5 Ways to travel cheap even when you're poor!

in #travel7 years ago

In my last post I told you about how you can save money and be able to afford travelling. Now that you have saved all that money it is time to plan your adventure! As you have probability gathered from my last post, I am quite the cheap person and that does not change much whilst traveling. An all-inclusive hotel will never be my thing – well, you should never say never, right? So here are my tips on travelling with little money.

1. You Don't Always Have To Fly
I get you, I also long for those Caribbean beaches or Himalayan mountains. But if you don't have a lot of money, check out what's closer to your home and I promise you that you will find travel destinations just as amazing. I live in central Europe and there are a million places you can reach by train or bus. Usually, you can take more baggage with you which is a plus. If you are from the U.S., you don't even have to leave your country to explore (man, I'm jealous of all those National Parks). Before you decide to fly halfway across the globe, think of the places and countries that are more within your reach.

IMG-20160830-WA0047.jpg
I just love the Austrian Alps and luckily they are very much within my reach.

2. Plan Ahead
Spontaneous travels might be considered cooler, but if you want to get a really good deal on a flight, bus or accommodation, it is often smarter to book it months in advance.

3. Be Flexible
Check out all the cheap offers for various destinations and be flexible about it. There might be popping up an offer for a flight to a country you have never considered traveling to, but do it anyway! Just stay open-minded and you will not regret it.

IMG_0851.JPG
Norway

4. Choose The Touristy Things
Of course, you want to go to special, unique and hidden places, there should only be you and miles and miles of wilderness. You don't want to share this with another hundred and fifty tourists around you. But there is still a reason to choose that popular destination, because it can be much cheaper to get there than to more exotic places. Once you are there, you just want to stay far away from those huge hotels and common attractions. This year I went to Mallorca which is pretty much the touristy holiday place there is. But once we got out of Palma and began our roadtrip in a van around the island we were all alone on this beautiful island.

IMG_0383.JPG
Sunsets in Mallorca are just breath-taking

5. Be A Backpacker
Put that huge backpack on and travel by foot, by hitchhiking or by bus. Sleep in your tent, in a cheap hostel or under the stars. Check out Couchsurfing and Airbnb. Make local friends and stay with them. Buy your food at the markets or grocery stores there. I managed to travel all through Germany, Austria, Italy, Croatia and Bosnia with just my backpack for peanuts – everything included.

20160828_133106_01.jpg
This picture was taken when we crossed the alps on foot. Follow me if you want to read about my crazy adventures there!

These are my ways of traveling with very little money. If you haven't already, check out my last post about ways to save money for your travels! I'd appreciate if you left an upvote and follow!

Bye.

Earthlingvera

Sort:  

Nice post! When I first travelled I choose not to fly. Trains, Buses and Walking are much more rewarding!

Upvoted!
Love your start on the platform, trying to help people to travel.
Gold pooeing donkey, hahah
I travelled for four years and bloging about it now, also with tips and tricks.

https://steemit.com/travel/@heyitshaas/how-to-travel-the-world-without-money

https://steemit.com/travel/@heyitshaas/how-to-travel-the-world-without-money-part-2

hope you like the post and will help you.
will keep an eye out for your posts

Congratulations @earthlingvera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

how r you very nice post thank you for posting i m foillowing foll0 back @omerpak14

Überleg dir mal, die Posts vllt auch auf deutsch, also zweisprachig zu machen ;) Bringt dir evtl was! grüße

Danke für den Tipp!

Well said, Earthlingvera!

Great post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67576.09
ETH 3762.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72