Most beautiful beach in whole Greece? Here's one strong contestant ;) (Zante, Florence of Greece Part Two) [My Travel Blog]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I can't count on how many beaches in Greece I've been. It is my favourite summer destination. It helps that it is just a few hours of a casual ride from my home. Almost every summer I spend couple weeks there. There were periods when I was spending months there... Damn... now I ask myself why I had to grow up?!? Mysteries of life... Anyway, what I was telling you is - I love Greek people, I love their sea, their food, and even their music. Simply, I like Greece. Sea is amazing, blue and clean. Food is tasty and music... well, you get used to it, eventually.



Click on image for full size

So, after years and years of wandering through Greece, swimming on countless beaches and travelling across the country, you may ask me - is there any beach I remember as the bluest one? Which one was the most striking, the most surprising? In short - which one was unforgettable? Well, I can remember one - totally breathtaking and stunning. Let me take you there.



Click on image for full size

Beach we are going to visit is really something special. My humble opinion, of course. It is located on one colourful island named Zakynthos. I will simply call it Zante. This is how residents of island call their home, so we can as well. They do not mind. If you didn't read the first part story about that island, I suggest you do that. You will find some (promise - very short) history of the island and source of its name. As usually, photos included. Simply click on that boat to the right and it will get there. Remeber to get back, afterwards, this story is even better.

Click on image for full size
Beaches... ahh. You know those beaches with endless parties, a lot of joy and fun and amazing cocktails served by beautiful waitresses. Beaches with most comfortable beach beds and restaurant with soft summer music and delicious seafood. Beaches which you can reach from a terrace of a comfy hotel room, just after relaxing massage. Or before. Or both. Well, this beach is almost all that. Almost...



Click on image for full size

First - access to the beach. It is located on so vast and distant area of the island, that access, actually, does not exist. No really, you cannot reach it. At least not by foot, or car, or bike or even plane. It is, maybe, possible to reach it with a chopper, but I wouldn't bet on that. The only way to get there is by a boat. Yep, you must rent a boat and travel around the island for hours. And when I said boat, I mean real boat. Sea is not friendly in some areas you have to pass. Do not worry, it is a short travel - just one hour... or two... and a half, at most. Or, as someone suggested, you can ride to the cliff above the beach and jump by parachute. Even though, this looks like a fun alternative, keep in mind that getting back to the car will be a nightmare.



Click on image for full size

Since access to the beach is not very friendly, Greeks, as very hard working people, put a lot of effort to make your stay on the beach as enjoyable as you can imagine. There is electricity, running fresh water, restaurant, fruit bar, pool, shower installation and... if you can believe in any of this, you never been in Greece. I love Greeks beyond all limits, especially that Greek girl from the first photo, but only nation I know that is lazier then Greeks are those crazy Serbs. Trust me, I am crazy Serb.



Click on image for full size

So, installations on the beach are mostly - sand. Couple rocks, maybe. And one amazingly detailed exhibit, which looks exactly like a shipwreck. Probably because it is a shipwreck. Rusty one, to be precise. And mentioned sand is not really sand, to be honest, it is made of small pebbles. And there is no running water or any refreshment, except obvious sea in front of you, but that's not going to help you if you are thirsty. It would be smart to bring some water with you... And food. I should have said that at the very beginning, I guess... My bad if you are already there thirsty and hungry.



Click on image for full size

So, it is a beach, hard to reach, with no contents at all, except the big ugly rusty old shipwreck. Shorter version: you have Sand, Sea and Sun. Sand is made of white pebbles. Almost perfectly white. Water is blue. I mean, BLUE! Look at photos how blue it is, I didn't mess with colours, honestly. Sun is just Sun, don't expect miracles, it still planet Earth. And, may I just notice that this combination is stunningly, amazingly, unspeakably beautiful. It is the definition of the beach for an encyclopedia. It is perfect!



Click on image for full size

This beach, named Navagio Beach, is something you, for sure, seen somewhere on photos. It is not surprising since, along with white and blue houses of Santorini, this is the most common photo from Greece. And for a good reason. Peace of that beach is something you must feel to understand what peace is. The blue colour of that beach you must see with your own eyes to understand how blue something can be. If you thought that you saw clean water before, you will experience the true definition of clean water there. And if you thought that rusty old boat is not really helping at all and that piece of metal cannot add romantic scent to this scene, well... you are wrong my friend, very, very wrong.



