Travel tip: Charles Bridge – Gothic masterpiece embellishing Prague for more than 600 years!

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Let me take this moment to promote another beautiful place of my homeland, the Czech Republic. While some of the places mentioned in my previous posts might have been new to you, I am sure many of you are already familiar with the one I am going to tell you more about today as it is one of most iconic, visited and photographed landmarks of Prague as well as the whole country.

shutterstock_109975112 (1).jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Lotus_studio

Completed in 1402, the Charles Bridge (Karluv Most in the Czech language) is a huge, stone bridge spanning the Vltava River in the historic center of Prague. Decorated by a two rows of 30 statues and statuaries, the Charles Bridge is generally considered one of the most important civil Gothic-style structures in the world.

shutterstock_663369265.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Catarina Belova

Similarly to most of other iconic features of Prague such as the Prague Castle, the Old Town Square or the Petrin Lookout Tower, the Charles Bridge is usually bursting at the seams with tourists in every season but if you come early in the morning, you can enjoy some privacy here and take some impressive photos of this breathtaking piece of medieval architecture.

shutterstock_74983447.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Vitaly Titov

Now you know why the Charles Bridge is one of the most popular subjects in photos submitted by your fellow Steemians in my daily Prague/Czech Republic Photo Challenge, don´t you? :)


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel tip: Pilsen – beautiful Czech city famous for (not only) world-known beer

ColorChallenge - Orange Tuesday - @oceanelement in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Australian Monday week #15 – winner announcement!

ColorChallenge - Red Monday - @eaglest in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Sorry for the delay in posting Tomas @czechglobalhosts ! Was so jedlegged yesterday I just passed out:) I took this picture 3 weeks ago when I was crossing Charles Bridge on my way to the airport to pick up @gladysmak. It was the coldest day and that night it snowed like crazy for the last time in December. As you know, the end of December last year wasn't exactly "white Christmas" in Czech, unfortunately. We love Prague and we'll be back in summer for some beers and klobasa :) Much Love, thank you
IMG_1452.JPG

where is this? I am very dear. with the state of the layout and layout of a strategic and neat.

Ive been seeing your post about your beautiful country and I cant help but be amazed of how lucky you living in this paradise, how I wish I got a chance to visit your place someday or maybe in my dreams. The majestic creation of its artist and the almost castle like structure is outstanding... Like the photos.

You know, I am very lucky to be honest.... I do travel my share and there are many amazing places around the globe but that is exactly what makes me appreciate it the most... I hope you will be able to visit one day. Have a good one and thank you for stopping by. Tomas

Was there this past summer on my honey moon. Hoping to write up a trip report sometime soon. Anyone interested?

Anyway, we went to said Bridge on a Friday and it was SWAMPED with people, mostly tourists. A bit disappointing with the goods sold there. But it had probably the best scenery and it was the perfect spot for pictures! And to read and learn about the area was a tremendous wake up call. Truly spectacular in every way!

yeah, you are right it does get hectic and crazy busy most of the time... the best time to visit to indulge yourself is very early morning... those time you do avoid those vendors as well:)...

Really ,your homeland is beautiful.i don' t think that we have beautiful place like czech in my entire continent Africa.i must appreciate it's beauty.

Your continent is beautiful and unique in many different ways... we are all blessed to share this beautiful planet! Tomas

Whatta Master piece Charles Bridge is. The visit to this beautiful must very expensive, is it so?

The beauty is match less and reminds me another great piece of the world
*TAJ MEHAL OF INDIA although i amnot an indian but both have resemblence to some extent.

Thanks @czechglobalhosts for touring us your beautiful land through your blogs.

May God Bless you :)

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

There are many tourist traps around the Prague that do take an advantage of tourist setting up the prices sky high but if you do avoid those it is actually pretty affordable. Tomas

Love the final image, as well as the 1st ♦♦ Those statues are monstrous in size (whoa).

Definitely will like to visit there someday ♦♦ This is one exciting #travel destination

I first became aware of Czechoslovakia back in the 1980's
(when seeing the Tennis player Navratilova on TV )

IF People be curious, here's a Wiki on Czechoslovakia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Czechoslovakia

I hope you will be able to visit one day!

Prague its TOP..:) Next month i go back to Czech Republic for holiday..:) Definitely ill visit Prague with my Thai GF.

Hey! What happened? Where have you been? I have been wondering what`s happened to you since you were silent over the past few months.

Im sorry my friend but now i have peak season and so much work. But now ill be better soon with free time.

@czechglobalhosts,
Wow this is a very famous place! I saw photography of this bridge and I think a boat services are available there! The person took that photography from a boat in day time! But this is the 1st time I saw it at night!
This is amazing! Thanks for sharing such great photography and travel update with us!

Cheers~

Very beautiful place and worth visiting. And definitely no doubt on these lines on Charles Bridge:
the most important civil Gothic-style structures in the world

This picture is a special one for me and I will keep it in my personal folder(Can I...?):

DQmfQoLFk3U7ehD27ug1tPFvjvDnf6LtCWJVfJk1GyMxNGm.jpg

All the very best for your good work. Please keep sharing beauties of your homeland here and Stay Awesome @czechglobalhosts !

Beautiful photo , it's like haven
I love it and thanks for sharing.
If you don't mind please check my recent post , I hope you like it .

Namaste

I agree. The view is such a masterpiece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33