Tubing Somass River / Epic Ending, WATCH OUT KIDS!!! Part Two - D00k13 Digest #95

in #travel6 years ago


What up my Steemians, welcome to the @D00k13 Digest, we saw many eagles and plowed through some kids in the rapids making for an epic ending for part two of our tubing trip down Somass River. Started back out on the tube after stopping at the swimming hole with a rope swing running into a part of the riverbed covered with mussels only to realize we were being watched by two eagles sitting in a tree. Sorry the footage of the eagles in the tree was not clear with lighting but I did capture some wicked shots of them flying at the spot we stopped for a snack which turned out to be their hunting grounds.

See part one here: Tubing Somass River From The Rifle Range / Don't Go Over Stamp Falls!!! Part One - D00k13 Digest #94

We had to do a fair amount of paddling to avoid obstacles in the half of the adventure, watch out for rocks and logs as either could make your trip come to an abrupt end with the only option floating down to the bottom. We brought along our noodles just in case something happened, you never know right we could have potentially used them to save someone else's life. We had the noodles strapped on the back also as added protection to the tube, can be difficult to keep your feet facing the obstacle in the rapids.

Many times I needed to stop and reapply sunscreen, I am very fair skinned and burn pretty easily. At one stop we had to pick up the tube and walk across a shallow stream to find shade for a snack, looks like this was the eagles idea also. I captured footage of 2 bald eagles flying, their wings are so loud, one directly over our heads the other was taking off from the river. This was obviously their hunting grounds being a shallow area with lots of little crystal clear wading pools, one eagles was right above us in the tree just sitting there the whole time. We didn't even notice him at first blending in completely with his colouring, dark body with a white head making him look like just a part of the tree with his head blending into the sky. These birds are amazing to watch, fast, soaring, patient, gorgeous animals! To think the saying "eyes like and eagle" literally refers to the fact that while soaring 100 feet in the air they can spot their prey underwater just adds to their magnificence. The eagle is also one of the quitest in air as long as not flapping, they can soar in completely silent, line up their catch from 100's of feet in the air, and snag it with just a quick snag from their talons barely even breaking the surface of the water. I love these birds just like my grandfather on my father's side did, he had property backing onto the Somass River just below Papermill Dam and would spend hours watching them from his deck with binoculars. I think Papa, Rest His Soul, would be proud of my eagle flying footage and thinking of his excitement for these incredible birds is a very fond memory!

Lots of chilling and relaxing, sometimes you just have to ask are we even moving? I dosed off for awhile during our ride while holding the camera, LMAO, made for an interesting summer fun picture I posted in my previous blog speaking of the trip and upload of this half of the video. We reached a top speed of the whole trip right at the end in the rapids right at Papermill Dam, best part for last!

Going down the rapids we ended up running into a group of kids, common game they play. Stand in the way on the rocks in the rapids then as the tube approaches jump out of the way and try catch a ride, last person to jump and catch a ride wins. I used to do this with my friends but not on stangers tubes, these kids are a little braver swimming in the rapids then I ever was! The one kids successfully grabbed on, I slowed down the footage for the epic ending. The kid was screaming "I caught a ride, put me in the video, wasup!!". It was epic I caught the whole thing and the kids was super stoked to be on camera and I could do nothing other then just laugh and smile at his excitement. I say this moment is my best vlogging capture to date, I felt for a moment like I was a famous YouTuber or something with fans screaming at me excited to be in my footage.

I finished the day off with one last dip at Papermill Dam doing a action footage roll off the tube sideways, rolling splash into the water with a bit of the underwater spinning with all the bubbles. I am really enjoying being able to apply my creative and analytical minds and come up with some interesting shots with the flexibility of this GoPro Hero 5. I highly recommend this camera for anyone wanting to do a action packed travel vlog knowing your camera is fairly durable and the software Quik makes editing super easy completely from mobile, now if I had an android phone I would have been able to upload from mobile also.... thoughts for my next vacation ;)

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!?!?

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Follow @d00k13 if you wish to join my journey!

  • If you wish to help, Power please! Anything else will be converted.

Join us on #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That was a great video, @d00k13!

The water is so damn clear there. Also, looked like the GoPro was really close to the rocks under your tube!!

Good stuff!

"Waassssuuuppppp!!" 🤙

Waassssuuupppppp!! Yea dude super clear water and I was trying to keep the gopro as close to the river bed as possible, good eye! I only bumped it once the whole trip, the floating handle made it handy for getting underwater shots while paddling for my life 😅 I was just going with it true test of the strength of the GoPro! It survived me so it gets an award 🥇!

Glad you enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aha !!!! That’s really really cool awesome VDO .. haha I love it love it !!!

Water is so clear , you guys so happy and relax , beautiful .. great job bro!!!

And yes!! The ending is so awesome lol I laugh loud 😂

I hope the wait for part 2 wasn’t to suspenseful for you? 😉

I did have a blast relaxing in the sun, super amazed at how well all my footage turned out!

I think the highlight of my whole vacation was that kid screaming he wanted to be in my video, I felt famous for a moment!

Thanks for stopping in!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol 😂 that part make me cracked !!! I love it !!
I really like the nature and all kind u had in the vdo, I think maybe it is time to find the time and have some fun.

My husband and I we work a lot and the schedule also unpredictable. Your vdo inspired us to take a break from work and go to explore the world bro.

Right on that’s what I’m all about having fun with what I’m creating glad I could inspire you to get back to nature. I too work tons, I have 2 jobs and manage the @onelovedtube community so this is my first real break since January when I started my second job. It’s good for the body, mind, and soul to get back in touch with the world around us!

No matter where you are, the world around us is filled with interesting features. Something as simple as the underwater creatures from my hole in the wall vlog can be attention grabbing. Make certain you bring a camera with you 😉 and enjoy the quality time with your hubby!

Posted using Partiko iOS

🙏👍🤟🙌👌
This is more than word to say to you bro!! Thank you and I am really glad to be a part of steemit .. this community leased me to see more people / activities / life/ etc and the most important thing is “wonderful friendship” you have a good day ok? God Bless you . 🤗🤗

Steemit has been great right from the start, so glad I took the step and started vlogging. This has started a whole different view on life for me!

I will have a good one relaxing at home, you also!
God Bless

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will .. thank you 🙏
Nice to talk to you.

From tomorrow I will have a big show in 5 days .. Well, hopefully I could find some time to read, vote, and watch vdo from friends, and also post the article and vdo too lol. I am addicted to Dtube and steemit lol

Well good luck on your big show fingers crossed 🤞 take the time you need to enjoy, I just suggest ruthless recording and no shame!

I say the micro rewards from Steemit and the massive ones from DTube are a healthy addiction to have 😝🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

@ d00k13 very fun packed video. I really liked them.You really enjoyed your day lastly by dipping at Papermill Dam .that would be really crazy and fun vacations for you.

That is exactly what I’m going for fun and action packed! Eventually I’ll be releasing the full videos, they will be kind of long but it will show everything we tried to do start to finish and I think I’ll leave and highlight how I tried to capture different angles and shots sort of in a teaching style.

This was definitely our best vacation to date! Thank you for enjoying our vacation with us!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49