mayor. We weren't the only ones.

IMG_0474.JPG
Tourists gather here each evening for their nightly internet check-in.

Internet isn't the only attraction here. At the top of the steps, a stage and small theater saw performers in front of packed audiences every night.

20171228_212246.jpg

Enjoy some footage of the music of this city.

And that, my friends, is a day on the streets of Trinidad.


My guide Hanna takes regular tours to Cuba. In fact, she's taking one later this spring. See her Event Page to learn more. Next time, I'll show you the less-touristy side of Trinidad, the "real" Trinidad some might say.
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 21.800402 lat -79.982933 long A Day on the Streets of Trinidad d3scr)

Sort:  

Your post brings back so many memories of Trinidad :) I really loved my time in Cuba! I did a series of posts on Cuba a few months ago, maybe you are interested in my post about Trinidad (I don't want any votes since it's way past the payout date, just thought you might be interested): https://steemit.com/travel/@jpphotography/trinidad-cuba-two-faces-of-a-city-a-photo-documentary

Btw, I just found your post by accident (lucky accident!); Posts in #travel are quite hard to discover due to the huge amount of posts there. I am a curator for @travelfeed, the alternative tag for travel content, and we are always looking for quality posts like yours. You can even receive some exposure and upvotes, the only thing you need to do is tag your posts with #travelfeed :)

Thank you, @jpphotography, I will definitely use your tag. And great post about Trinidad! Some places were familiar, some were not, and all the photos were wonderful. My skill is limited, as I tend to favor story over image. So, I appreciate seeing another's work--especially of the same location--to inspire me to improve my photography.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Lovely post on a place in the world I've been wanting to visit for some time, but haven't quite gotten around to it yet, haha! I was surprised with the mention of great food, as one of my friends said that the food in Cuba was some of the worst she had ever eaten. Is it just different in Trinidad, or did she just go to the wrong places, haha?

Thanks for the feature:) I'll be posting more.

Yeah, I believe food in Cuba is like a lot of aspects of life there: polarized. While I enjoyed some delicious, savory meals, I also did have to eat a lot of plain food. It's a restricted place, but when the culture is allowed to shine, it is bright.

It has to be very interesting to have both sides of the spectrum so visible in one place! Really hope I find the time and money to visit it sometime soon!

Yeah, it's fascinating and a bit tragic to have all that expression bottled up. Until you get there, I have a few more posts you can enjoy:)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fedoraonmyhead
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-travel-to-cuba-the-streets-of-trinidad


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52