ADSactly Travel - The Grand View of Chiang Mai

in #travel6 years ago

Attachment-1 (63).jpeg

The magnificent city of Chiang Mai was once the capital of the Lan Na Kingdom in the year 1296. This beautiful city was given the UNESCO Creative City award in 2017 and was on the tentative list for UNESCO World Heritage inscription in 2015. Millions of tourists visit Chiang Mai every year for its diversity in outdoor activities and historic temples. The city itself is filled with commercial centers with most brands to accommodate the growing population and visiting tourists.

Some of the most gorgeous mountains in Thailand are in Chaing Mai such as Doi Inthanon & Doi Ang Khang and the province is filled with national parks. In those national parks are astonishing waterfalls that attract visitors who are filled with passion for adventure. Another popular nature-themed adventure is renting a houseboat at the Mae Ngad Dam, and enjoy the seclusion (pending other tourists) on a beautiful lake. There's never a moment of stagnation in the green season and more adventures await in winter months, in the cold mountains of Chiang Mai.

Exploring Heritage

Attachment-1 (43).jpeg

My youngest brother who's visiting from Las Vegas, Nevada wanted to learn more about his Lan Na heritage by visiting Chiang Mai. I'm never one to back down from a traveling adventure so I quickly agreed to be his guide (along with three more uncles). It was an amazing trip that almost turned into a sequel of "Hang Over," on several occasions. Before we left, I went to visit my Ajarn (mentor) Luang Phor Ya to have my Sak Yant tattoos empowered again. As I was asking the grandmaster of Sak Yant monk about techniques during astral projection, my brother asked how long was a Sak Yant tattoo. Luang Phor Ya and I looked at each other and then he replied that he was available.

Attachment-1 (44).jpeg

When we arrived, three of Luang Phor Ya's disciples were walking out, putting their shirts on. He had already tattooed three people before agreeing to do it again so I was grateful for his time empowering my little brother. My family has a deep-rooted history with Luang Phor Ya and I was proud of that the powers bestowed upon our family has reached my brother's generation. We were both born in the United States so it was us finding home together and me actually welcoming him home in a spiritual way.

Attachment-1 (42).jpeg

From the first stab of the monk's metal rod on my brother's back, I recalled each yantra with my Ajarn. The blood and sweat it took over years tattooing yantras in holy oil before having the ones in holy ink tattooed on top. He was receiving his first yantra called "Gao Yod," which most Thai males receive first and also Luang Phor Ya's personalized yantra on his head. The closer the yantra was to finishing the more I could see him wince in pain. I reassured him that he can control that pain and he got through it like a champ. When it was over our Ajarn gave us some super amulets to protect our families and I was grateful to share this part of my life with my youngest brother.

A View of a Lifetime

Attachment-1 (53).jpeg

After visiting our Ajarn Luang Phor Ya at Wat Nang Liao in Lampang, we got on the highway and headed to Chiang Mai's Doi Suthep Mountains. It was a brief 100 km drive with some of the most beautiful forest scenery you can imagine. During Thailand's rainy season the forest looks like its straight out of a movie because it's so green and mesmerizing. When we reached Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, we dropped half of our party off at one of the eateries and I headed to the top of the temple with my brother and our family friend.

Attachment-1 (46).jpeg

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep is one of the busier temples but is well worth the crowd. When we arrived at the top we went straight to the famed pagoda that is said to contain a relic of Buddha's shoulder bone. The pagoda section had many statues and large Buddhas to it and I tried to admire each of them to the fullest. I started with statues that represent each day people are born and worked my way to the larger ones next to the pagoda. As we approached each main hall room with the largest statues of Buddha, we went in and praised with some Pali incantations.

Attachment-1 (45).jpeg

The spirit of the visitors was amazing as I watched everyone scrambling around taking pictures in the excitement of their spiritual journeys. I managed to capture countless images while exploring the four sides of the pagoda and the statues that decorated the way. When I got to the final side close to the door I had entered, I took long moments admiring the pagoda that holds a piece of Buddha's relic. The sun was gleaming perfectly off it for short moments at a time ducking in and out of the rain clouds.

Attachment-1 (56).jpeg

We continued on the path around the temple's mountain stopping by each building to admire the artistic exterior designs. The craftsmanship is artistically masterful and a lot of the statues and building pillars were hand-carved wooden logs.

Attachment-1 (47).jpeg

As we got closer to the temple's edge, I saw a group of Chinese influenced statues and stopped to admire.

Attachment-1 (55).jpeg

The craftsmanship and details were different but they're ultimately bringing two cultures spiritually together.

Attachment-1 (50).jpeg

They were grouped with some larger well-crafted statues of Buddha that would impress any art lover.

Attachment-1 (52).jpeg

I stood there taking photos for long moments at a time, trying to take the perfect one.

The rain was kind that day and also at the moment we arrived at the temple's edge. I told my brother to take a deep breath because it's the rainy season in Chiang Mai which has the cleanest air of the year.

Attachment-1 (48).jpeg

As we both looked over a grand view of Chiang Mai, I couldn't help but thank the ye kind universe for giving me the opportunity to share that moment and view with my youngest brother.

Attachment-1 (49).jpeg

Authored & Photographed by @stewsak

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Wow. Not only a great travel post, but an intensely personal account. Very nicely done!

It really makes my heart happy that you and your brother got to share this time and that you shared it with us. Thank you for it.

