Rooftopping in Hong Kong! [Day 3]

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_0309.jpg

Rooftopping is a big thing in Hong Kong. Basically you get into a random high building and try to get to the rooftop! This is an amazing adventure and gives you these really amazing views.

Today is the day that I met with my travel friend. She is from Hong Kong and was keen to show me around. So off we went on an adventure through the Kowloon area. She showed me so many amazing places and the day was amazing. I will write about the rest of the day, but I think that the rooftopping deserve a post of it's own.

The first rooftop

While wandering through the Kowloon area. I mentioned that rooftopping is a thing here and I absolutely wanted to do it. My friend has never done it either. She didn't know that it was a thing here. But she wanted to try it too. So off we went on our little rooftop adventure.

We were wandering through the busy streets looking at entrances of buildings. Most of them were closed and had security. My friend wasn't sure that this would be possible. But I was determined, I know that it's a thing here and I absolutely will do it!

But then we stumbled on an open entrance. There was no door and you could see the stairs going up. It was above a restaurant where you can eat snake. The building looks sketchy, but we decided to go in. This building was only 7 stories high, but we made it to the rooftop! It was actually super easy.

We took some really nice pictures on this rooftop. This was a success! But it also gave me the feeling that I wanted more. This building is not tall enough! I want to go on a higher one.

IMG_0284.jpg

IMG_1051.JPG

IMG_1166.JPG

IMG_2134-2.jpg

The second rooftop

After our first success, we were looking for another rooftop. A higher one this time! While wandering through the streets, we found a higher building. There was a guy holding the door open. I think he lived there or maybe he was the security. We just acted like we lived there, walked in and went straight to the elevator!

We entered the elevator and immediately pressed the button for the highest floor and then closed the elevator door. The elevator went up. The security didn't give us another look.

When the elevator arrived at the highest floor, we left the elevator and took the stairs to the rooftop. This building is 18-stories high. The door to the rooftop was unlocked. But the door is old and it's hard to push open. But we manage to do so.

There's no view on this rooftop. We're still surrounded by walls and over the floor are water pipes. My friend thought that this wouldn't be any good view. But I said to take a look anyway. We walked around the corner and found a ladder to the rooftop.

I went first. And when I got there! OMG! The view!! It was just gorgeous, I was cheering out of happiness. When my friend came up, she could totally understand why I was cheering. We hung out a bit and took some pics and videos!

IMG_0362.jpg

IMG_0322.jpg

IMG_0299.jpg

Afraid of heights

This is the highlight of the day. It was so amazing, I can't even imagine that I did this! I am so afraid of heights and I am so happy that I managed to pull this off! I even went to take the crazy pictures on the edge. But I was sooo scared to do this. Thinking back at it while laying in bed, makes me feel so scared. I will get over this phobia. I want to go to an even higher rooftop!

I have been showing the videos and pictures to other people. Most of them flinch and say "How can you do that?!" or "I would shit my pants!". Totally worth it.


Thank you for reading! Don't forget to upvote this post and leave a comment below :)


Continue reading

The Lamma Island & Hong Kong Central - Hong Kong [Day 2]
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/the-lamma-island-and-hong-kong-central-hong-kong-day-2

I'm finally here! - Hong Kong [Day 1]
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/i-m-finally-here-hong-kong-day-1

My final day in Belgium
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/my-final-day-in-belgium

I'm going to Hong Kong!
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/i-m-going-to-hong-kong

How to Influence and Inspire through video - Masterclass Notes
https://steemit.com/film/@beforeyoupack/how-to-influence-and-inspire-through-video-masterclass-notes

Do Not Bring A Drone To Morocco!
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/ohhkzdxq

What I learned in Morocco - TIS Marrakech
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/what-i-learned-in-morocco-tis-marrakech

Sort:  

That's a cool idea. I had no idea it was a thing. I kind of want to go find a rooftop now.

You should! It’s amazing

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear @beforeyoupack,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41