Come with me to the stunning Island "El Hierro" at the end of the world

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This beautiful little Island is located about 500km west of Africa and belongs to the Canary Islands. It's origin is vulcanic. So you find black lava coasts with steep cliffs.

In the ancient world "El Hierro" was considered as western end of the world. For that reason this island was used in various parts of Europe as zero meridian for the coordination system before the greenwich meridian was created in 1884. On his second voyage Christoph Columbus started from here into the new world.

All over the Island you can discover bizzare lava rock formations which show the vulcanic character of this Island.

_4170134 Kopie-3.jpg

There is much more to discover on El Hierro, my favorite Island, which I will show in future posts...



All photos are my own work.

If you like my images please don't forget to check out my other posts:

https://steemit.com/travel/@eaglest/mystical-iceland-must-see-places-jokulsarlon-glacier-lagoon
https://steemit.com/travel/@eaglest/come-with-me-to-the-stunning-costa-de-almeria-in-spain
https://steemit.com/travel/@eaglest/mystical-iceland-must-see-places-6-polar-lights-over-the-iconic-kirkjufell-mountain
https://steemit.com/travel/@eaglest/come-with-me-and-see-the-beauty-of-west-canada

!steemitworldmap 27.736479 lat -18.007434 long El Hierro D3SCR

Sort:  

Yay, The Canary island blow them all away - happy to be in Lanzarote in February. The last picture is absolutely amazing. You're easily my favourite photographer :D

Thank You :) Yes, the Canary Islands are great, I prefer the smaller ones like El Hiero or La Gomera. No big hotels and mass tourism like in Tenerife.
I wish you a cool trip to Lanzarote...

Superb shots! But you can find just as isolated spots with untouched nature on Tenerife too - I spent 3 months there and can tell you there are beautiful places like these as well :) I think we can all agree on the fact that the Canaries are just a stunning destination with a lot to offer :)

Yes, i love the Canaries. You spent 3 month on Tenerife? Wow! So you know all secret places ;) Were you on vacation or did you work there? I visited Tenerife two years ago but only for a week...

I have been living as a digital nomad over the past couple of years and Tenerife was one of the places where I spent some time :) There are still many parts of the island that I havent explored but did I see some great places there :) Btw I just browsed your blog quickly now and you have some fascinating content there! I kind of know you from photo contests hosted by Tomas but actually never made it your blog until now. I love these natural photos. You just earned a new follower ;) Steem on! Greetings from Mexico :)

Thank you :) The photo contest from Tomas is really cool... Living as digital nomad sounds great to me. To be able to see the world and to live wherever you want was always a dream of me... But i still have to work in the office most time of the year...

Well, Steemit might be the solution ;) Your photos are really cool, I think you can do very well on this platform...

I've also been to Tenerife 3 weeks and there are awesome places - put them all on this page if you want to take a look https://www.backtotheroutes.com/guide_page/1

You make your own travel guide of the places you have been? Cool! :) Your guide is very informative. You show a lot of places of Tenerife which sound very interesting and where I haven't been, like Paisaje Lunar for example. I think I will go back to the Canary Islands next year.

Wow, thats an awesome page @mcsvi :) Great job! But I dont see Puerto de la Cruz there, that was my base for those 3 months, the town is very beautiful and captivating ;) I just saw some other cool travel posts on your blog, will have to go through them! Thanks for sharing :)

I resteemd this post... However now my photos look like sh'*t next to yours.. haha

peace

Haha... Thanks for resteeming :)

Awesome content! followed liked and resteemed you! @finkistinger

Thank you very much for your support :)

Wow what a amazing scenery and the colours of the warter are wonderful. :)

Yes, it's a nice contrast between the blue water and the dark rocks...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=eaglest
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=come-with-me-to-the-stunning-island-el-hierro-at-the-end-of-the-world


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 18:11:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 140.47/200.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.14 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great Scenic shot! What daytime did you do shoot the photo?

Thank You. The first one was shot at sunset.

Could use the first one easily as my Windows background image on 30" dell :) This is already my second background related comment on Steemit but you make me do it :D Great photo!

Thank You. Yes, as windows background it would make a nice job. The first image is one of my personal favourites ;

That's exactly what I am looking for! It doesn't seem so touristic, isn't it? I am planning a trip around the world and I am looking for all the best spots to visit. How do you get that island? By boat? In case you are interested in travels, art and social innovation check my profile. I will post many articles and photos on these topics

You can go there by plane or ferry but you have to go first to a bigger Island nearby like Tenerife. The Canary Islands are all worth a visit...

thanks for your answer. Actually I am in Madrid so I will try to go there as soon as I can!

Looks like an amazing place. Looking forward to more photos of it :)

Thank you. I will post some more of this beautiful Island soon...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51