Finding Alive Sand Dollars at a Panamanian Beach

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Did you know that when sand dollars are alive, they are not white? We recently went to a beach here in Panama with friends called Las Lajas and there were a ton of sand dollars out on the beach! Check out this photo of my friend holding some sand dollars she found that were alive. You can even see the little tentacles on them. We quickly threw these back into the ocean hoping to save their lives!

IMG_4837.JPG

I was reading a post recently by @moderndayhippie and he was showing off some of his sand dollar finds from his local beach (check it out - awesome pics). I commented that his black sand dollars could be left in the sun and they would bleach out and turn white. I learned this from a friend here in Panama a few months ago!
IMG_4814.JPG

We walked up and down and got a lot of pieces as well as whole ones! They are so fragile, I am not surprised that we found so many pieces and so few whole ones!
IMG_8752.JPG

When we were there, the tide was really low. We had to walk a long way out to reach the ocean. Perhaps that is why so many sand dollars were visible on shore.
IMG_4809.JPG

When we arrived home, we left the black sand dollar (pictured above) out in the sun as it was already dead. None of the tentacles were moving when we found it. After a few days, the sand dollar started turning white. The tentacles also fell off like tiny little prickly hairs.
IMG_8755.JPG

I am pretty excited to have some sand dollars and one that is whole (let's see if we can keep it that way). Today, I was looking and noticed that one was broke and the "insides" were coming out. I had heard that they look like little doves flying when broken in half. What do you think?
IMG_8753.JPG . IMG_8751.JPG

Even the inside of them is pretty cool looking. You can see a few more of the "dove" or butterfly shapes inside.
IMG_8754.JPG

It was pretty exciting to find these sand dollars at the beach. I hope we get to go back soon and look for some more!
!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Awesome. We found millions of these in Parksville BC near where I grew up. You couldnt walk in the shallow water with stepping on some!!!

Interesting - never heard about "sand dollars". Just wonder what's the going exchange rate of them sand-dollars to balboa 🤔

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 01:18:26
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 95.55/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great! Thank you so much! :)

Didn't know that such shells were called sand dollars!!

Wow, I've never seen live sand dollars before! I thought they were actual coins from the thumbnail, I can see why they're called sand dollars. @ironshield

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Wow that’s neat! I never actually knew they were a living thing!!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=finding-alive-sand-dollars-at-a-panamanian-beach


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I love sanddollars, @apanamamama! What fun! My son and I found literally hundreds as we worked our way up the Oregon coast in the winter of 2016.

As a child I had a large brown one that I had dried, and it stayed brown because I kept it out of the sun. It didn't have any signs of life when I found it. I actually still have it, completely intact.

I remember hearing a story as a child that the little pieces inside are called angels, but I can't remember any details of the story, so don't know the origin of it.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 30 JAN 2018.

Cheers!

OOOOOO)))) How much of marine resources)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90