Traveling to Southeast Asia: Myanmar, Mandalay, Malaria?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Arriving in Myanmar, Mandalay


After an exciting time in Bangkok I was finally meeting up with my sister again. I hadn't seen her for a whole month, since she had been traveling through the north of India.

P8030655kl.jpg
Monks crossing a wooden pedestrian bridge across a waste polluted channel
1/400 Sek. f/5,6 150 mm

When we met at the airport in Bangkok, I learned that she was sick. Very sick. While we were waiting for boarding she laid down on the seats shivering eventhough she was wearing her sweater and my jacket.
When we arrived in Mandalay she was too weak to stand in the line for immigration so I was starting to get very worried. I asked her about her symptoms and googled around for a bit only to find out that all of her symptoms fit perfectly for malaria!

P8020452kl.jpg
One of the many beautiful houses made of woven wood. Also the back of my sister's head ;)
1/250 Sek. f/4,5 16 mm

As soon as we arrived at our guesthouse, we asked for the next doctor. Untreated malaria can be very unpleasant to put it nicely. When our host led us to the doctor I felt like we traveled back in time. The office was tiny room crammed with cupboards and shelves which hosted hundreds of pots. The hunched old and unbelievable kind doctor fit perfectly into the picture. He agreed with us on our suspicion that it's malaria.

P8030586kl.jpg Pagodas like this one are scattered across the whole country. Myanmar is the country with the highest density of temples in the world!
1/320 Sek. f/11 14 mm

Since my sister was still very weak the next day we got a taxi got to a private clinic to get a proper bloodtest. After waiting 2 endless hours we came back for results. NEGATIVE!

P8030734kl.jpg In case you didn't know: In Myanmar most men, like this fisherman, wear long "skirts" called Pa Soe (thanks to @kachinhenry for correcting me)
1/640 Sek. f/5,6 150 mm

I can not tell you how relieved we were! Having malaria is already bad but having it in a country with ether bad or unbelievable expensive healthcare is terrifying. After the good news my sister was soon feeling well again and we finally started to explore this exciting country we landed in. We made a bike tour through Mandalay to get a feeling of the city. Mandalay doesn't feel like a proper city since there are hardly any modern or large buildings or big stores. It feels more like a village spread out over several hundreds of streets. Everywhere are markets and streetfood places.

P8030635kl.jpg Biking through the burning sun, no wonder my sister waited in the only shadow
1/250 Sek. f/10 14 mm

P8030640kl.jpg This is what the back alleys of Mandalay look like. I never felt safer in a foreign country!
1/250 Sek. f/7,1 14 mm

After the sweaty biketour we decided to check out the famous U-Bein bridge at sunset. Since we both were on a budget we traveled like locals on top of the roof of a crowded mini truck. They are what we would call public transport. You just hop on if you find room anywhere, sitting in the back, in the front or on the roof or even standing on the rear bumper it doesn't matter. We opted for the roof to get some fresh air.

P8030683kl.jpg This is what most trucks look like in Myanmar: bare engines and choking exhausts
1/400 Sek. f/5,6 47 mm

P8030688kl.jpg Looking down from the roof of a truck on our way to the U-Bein bridge
1/40 Sek. f/5,6 14 mm

It took us about one and a half hour to get there but it was well worth it! The bridge itself is 1,2km (0.75miles) long and spans the Taungthaman lake. It is pedestrians and bicycles only so you can take a relaxing stroll across it.
After talking to some of the many monks who stand there to chat with tourists and improve their english, I had to shoot some pictures. In the end I had over a hundred of them only of this one bridge I will spare you looking through all of them but a few of them turned out quite good.

P8030764kl.jpg My sister trying a few ballet poses on the U-Bein bridge. (She never was a ballet dancer)
1/640 Sek. f/6,3 39 mm

P8030774kl.jpg This dead tree was too cliché to not photograph it
1/640 Sek. f/6,3 54 mm

P8030852kl.jpg The sunset created some amazing backlight!
1/3200 Sek. f/5 20 mm

The next day we were lazy and only checked out a few pagodas and temples. In the evening we went up the Mandalay hill to see the sunset one more time but it was too cloudy, so I ended up shooting the beautiful temple on top of the hill.

P8020557kl.jpg Since you are not allowed to wear shoes inside any buddhist temple, the floors are always clean
4/5 Sek. f/4 14 mm

We went to sleep early because we had to catch a train at 4am the next day.
More about our travel through Myanmar and the best trainride I have ever had in my life in my next post, so stay tuned ;)


All shots in this post were made with my Olympus OMD EM-10 Mark II with a 14-150mm lense in manual mode.

If you want to learn more about my travel through southeast Asia you can read the previous post here:
Traveling to southeast Asia: Bangkok

I am planning to post one travelpost every Thursday and some smaller posts on a non-regular basis in between.

If you want to know more about me check this out:
My introduction to Steemit


Steemit Worldmap Data:
!steemitworldmap 21.949580 lat 96.090928 long Traveling to Southeast Asia: Myanmar, Mandalay, Malaria? D3SCR

What is this?

Thank you for reading and feel free to follow me :)

Sort:  

?Lovely read?

Thank you :)

What a lovely article.... but in the fisherman picture you mentioned that most of the men wear long skirt call " long gyi " .. Actually , it suppose to be " Pa Soe " . Most of myanmar men wear " Pa Soe " and " Long gyi" are ment for ladies . Both are as you call long skirt but different name for man and women.

Thank you very much for the correction. When I bought mine at the market all the sellers called it long gyi for men.. Maybe they were having some fun with me, anyways thanks again! I will correct it now.

Good job... I am following you now wherever you go...

Wow thats biggest compliment I ever got! Truly appreciate it

@bypaul you have done it again, what a terrific post. Great way to grab attention at the beginning with the possibility of malaria (and so glad that was not the case, for your sister's sake!). Really loved the description of Mandalay as a "village spread out over several hundred streets", and I got what you meant through the picture of the back alley. What a trip that the vehicles all have exposed engines, kind of sad about the exhaust but I bet it was fun riding on the roof!

And of course, the icing on top... your incredible photography! The last image of the reflections on temple floor - absolutely stunning. That could be a standalone entry in a photography contest, it is just exquisite. The pagoda and bridge at sunset are close seconds for me. You are going to go far here my friend - keep it up!

Much love - Carl

Once again I truly appreciate your comment with all the nice feedback. This post has gone off like a rocket compared to my first one and I guess this is your work. I can't thank you enough!
I will, as mentioned in my post try to post one of these every Thursday. I still have several thousand pictures ans many many stories to share :)

Forever in your dept - Paul

Found you on travel digest. Great shots and story. Following you now.

Thank you very much! I'm doing my best to keep it up :)

Sunset photos can really be so amazing. Nice shots.

I just love shooting sunsets. Thanks a lot!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bypaul to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @bypaul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Street lamp or the sun? So beautiful!

Its a lamp from the temple the sun was long gone when I shot this picture.

Good post! I really like the photo at the end of the temple & clean floor. And I'm glad your sister is OK!

Thats one of my favorites too :)
You cant imagine how relieved both of us were when we read the results! We would have been forced to fly back to Bangkok to get proper healthcare for her if the test came back positive..

Congratulations @bypaul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87