Easter Iceland Continues

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Previously... we had a chaotic start to our adventure. At least picking everyone up went smoothly. In total, there were six of us in a 8 seater car (Land Cruiser). Thank goodness we got an upgrade, since we barely fit all our luggage in there with us there. And back to Reykjavik we went!

As soon as we arrived we checked into our hostel. My wife opted for taking a nice nap while the rest of us wandered around town. She's probably exhausted from worrying about my 'awesome' driving skills. That and our very early start to the day, having arrived at 5 am. But I still wanted to roam the strange new lands so off I went with the rest of our traveler friends.

We started close to the big church again. This statue of Lief Erikson I found particularly interesting standing in front of the church:

IMG_20180401_112714-EFFECTS.jpg

A gift from the United States? I wonder why... But it's interesting because this fellow is in our history textbooks credited as the one to discover the Americas from Europe.

This next one gives a feel for how big the church is:

MVIMG_20180401_112630.jpg

Next we went to find a famed bakery that showed up on the travel list. It's very colorful.

MVIMG_20180401_123340.jpg

Got a very delicious croissant and something resembling a cinnamon roll... Mine was blueberry licorice flavored. Reminder to self: stop buying licorice flavored things.

Having fueled up on sweets we then walked, and walked and walked... Good thing the wife didn't come, she would have not liked walking this much. We got to the sea side and stumbled upon this cool sculpture.

MVIMG_20180401_163529.jpg

Rowing away to adventure. Then we walked along the road and stumbled upon the Opera House.

IMG_20180401_164943.jpg

Something about this blocky architecture is appealing, but I can't put a finger on why.

All the walking was making us hungry so we (now with the wife joining us later) found a place that was somewhat highly rated, Íslenski barinn.

What we ordered:


MVIMG_20180401_185158.jpg
Fish and chips!

So crispy, and the fish inside so juicy and tender. These were easily the favorite of my whole trip. After this meal I kept hoping I would be able to eat fried fish again. It was not to be, sadly.


IMG_20180401_184422.jpg
Seafood chowder!

They know how to make a flavorful seafood soup. We ordered soup pretty much every place we went.

Satisfied, we went back to our little hotel and just passed out. A good end to a day that was full of road bumps.

The journey continues...


eonwarped_tax.png
steemengineBanner.png
eonwarped_red.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income:
MannaBase and SwiftDemand
Trade STEEM on Binance
Sola.ai :: Earn.com :: Refereum :: STEEM for Tasks :: Sweatcoin
Sort:  

Food is always the best part of the trip. You get to see how different things are compared to home. The bakery would have been my first choice too :p

Oh yeah, it's pretty different in general, but funnily enough the bakeries around the world all seem to have croissants.

Wow, you went to Iceland with family. How long was the flight? Some said before eating out in Iceland was to kill one's wallet, extremely pricey. Was it still the same on your trip?

The flight is about 6 hours. What they say about killing the wallet is absolutely true. I'll probably talk about that soon hehe.

Hahah your awesome driving skills and the surprise liquorice flavoured cinnamon roll XD!

The blocky architecture: art deco or Nazi? They sure like their concrete.

I love the viking boat sculpture. That'd look great in my garden.

SIGNATURE.png

Yeah, lots of concrete. But Iceland has some pretty crazy ever changing weather so it makes sense. And lots of steel houses. (Corrugated metal?)

True. Yeah, corrugated metal. That's a fun material to use for a roof, especially in the rain :S

SIGNATURE.png

Pita pita pata pata plop!

It's like having a troupe of tap dancing tyrannosaurs up there :P

SIGNATURE.png

I second liking the Viking boat sculpture, and the looks of that chowder... I haven't done seafood chowder with tomato before, on the to do list!

OMGGGG THAT FIRST STATUE! I read a comic book in my teenage years called Vinland and I thought that it was just a Nordic tale, but now seeing a statue for it, aaaaah, I feel like I read a little historic treasure without knowing it.

And why is the church so big D: It's magnificent but it fills me with a slight feeling of dread, even though I know that it's normal since the Christians practically made their religion the default on all of Europe. I've read quite a bit about opinionated Scandinavians being angered by the old invading Catholics, now thousands of years ago, that almost removed Paganism from their traditions (and only a few nationalist rebels kept it).

Was the croissant good? The way you describe it really really makes me want to taste it now. I'm such a glutton. Blueberry jelly on a cinnamon roll, please!!

I thought you were journeying with your wife because you said we, but she stayed, now I'm confused.

And more delicious-looking food. It looks like an advertisement. Why :( Now I want to eat all of that.

Corrected that slightly to reduce that confusion :)

Yeah the croissant was nice and crispy. The only bad things was that day was really really cold so the bread got cold fast and our hands were shivering haha...

Oooh, nooo, that's terrible! I hate such cold temperatures! I don't know if I could head there unless they have a warm place inside the bakery to stay for a while rejoicing on my sweets.

Well, it's not so much hate but that my body can't stand it and I can get sick pretty quickly and I'm overwhelmed by it. (that's temperatures around 13°C, imagine negative like n Iceland.)

@eonwarped You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

I like that idea: #nobidbot. Will be using that in the future. Thanks :D

SIGNATURE.png

Thank you for your support!

I like the church photo it look super huge!

I'll assume that the cinnamon rolls must've been pretty tasty compared to mine!

The food looks so appetizing and I love what you did with your walks!

fish and chipppsss sooo yummm😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54