Getting a Norwegian Driver’s License | 2 SBD Trivia Prize | Adventure Every Day

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Think getting a driver’s license is a simple task? Not so in Norway. There’s quite a bit involved to get this little piece of plastic that says you can take a cruise on the roads here.


lisens.png


It didn’t have to be so complicated, however. I’ve had a license for 13+ years in Ohio, so it’s not like I needed to learn how to drive from scratch. I even was driving a manual stick shift that whole time, unlike most Americans, so the manual cars here in Europe don’t intimidate me.

But what I didn’t realize when moving to Norway is that a license from the US is only valid for 3 months maximum (if you are a tourist) and should be traded in immediately if you are planning to live here. So if you are thinking of moving to Norway from outside the EU, be aware – you need to swap your license for a Norwegian one if you plan to drive.

Better sooner than later, too. If you swap in (innbytte) your license within the first year, all you have to do is pass the driving exam (road test) to get your new glory. But if you do like me and don’t properly educate yourself, then you find out after a year that there’s a lot more that has to be done – a significant portion of the driving school program (as I will explain below).

This gets expensive to be sure, but it’s even worse if you wait until after 2 years. In that case, you will have to go through driving school completely from scratch, which runs about 30,000 NOK (around $3500). Ouch!

It will also be a shame when you find out that your home country license that you just had renewed back home has to physically be given up just to apply for a Norwegian license. I had just gotten my Ohio license renewed only to find out months later I would have to send it in with my Norwegian application, never to see it again. This leaves for an annoying period of time from trading in your old license to the day you get your Norwegian one. Unless you have another form of ID, get ready to take your passport with you to get access to bars and clubs!

Is this really necessary?? Why!?

When I first learned about this, I was a bit upset that I had to go through the trouble to get a new license and thought the whole thing was pretty stupid. I mean, we’re talking about two countries with good relations and mostly the same driving rules, right?

But I can honestly say after going through the driving program that it was very helpful and I learned some very important differences about driving on the roads here, especially when it comes to signs and road markings that are, in some cases, completely different - see trivia questions below.

Here's a quick summary of what I had to go through to get my new license (in case anyone reads this who is moving to Norway, or if you are just curious):

Regular driving lessons (kjøretimer):

These were just standard appointments with the driving school where we met up and I drove around for an hour or so. I could ask questions along the way, and the instructors would point out if I did anything wrong. At the end of the lesson, they’d give me some additional input and recommend the next step. I was required to take 3 of these lessons.

Theory exam (teoriprøve):

This is the written test that has to be taken at one of the Road authority’s (Statens vegvesen) traffic stations (trafikkstasjoner). It contains 45 multiple choice questions, and you have to get at least 38 correct, so no more than 7 wrong answers. There’s some good resources online for this, and the book is definitely helpful, especially for nailing all of those pesky sign and road marking questions.

You also take your picture that will be on your license when you go to take this test. You have to do this yourself in the photo booth at the traffic station.

First aid course (førstehjelpskurs)

As a part of the foundational driving courses that teenagers go through to get their first license, there is a special first aid course that deals specifically with road safety and what to do if you are first on the scene of an accident. I didn’t have to go through the whole program, but did end up in this one.

Now, I think first aid courses are always a good idea to go to, but imagine being easily the oldest person in a group of 16 and 17 year-olds who already know each other from the previous courses, and being the only one who can’t fully express yourself in the Norwegian language. And then you have to do a role-playing activity where you take turns acting out a car accident in the parking lot and being the first responders. Fun stuff! Now that’s a good cultural experience. Luckily, these teens weren’t the bullying type, they mostly just ignored me haha!

Slippery roads course (glattkjøring)

This is where it gets really fun! Given the long winters and insane roads in Norway, they require a special course for practicing on slippery roads. This consists of a closed course with some curvy roads and straight segments with obstacles, and everything is covered in a healthy layer of some kind of oily substance, so when you go to slam on the brakes, your car does anything but stop on a dime.

Glattkjøring.gif
Glattkjøringsbanen - the slippery roads course

There was also a classroom session and demonstration before getting to go out on the course. The demonstration included a crash simulator, a medieval torture-looking device, which I foolishly volunteered to get into. It simulates a crash going only approximately 7 km/hr, but man, I tell you what, it was no joke. I seriously had pain in my chest from the seatbelt the rest of the day.

