Travels With Connie #61 Maryhill Miscellaneous

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

maryhillgrounds3.JPG

The collection at Maryhill is eclectic to say the very least. There is, quite literally, something for everyone.

native2a.JPG

One of Maryhill's featured collections is the Native American section. It is housed in a twin gallery to the Rodin collection and very tastefully done.

native1.JPG

In all honesty, I normally don't look much at these exhibits because I know that at least 80% of the artifacts were originally acquired by grave robbing. Leaves me a little bit cold.

native3.JPG

This particular exhibit was so tastefully done that I was able to look at the thousands of items with out much pain. It really is an extensive collection.

native5.JPG

The collection of baskets, pottery, carvings, tools and implements are just marvelous and very much at home in an art museum as exhibited.

maryhillcloset1.JPG

Another thing that Maryhill does that I have never seen elsewhere is to let you look behind the curtain a little. They have at least 2 storage areas that are open to the public.

maryhillcloset2.JPG

These are not curated or labeled in any way, just a stored part of the whole collection. A very interesting exhibit to be sure.

I took hundreds of photos at the museum, but I think in the next post we will check out the grounds and outside of the museum. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Very cool! This looks like it would be an interesting and educational place to visit. We have a tribe that owns land to the North of where I work. I have had the opportunity to visit their tribal center and it is always interesting to see the things they have on display there.

I have been in quite a few tribal centers over the years, and most of them have something to show. I like the feel from most of the ones I have been in.

Yeah, it is also nice knowing that they are being presented bumy the rightful owners and everything is where it belongs. I have met the chief of the local tribe a couple times and he is a great guy.

After seeing the first part of Maryhill you honestly didn't think I was going to miss this did you?
Great shots of really interesting stuff, I loved the carved stone frog for some reason, that really caught my eye. can't wait to see what the outside of the place looked like.

I just loved the frog, too. Quite a piece. I have a small frog carved from a piece of turquoise sitting right here on my desk where I can see it all the time.

The outside is pretty spectacular, too. Thanks for coming along for the ride!

Yea, I just love frogs... especially the legs. Ummm.Good.

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

This looks a pretty cool exhibit. I am glad you having a fun adventurous Summer.

Thanks Donna. I had a fun trip and am now home. It's good to have my doggy back, but otherwise I really wish I was still out there.

Oh wow! These look fascinating! You are right about being tastefully displayed too. Someone definitely did their feng shui homework before sorting them out! :D

Yeah. I don't know that they used feng shui but they certainly did this exhibit right. It's a mostly circular gallery with the exhibits grouped by region and tribe and set up as spokes in the circle. It really is a wonderful exhibit.

Thanks for coming by. I really do appreciate it.

They sure have such a cool collection of items
I am like you normally not inot these when the items may have come from robbed graves, but yes they have presented them so nicely

Yeah. It's really a great exhibit. It's arranged by region and tribe that shows the similarities and the differences across a broad range.

@bigtom13 it sure is a place I would love to visit

You brought up such an interesting and important point here. The Canadian Museum of History has such an amazing and extremely extensive collection of native artifacts as part of their exhibits. I know that a lot of stuff was donated, especially the amazing totems that they have and some of the full-size homes but I am curious how much or the collection of artifacts was acquired through grave robbing in the past. This is something I have never thought of.

I just happen to know that the CMH works hand in hand with First Nations in their exhibits and the handling of religious items. I also know that CMH has 'repatriated' at least some items that were a product of grave robbing. It really is a fine example of working together to achieve the maximum result. Not everyone does this.

Ohhh! Excellent photographs, very nice exhibitions of the native culture. Congratulations

I really hope that I presented Maryhill in a good light. I was seriously impressed with the place, and I have been to at least most of the major art museums in the US.

Ohhh, really awesome and wonderful. Personally I love art and there is nothing that makes me more than visiting the great museums. Thanks again for such a wonderful post

For a moment there i almost thought: Oh this is where Tom lives. 😇 But second picture quickly made me realize its just a gallery.
A fine gallery at that. Native american culture always interested me. The movies reduce it to cowboys and indians but theres so much more to it.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 100 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43