Travels With Connie #53 To the Rim

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.




It's morning. Not just any morning, the morning to see the North Rim. You know how I can tell this is a morning photo? That small blue flame off to the left of the fire means that I have coffee cooking. The very best part of the day!

This day was a first for a Bob sponsored meal that has since become standard for both of us. He packed some sandwich bags with a pre measured amount of pancake flower. When we were ready to cook he added a half bottle of water to the bag and mixed by hand. In two minutes we each had a pancake cooking! What a cool idea that works for biscuits too. Minimal space and maximum return!




As we leave the National Forest and get back on the Park access highway we discover that we have neighbors. Lots of neighbors. The North Rim Buffalo herd started as a joint project between Park Service and the State of Arizona. A successful project indeed.



That is the reason we came here. A small stretch of the North Rim is the only place on either rim where you can actually see the river. This is that spot. Welcome to the North Rim.

This is the primary visiting area of the North Rim. Visitor Center is just up the road and there are paved roads for maybe a mile of the rim. The other 75 miles of North Rim are less accessible.
<center


This is Angels Window. A wind window in the rock that is one of the prime attractions of the North Rim. If you get everything lined up just right you can actually see the river through the window.




I'm sure that Angels Window is the most photographed place on the North Rim, and I'm also sure that there are not 1% as many photographs of it as the South Rim. We were here at the most public of viewing spots on the Rim and saw less than 10 people during our whole time there.



But the North Rim offers much more than Angels Window. Even the paved tourist area has a ton of views and things of interest to look at. This picture is 'just' a side canyon off the North Rim Viewing Area.



One more look at Angels Window and we will move on. I'm really glad you've come this far with me, and hope you will return for more (much more) of the North Rim.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

I have visited the Canyon 4 times now and it always amazes me. The time I took my late father was the best though, when I heard an audible intake of breath with his first sighting. It always been the South Rim for me though, the touristy place.

I'll never ever disparage that view from the South Rim. It is breath taking. Then add in all the hikers on the Bright Angel trail and the burros and the Condors? It is just magnificent. But the North Rim is somehow better to me. It's so BIG.

I'm starting to look forward to my (to be planned and saved up for :')) US roadtrip every time I visit your blog more and more and more! This is truly amazing.

There is just cool stuff to see all over the US. My brother was just down in the Smokey Mountains (SE US) and we spent some time talking about how cool that is. One of the most scenic highways on earth is there. Every place you go there is something to see.

Maybe I can buy you a cup of coffee when you get here? I'd like that!

Oh YES, that's a promise, we'll meet up for a cup of coffee when I'm roadtripping the US for sure! It's on the blockchain now so you know that can never be taken back :D

I just googled Smokey Mountains and am blown away once again!

If you are ever in a plane being flown by a friend of a friend of a friend and he asks if you've seen the Grand Canyon, lie. It is not a better way to see it, just another way to experience something fabulous. If we ever have the right vehicle and the chance, I think we would love to follow your front wheel.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 35

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Beautiful places 😁😀

OMG, that third image! The one looking down into the Canyon. I can only hope that I get to check that view in person off my bucket list before I bucket myself. What an absolutely beautiful sight. I can only imagine how much fun it is to live so close to such a great attraction.

That is just out of the parking lot on the North Rim. It is way more spectacular than any photo can show. It will literally take your breath away.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-15T13:41:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 93.45/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your pictures have been very beautiful. What is the truth! The pictures are beautiful even if the place of travel is beautiful. Many beautiful places are brothers. Thank you very much for sharing with us.

You are welcome! I am glad you enjoyed them. I have more :)

Amazing. I was just chatting with you on discord about this very thing. You must have seen some amazing wonderful things. The adventurer.

Thank you. I have seen some things. Sometimes I wish I could transfer my memories to film....

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 26 SBD worth and should receive 91 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

It looks so beautiful where you guys live, it's literally like pictures from all the movies I'm seen over the years, so badly wanna go driving all across America. Great post good Sir.

Isn't it the truth. Some of these places are simply movie grade scenes. America is a great place to see, it really is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32