Travel Blog 17: Bangkok Part 3: Showdown for the Best Tom Yum Goong in all of Bangkok, Thailand!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello to my all beloved Steemians~ Another day yet another Post..

To complete my whole Journal of Bangkok eating journey, I have compiled the whole food journey into 3 different parts which I will leave a link below. While as excited as you are, this is the Final Part and also my absolute favourite of all time!

So, let's keep it short and dive right into it!

QSSWE6083.JPG

Jumbo River Prawn with Whole garlic cloves

It's pretty common that people could find shrimps everywhere in supermarket regardless of the size but have you came across Jumbo River Prawns? Well, at least not me until I am here!

So, What is River Prawns?

These freshwater river prawns is a crucial commercial species where it is widely found throughout the tropical and subtropical areas and has also been introduced to different parts of the World like Africa, Thailand, China, Japan, New Zealand and etc..It is one of the biggest freshwater prawns in the world and is widely cultivated in several countries like Thailand for food due to the high demands.

For this particular journey, I would like to bring you to a hotspot in all of Bangkok which is Banglamphu which is just 2 streets away from the utmost happening backpacker street, Khao San Road!

HYGL3171.JPEG
Chaotic? A little, maybe? But, that's the point of travelling right? :D

Well, this particular restaurant doesn't really have a banner or a proper restaurant set up. It is located at the street side at the heart of Banglamphu but, at least you have a plastic roof on top of you to help you from being drenched while it is raining. Is it all the matters right? If you're keen to look for it, it's call Tom Yum Goong Banglamphu, the rest, let Google Maps do the job for you :D

BFQHE5678.JPG

Wok Stir-fried Water morning Glory, Garlic stir-fried freshwater prawns, Tom Yum Goong

If you're a prawns lover! You're going to absolutely love it!
There's one thing about this street side restaurant is that they do not provide any menus nor speaking English. Which is the worst part. However, if you're like me, you gotta do enough homework before heading there. Downloads the photos on the internet of the dishes you would like to order, just show it to the server. Then, you're all good to go.

Whoop, Whoop! Power of technology~

SXRCE6945 - Copy.JPG

Stir-fried water morning glory with oyster sauce & garlic

Water spinach/ water morning glory is one of my absolute favourite vegetables. The hollow stems give it a very crunchy texture while being balanced by the soft leaves that soaked up at the delicious salty sauces at the bottom of the plate. It is heavenly good! This particular restaurant also included whole garlic cloves where they just toss it in without mercy! Which is a gooood sign. It's extremely flavourful and fragrant from the Wok. Especially when they are cooking it with super high heat~

YGMQE2162 - Copy.JPG

Tom Yum Goong with Shrimp Head Butter

Welcome to the Star of this article!
Tom Yum Goong is my favourite of all time. The sourness from tamarinds combined with the local Thai herbs like lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, lime juice, chillies and most importantly, the Shrimp Butter! How on earth would someone be that genius to combine this dish with the extremely rare shrimp butter.

Just in case you didn't know what Shrimp Butter is, it is the butter that been extract from their heads where we always tend to just dispose of it. It is buttery, shrimpy and extremely creamy!! All the goodness has been disposed of all the while just because we didn't realize how good it was :O

With the combination of shrimp butter, the dish has now evolved into a brand new dimension! This has since then changed my perception of Tom Yum Goong and left a very deep impact/benchmark for all the Tom Yum that I am going to have in the future!!

Conclusion
This is a super affordable meal that cost just 420 Thai Baht, which is around 13Dollar for the extremely wide spread of Jumbo prawns!! The same menu I would get in Singapore would probably cost me double or triple to price :O Also, most importantly, I promise that this is one the street side restaurant that you wouldn't want to miss when you're travelling to Thailand!

Disclaimer: All photos are taken originally while I am travelling to the place. Please do drop me a comment if you would like to use it. Thank you~

Check out some of my latest blogs at the link below:*

  1. Travel Blog 16: Teppanyaki Madness!! Tenderest and flavour explosion Sushi at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, Khao Lak
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/travel-blog-16-teppanyaki-madness-tenderest-and-flavour-explosion-sushi-at-sakura-japanese-restaurant-khao-lak

  2. Cooking 3: Oreo Cheesecake Without Baking Recipe | Step by Step Tutorial
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/cooking-3-oreo-cheesecake-without-baking-recipe-or-step-by-step-tutorial

  3. Travel Blog 15: Bringing you on an absolutely Amazing Food Journey to Olive Italian Restaurant, Delizioso!!
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/travel-blog-15-bringing-you-on-an-absolutely-amazing-food-journey-to-olive-italian-restaurant-delizioso

Previous Parts

  1. Part 1: https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-12-part-1-street-food-hunting-at-bangkok-cheap-and-spectacularly-delicious

  2. Part 2: https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-13-part-2-eye-opening-exotic-food-in-bangkok

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D
Please excuse me if my post makes you hungry but I couldn't stop myself from sharing the goodness with you. Where it could be your possible travel eating trip the next time~

Guys, please check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!

Steemit Bloggers

For all the lovely girls out there, there's a group on discord that you could join where they spread much love in the community for you to join. There's where you find all of the love and support from our lovely ladies~

Check out: TeamGirlPowa
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @explorernations to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I've never been to Thailand. Your post and foodtography is convincing me to try make a trip there in 2018!

Definitely should, for a food lover, Thailand is the best place to start beside Malaysia. Since you're living in Msia, you're already blessed with the wide variety and delicious foods.

Amazing pictures. All the dishes look so yummy.

Thank you :D It is indeed extraordinarily good. I'm indulging myself in the spread of Thai food every time when I visit the place.

It looks really tasty, but I have not tried these dishes yet.

Thank you for the lovely comment :D Please give it a try :) I have tom yum in all of my life, but I could ensure and promise you, this is one of the place you should definitely pay it a visit! Without any doubts, it could possibly be your favourite one day too!

Oh, thank you) I'm just choosing the direction for the next trip. There is a chance to think a little))

Perfect! You could also refer to my previous post of part 1&2 which is already posted on the above. Hope that I will help you out somehow :)

definitely looks like something I would like to try!

Yes, Claudiaz! I absolutely love your spirit of adventurous even though it might be out of your comfort zone, but, you'll definitely find interesting and fell in love with it eventually.

I am ready to give it a try, lol

Those prawns.... look...... amazing!

Hi Daniel! It is indeed~ Especially the butter head, soooo creamy! I am drooling now~

You and me both :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69