20170530_110023.jpg
The torture rack, ahem, crash simulator

Night driving (mørkekjøring)

This is yet another driving lesson that basically amounts to driving around in the dark for a few hours. I'd tell you more, but I haven't actually taken this yet. It's summer here now, which means it is literally never dark. So I guess my license is provisional at this point. I have to take this in the fall when it begins being offered again.

The big bad driving test (Praktisk prøve/oppkjøring)

This is the one that counts. A 45-minute tour around town on a pre-determined course randomly selected by the computer of the examiner. There's also 1-2 theory questions asked at the beginning. Get nervous!

It's not that bad actually. At least if you take it in a small town like I did. Thank goodness it wasn't in the crazy roads of Oslo. And the examiner I got was a friendly woman who lives on a farm with lots of animals, so she took it easy on me. Test passed!


Trivia Time - 2 SBD prize for the first correct answer

Okay, so since I mentioned that there are some different signs here, I thought it would be fun to turn it into a little trivia game. I'm looking for the first correct answer to the meaning of the three signs given below, since these were totally new to me. The first person with the answer will receive 2 SBD from me.

To qualify, you must not be from a European country, or else these signs probably aren't so foreign to you. Sorry!

If you think you know, send a comment with your three responses, along with what country you are from. Good luck! Hope you don't get in a traffic accident!

Sign 1:
forkjorsvei.jpg

Sign 2:
forkjorsrett_motende_trafikk.jpg

Sign 3:
forkjorskryss.jpg


How does the process for getting a Norwegian driver's license compare to your country? Tell me in the comments below.


Adventure Every Day is a travel & exploration channel started in 2016. In addition to the Steemit blog, I post short films of my adventures to the Adventure Every Day YouTube channel.
alt text

Sort:  

I'm glad it was not a total waste of time taking those courses. Welcome to Norway!

Hjertelig takk! I'm like half Norwegian now haha!

If I ever go to a foreign country and require a drivers license then I will check out the requirements ahead of time. Something I never thought of doing. Everyone should take a first aid course. That is a great idea. 🐓🐓

Thanks for the comment! Yes, I definitely recommend some research about this kind of stuff beforehand. Makes for a better story when you learn after the fact though haha!

I guess you have point. Writing stories about what we learn from often is entertains for others. Kind of funny when you think about it. In a twisted kind of way! Lol. 🐓🐓

I am from India.

Here are my answers to the quiz.
Sign 1: It's a priority road.
Sign 2: It means road narrowing, oncoming vehicles have to give way.
Sign 3: It's a warning for crossroad. Vehicles on the side roads have to give way.

Alas! The mystery has been solved! I don't know if you did some serious Googling or have similar rules in India, but either way, we can put this one in the books finally. Congrats!

Yes, I wanted to say, "I am not just a superstar, I am a cheeky monkey too!" But I held my tongue, so I get the second prize. ;)
It was no serious Googling; it took me around 30 seconds of effort on Google to win both the contests.
Thank you very much for the prompt pay out!
I bet you will make it much tougher next time. :D

Wow...that indeed is a trip of how to get a drivers license. Can't belief it. Thanks for sharing . he, he, he...in the church of perpetual astonishment another adventure every day...
Samuel Stonehill recommended you and I had a look at your posts and like what I have seen so far. Being new to Steemit I am still finding myself thru the maze...for now this is to say keep sharing your adventures ...I follow you.

Thank you @copa-communion! Mr. Stonehill is a quality Steemian. I wish you luck on here :)

is it not risky putting a pic of your autograph online?

What can I say I like to live on the edge.

Good point for real though, thanks my friend! I shall send you a 1 SBD reward anyways since nobody seems to have the answers to the contest.

It may be kind of sad but I feel a signature doesn't have too much meaning nowadays - it is almost never verified. What do you think? Regardless this is why I have LifeLock so I am always notified in the event anything ever happens.

Cheers!

I agree that signatures seem obsolete. I trust a computer verifying identity over a signature any day! I just get sketched out by anything I post online because hackers are getting so good!

Agreed. It's a shame but there's a lot of dishonest people with a good grasp of technology out there, so always gotta play it a bit safe.

Congratulations @adventureevryday! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adventureevryday from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65