Life of Pai: when you already are in Chiang Mai

in #travel8 years ago

Are you (planning to) traveling in South East Asia? Even more specific North Thailand? If you are, I would truly recommend you to visit Pai. This little village up in the mountain is a great escape from basically anything. Just a 3 hour drive by minivan from Chiang Mai, or a 4-5 hour drive on a motorbike (highly recommended!). It has a cozy center filled with markets and hostels, while being surrounded by mountains, canyons, river and waterfalls.

I went for just a day, as my weekends are very short and I needed the other day to run the basic errands. I took the minivan, which was a bit annoying at the end because at one point you'll become quite nauseous. I haven't tried going on a motorbike, but many friends told me that it's quite doable and judging by the view I've witnessed from the minivan, I think it would be really nice to be riding that route on a motorbike. Also eliminates nausea!

Since I've been living in Chiang Mai for the past 11 months, I was not that interested in the center, although I can say that there are a loooot of good looking restaurants, cafes, bars there. I was intending to stay at first and booked a hostel (Carrot on the Moon) in a more quiet place, which was really nice. I've only been there for 30 mins so maybe a bit too soon to judge, but what the heck.

I rented a bike, prices go from 100-250 baht depending on the type of bike, and immediately went to Pai Canyon. This place is super serene and a real sight for sore eyes. There is a rather slippery track so when you decide to go down that path, make sure you wear good shoes. I slipped and fell a few meters down, and that was quite scary, so please.

There were some waterfalls, hot springs and temples but as I've seen plenty of those I did not really take the effort to visit them. One temple was seen from afar and quite different than others I've often seen, which is called the Big Buddha temple. And yes you guessed it, you'll see a big buddha statue, which you can see when you'll go back to the center. It's a little bit similar to the big buddha in Hong Kong, but not as big I guess.

Another place I visited was called the World War II memorial bridge. It's nice to see, however crowded as heck with all kinds of tourists taking pictures, selfies, wefies and what not. There is a very nice cafe just across it though!

Well, just another short travel story from me. If you'd like to see things with your own eyes please watch my vlog about it:

Love, D.

Sort:  

I've been to Chiang Mai last year and it's indeed one of the better places to visit around SEA. Been to Pai, and thanks for the vid - halfway into it now, fond memories :)

Aaah yes, it's a great place! Good to hear that I could refresh your memory :D

Very nice vlogs @dimplesdiary! It's great to see you back on Steemit again! I've never been to Thailand before but it's probably going to be my next travel destination! Looking forward to more from you! Keep Steeming!

Thank you! Aah yes you should really visit Pai when you come to Thailand. Thanks for the love <3

Congratulations @dimplesdiary! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dimplesdiary! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dimplesdiary! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97