Click on image for full size

Finally, let me give you some useful advice. The first one - go there! Second - if you can go there with the smaller boat, not a big touristic one, do it that way. There is a ton of big boats which will get you to the beach to stay there for a miserable hour or two. Instead, rent a smaller boat. Not too small though, the sea can be restless, remember? You can even arrange transport to the beach in morning, with supplies of food and water, and pick-up at the evening - which I strongly suggest. Just make sure that they understood which day to pick you up. And lastly, if you are skilled skipper who knows how to sail, the last thing you need is a piece of advice from a cyclist. You know what to do.



Click on image for full size

Let me just keep you for few more second to tell you a story about that shipwreck. It is romantic, really. Promise. Well, a story begins with a boy and a girl sitting on shores of Zante and watching the beautiful sunset. Really romantic, isn't. While they sit there, speaking quietly, the night came to a beautiful Zante. In distance, at the open sea, first thunders announced an incoming storm. The girl shivered a little. The boy was thinking how to finally make it clear to the girl that his feelings are deep and serious. He was in love with her. Deeply in love. Completely. While the girl was thinking 'oh my God, is he going to make a move already, I'm freezing', they watched a big smuggler ship, full of cigarettes, wine and other goods, speeding to open sea. The ship was trying to use the storm to reach international waters before Greek Navy kick their arses. Literally. After almost all night of fight with big waves, smugglers ship run ashore into one inaccessible beach on the south-west part of the island. In meantime, the girl decided that she had enough, and she cannot get cold again, and that, anyway, nobody will ever know, so she kissed the boy.

And they lived happily ever after.

The End...



Click on image for full size


Camera info: Canon PowerShot S2 IS
I hope you will enjoy in these photos as much as I enjoyed taking them.





This blog entry is part of My Travel Blog series. All my posts are !originalworks and all my photos are @originalworks
I have many more travel stories in my bag, so stay tuned.

To see all entries featured on @SteemitWorldMap, click here to visit my author link.





Sort:  

Amazing shots.. I didnt find it written anywhere but are you using a drone for some of these shots or hanging from a cliff Tom Cruise style. 😁

Oh, I should mention that I am a mountaineer. So - you guess the story behind those 'high above' photos...
completely wrongly ;) Truth is that I drow car to a place near to the cliffs above the beach and walk to the edge to take photos. There is a very nice viewpoint, actually, almost secured and directly above the beach. Unfortunately, you cannot get down, you can only watch.

From above:
IMG_2345.jpg

And from below:
IMG_2651_LI.jpg

Wow! The determination you have is through the roof. I ne govorim ovo jer je lijepo bit drag na Steemitu. 😁
Putting your signature on each photo is well deserved.. Amazing!

Oh, I do not even see signature anymore. I added it to my photo-exporting application when I realized that some of my photos are stolen and used for commercial purposes without my approval.

I naravno - puno hvala ;)

More beautiful photographs and inspiration for travelling to Greece. I can't get enough of your photo's! Keep them coming

Oh boy, I have a fan :) Thank you very much, really appreciate it!

Definitely! I'm not a great photographer myself but I really appreciate awesome photos when I see them!

Looks astounding. What's the best time of year to go there? How's the connection to the mainland? Thx mate!

Thank you, I am glad that you like it. I was on Zante in late summer, and it was ok. Traditionally, on the island you have one day with rain, it's something like a rule, but we didn't mind. You can always use that day to wander around towns and visit some landmarks. Midsummer is always the best time to be there, just be prepared for rush.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dejan.vuckovic
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=most-beautiful-beach-in-whole-greece-here-s-one-strong-contestant-zante-florence-of-greece-part-two-my-travel-blog


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wooow, prelepe slike :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 21 SBD worth and should receive 58 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Gorgeous, I'm going to Greece in May. I'll keep this one in mind.

Oh, have a great time, it will be excellent for sure - fewer people and prices will be a bargain.

These pictures are all so beautiful. Dang, Just may be the MOST beautiful. Such pure colors and elements.
Alliance GOOO!!!

Thank you, I am so glad that family like them :)

this is really amazing, wonderful photography, hope someday will be able to see greece, i know that it's one of the sweetest country in europe, the beaches are amazing there. have a good day.

Thank you very much, I hope that one day you will be able to see Grece in person and enjoy its beauty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60939.25
ETH 3370.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47