Quote of the day: To awaken alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world.

in #travel6 years ago

SPECIAL CALL: GET ENGAGED IN A CHARITY PROJECT AND HELP US SAVE A MOUNTAIN FOREST IN AFRICA! CHECK OUT THIS POST FOR MORE INFORMATION.


Dear Steemit friends and followers,

With the weekend being over soon and the new week ahead of us, let me take this moment to share one of my favorite travel quotes with you.

DSC03691.JPG
Source: Roving Spirit, author: Freya Stark, famous British-Italian explorer and travel writer


"To awaken alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world."


What is your opinion on this interesting quote, my fellow Steemians? Do you like the feeling of the unknown when you wake up at a completely foreign place? What was the most unusual or interesting place you woke up while traveling? Let me know in the comments below, I am looking forward to your stories :)

Have a great start to the new week and Steem on!


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Wallachian Open Air Musem in Roznov, place where you can travel back in time

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #22 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!

ColorChallenge - Blue Friday - @softa in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Friday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

To awaken every day in the same place gets boring after some time. Then it's time for a trip to see new places ;)

One of the coolest places I woke up was in the Atacama desert. I was travelling alone and slept in a tent somewhere at the high plateaus of the Andes at 4500 meters altitude. It was winter at that time and the temperature went down to some -25 C degrees and everything started to freeze, even my cell phone display. But when the sun came up the next morning I put up my small table and chair and made breakfast somewhere in the middle of nowhere...

Not that only your pics are out of this world, you stories are not far behind:).....

Haha, thank you. Most of my vacations are not so adventurous like this one ;)

I wish I could wake tomorrow morning in My Palace in Paris,, I wont be surprised because I already selected a specific place lool

Sounds like a great plan to me:)....

Thank you, It is a big hope maybe it can come true someday soon

Great post..Loved the amazing quotation it is really motivating and great.And yes awaking in place where you have never visit is really awesome and very exciting too because you have gone to new place where you have never been and seeing the beautiful sites is really great..You can make amazing memories by visiting new places which will make you smile and you have greatest memories which will be always with you..So i loved to travel new places and click pictures..Thanks for sharing amazing quotation with us Tomas..@czechglobalhosts

Very important! Clicking the pics:).....

You are exactly right...It is most pleasant feeling to be alone in a strange place...Last time I had been Agra city which gave me opportunity to explore something new and different...This made me realised that world is like a book where you want to keep on turning the pages one after another to know more whats going to happen next...This way you find youself with you and inner peace of mind with new adventure and thriller!!!☺ @czechglobalhost

I totally agree with you ,when you wake up in a foreign land everyday is a new day,every day is filled with excitement abd thrill of the unknowing, our minds are screaming to explore which is the best feeling ever which makes us act like a child and it’s memorable are priceless.simply put the sensation is priceless. I want to experience something like that by traveling when i save enough.i like your quato.thanks for sharing.

“If we were meant to stay in one place then we’d have roots instead of feets” we humans are made to explore....create,feel,imagine new things in life. Waking up alone in a different town or a foreign place is all part of it cause the experience,memories and excitement we’ll get from it is the most unforgettable thing. Once in a while we should travel alone to look inside our soul and reflect it with the adventures ,i am with you and waking up alone in a unknown place is the most pleasant. Upvoted....thank u.

Traveling alone can be a great way of finding out more about ourselves and meeting other people we wouldn't have if traveling with a company. Shame not many people are comfortable traveling alone. Have a great night. Tomas

100% agree, solo-traveling is the greatest way to find out who you really are and what your abilities are ;) Those traveling in groups might never find out...

It depends on the situation and the kind of place we wake up into according to me but every place be it a foreign place has it’s own experience and gives you a story to tell and you get to do and feel things that you’d never had imagined so yeah it’s a pleasant feeling directly or indirectly.thanks for posting.love this quato.

I haven't done a lot of traveling but when I do wake up in a foreign country like Mexico, I feel so alive. It's may sound strange but that is how I describe it. I love traveling and when I am going to a new place I feel so awake and alive. It's a state of mind I want to experience every moment. The excitement that high I get from being in a new place.

I totally agree with your quote! Waking up alone in a strange place is something that I often can remember for a long time!
The first time I woke up alone in a strange place was on my first backpacking trip to a foreign country. It was in a Hostel, somewhere in the outskirts of Bangkok. I just arrived by plane in the middle of the night, went to sleep and next morning i could hear the sound of thousands of motorbikes, people and animals and i was super excited to go out and start exploring. This moment is still in my mind - even after many years. And it still makes me wanna travel again, as soon as I think about it. - Thanks @czechglobalhosts for making me wanna go traveling again, hahaha..;-)

Go for it! There is never enough of travel. Hope you will get to it!

I was on tour of Northern areas of @Pakistan almost 1000 km away from my home town, I met many people there but the most strange part of that journey was here FB_IMG_1520184689810.jpg

While going to Basecamp of Nanga parbat Worlds 9th highest mountain aka (killing mountain) I met 2 kids there who served me tea and when I ask how much for the tea, they said nothing you are guest here, I'll share their pic which I've in hard drive of my laptop, that was an amazing experience of being on a strange place among strange people 😊😊😊

That is a great story to share! I love it..... great to know there are many generous people out there....

Yeah I was really amazed by their answer 😇
And it was a beautiful feeling of my journey, plan is again settled up forbone of the world's highest cold desert (katpana desert) on bikes this time 😜
I hope it will be a great tour & experience on bikes gor the first time this far 😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44