What's up with Boba Tea in Arizona?

in #travel6 years ago

travel6.jpg
In Phoenix, Boba Tea stands and storefronts were everywhere! My husband and I were trying to kill time because I went to Phoenix to meet my nephew and I was waiting for him to finish up at school. That is why we found ourselves walking around the outlets and a mall. We tried to schedule a couple's massage, but we couldn't find anyone who could give us an appointment right away. My husband said, "well, let's go to a mall because sometimes they have masseuse stands in large malls." We went to the Arrowhead Towne Center Mall and walked around looking for a masseuse.
travel5.jpg
It was a large, two-story mall, but unfortunately we did not find a masseuse. However, I noticed more Boba Tea stands, so I decided to stop and ask what the Boba Tea craze was all about. I was told that it is a blended drink with tapioca at the bottom. I'm not a big fan of tapioca, so the barista explained that I could get "gobi poppers" instead of tapioca. The gobi poppers were soft, chewy balls filled with a fruit juice in the center.

I ordered a Creamy based tea, and the flavor was called French Kiss. My husband ordered a Fruity based tea, and the flavor was called Blush.
travel14.jpg
travel13.jpg

My husband's tea looked more like a fruity frozen drink or slushy with the gobi poppers on the bottom. My tea looked like a milk-based smoothie and tasted like a milkshake with the gobi poppers on the bottom. I did not get a picture of his tea, but I was able to take a photo of my tea.
travel7.jpg

We both chose strawberry flavored gobi poppers. The Boba Tea is very unique if you have never drank one before. My mouth was filled with gobi poppers when I drank it, which meant there was a lot of chewing involved with this drink. I thought it was a great sweet treat, but I'm sure it is loaded with calories and sugar, so I wouldn't go on a Boba Tea binge unless you are trying to pack on some pounds.

If you would like to read other posts about my trip, here are the links to those posts below:

Travel in Glendale, Arizona: https://steemit.com/travel/@bosssarah/travel-in-glendale-arizona

Flying from North Carolina to Arizona: https://steemit.com/travel/@bosssarah/flying-from-north-carolina-to-arizonia

Sort:  

Welcome to the world of boba tea! I never had one before coming to china and was reluctant to try it at first because I couldn't see myself liking it. Finally gave it a try though and love it. They're everywhere here, you can't walk 50m without coming across a boba tea place. I don't know about the ones in the states but in China you can usually pick how much sugar you want: 0 sugar, 25%, 50%, normal, extra sugar. I usually go for the 0 sugar but I wouldn't suggest this if you don't like strong tea.

I don't get the milk teas too much. They're really delicious but I much prefer the juices with tapioca pearls at the bottom instead. One of my favorites around me is a dragon fruit mango drink mixed with oolong tea.I usually get it sugarless but the fruits add enough sugar to keep it semi sweet.

The tapioca definately takes getting used to though. I honestly didn't like it at first because it seemed weird to chew while I drank but it slowly grew on me and now i'm addicted to it.

I'm also a big fan of the mocha teas with a cheese cream top. It sounds extremely weird and it really is kind of different but I really love it. Think of like cheesecake on your drink but in a heavy cream form. It's basically a thick cream layer on the top that tastes like mascarpone cheese (an italian cream cheese that is softer and sweeter than normal cream cheese).

It's funny that you posted this today because I have actually been collecting pictures of all the boba teas i drink here to make a post about it too. I'v put it off because I'm on a diet for now but once I hit my target weight I'll certainly get back to it ! (Although a lot less than before because trying to keep the weight off).

Thank you, I am glad I've ventured into this world lol. Just so you know, my name is Sarah, and I am a sugar addict! So, I don't really see me passing up the sugar in my tea at all.

I did feel like I kind of cheated myself on the experience by not trying the tapioca, but I did not want to buy a drink and then just throw it away if I didn't like it. It is funny how we can acquire taste for certain things. I didn't see an option for a cheese cream top. I love cheesecake, so I might like it.

Please share your post about all of your teas. I would love to see them. I understand giving up luxuries that can be fattening. That is why I try to drink water a lot. I rather eat my calories, than drink them lol. I love to eat too much.

Throughout the years, the simple tea drink innovates into something new, into various flavors. Here, tea drink are also invented into different flavors. Most popular here are what they called Milk tea. The mall is huge but entrepreneur hasn't tapped yet on putting masseuse chairs in that mall? I like your mall it is not too many people inside, it kinda reminds me of a mall in Dubai during early mornings and early afternoon, but once late after noon and onwards to the evening time comes, the mall becomes populated.

I guess it is good that they keep trying different things with tea. I really liked it. I've only seen some malls with masseuse in them, but it's not in every mall. This mall probably wasn't heavy populated because it was on a Wednesday and it was in the early afternoon while everyone was probably in school or at work.

Oh I see, that's the reason why there's no many people at that time hihi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50