Super glad you like it, Tom. Don't get to see him as often because I haven't been back to Las Vegas in 15 years! Wow, time flies and it was a memorable trip. I hope you have an amazing weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

chiang mai is "the place to be" in thailand, perso, it is the top that you will find the true thai culture, the south is beautiful for its scenery but the people are corrupted by tourism ...

did you taste kao soy? a delicious Lana culinary specialty.

i know very well chiang mai and generally north. As for the jungle and the rice fields, do not take too many kilometers to find them, for example, direction Doi sakhet, a magnificent temple monastery which is 20km towards Chiang Rai, the, you You can explore the surrounding countryside and hot springs. Did you continue the route after the doi suthet? to go and taste the coffee of "KAREN" ... there is also on the road of samoeng known for its strawberry crops ... Huay ting thao is nice but there is a lake even more beautiful a few 30 kms further, it takes take taxi boats that transport you to a small concentration of barracks placed on the water or you can spend the day swimming, fishing and even stay at night ....

when at the festivals, the feast of the purifying water "songkran", magical in this part of the country, the fete des lumieres "loy kraton" ... again, it is "the place of be" etc etc ...

In short, there is so much to do to see about this city and around that we do not get bored or little.

only downside, do not be there during the season of "burns" .... March and April ... irrespirable

In those national parks are astonishing waterfalls that attract visitors who are filled with passion for adventure.

When I hear about mountains, national parks and adventures, that always gets me. You really travel a lot. Sooo many amazing places you’ve been to recently and in your past. It almost makes me jealous 😆. I bet your brother and your uncles must have left with happy and memorable experience especially with you as their guide.

It was an amazing trip that almost turned into a sequel of "Hang Over," on several occasions.

Lol you obviously had a great time together. Wat Phra That Doi Suthep Love, statues and building pillars are amazing. It’s craftsmanship looks like 🤔... as you mentioned “artistically masterful”.

I told my brother to take a deep breath because it's the rainy season in Chiang Mai which has the cleanest air of the year.

That’s exactly what my wife always says when we take a trip to our favorite place near the mountains. Anyway, the grand view of Chiang Mai is really breathtaking.

I was born the year of the horse so my family says that's the reason I travel so much, LOL. Thai families love to drink, like really really love to drink but from it, I've learned a new skill I call "the ninja." I'll just say I'm going to the restroom and POOF! ZZZzzzzz, LOL. Northern Thailand is always pleasant and they seem to smile more there which is something I've come to appreciate. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

I went to Chiang Mai, April 2015 and loved it. My Thai friends took me to Bhuping Palace which is a Royal Residence in the mountains, with beautiful gardens arranged by Queen Sirikrit. Have an iced coffee there, they grow & process their own coffee, it is to die for. They also took me to Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep, an incredible temple complex. If you get this post in time, when in the Bangkok area go to Kanchanaburi & walk over 'the' bridge over the river Kwai.

I'll definitely visit the bridge and Erawan Waterfalls again real soon. I'm off to the Trang Islands for some spearfishing :) If the weather permits I mean. Hope you have an outstanding weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Wow, I really do enjoy this post. Full of great shots! I was worried about my upcoming Chiang mai trip for two weeks which is quite long for me. I'm going solo this year, not sure what to do there. Glad to able to see this post and gather more infos for the trip. thanks! 👍👍👍 😘

Lucky you! 2 weeks is going to be amazing. I always have like 3-4 days and trying to cram everything in. I can assure you your trip is going to be amazing and look forward to hearing about it :) Have a marvelous weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Nice post! Chiang Dao should be on there, 1 hour drive from CM, amazing caves to explore. Also, what about Chiang Rai !!! The White temple :-), and personally I wouldn't bother with the cooking course, just my opinion. Also, don't go to Grand Canyon if you have a hangover lol it's hard work! Oh, and Korean BBQ near Tha Phae Gate :-) And for the best night out - Riverside / Good View near Ping River, don't bother with Yellow it's over rated! I live in CM btw.

I would love to live in CM! That must be so awesome having nature as your backyard. Bangkok gets stressful not sometimes but every day so I've come to be grateful for places like CM & CR. I did a write up on Wat Rong Khun and also Baan Dam a few months back. Love those place too. Thanks for coming by and hope you have an excellent weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

As a solo traveler you must eat out alone much of the time (I assume) but in SE Asia meals seem to be a family or group event. How does it feel (if you feel any way) to be a solo diner in those situations? Do you ever feel even more of an outsider when everyone around you is chattering away, and you're sitting there alone? How comfortable are you in those situations?

Very awesome question, I'm also super interested in an answer. There's also the language barrier.

I appreciate quality comments like this. Steem's quality of comments is often low.

I fixed that problem 15 years ago and now take everybody with me. I travel no less than a pack of 4 :) Thanks for coming by and have a magnificent weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

@stewsak and @adsactly, First of all i want to appreciate this work because you've shared an breathtaking place which is filled with Nature's Emotions.

And every culture have different Traditions and every tradition holds different stories and acts, and we can see the Traditional Tattoo in many cultures.

And all these Architectural structures and creations telling the Richness of this place and in my opinion these kind of places can called as true healing places.

Literally speaking pictures at the end is epic, and those clouds are reflecting as creating an magical effect in the sky and these kind of view can amaze us. Stay blessed. 🙂

It was great sharing that experience with my brother and the entire trip was magical. Thanks for coming by and have an amazing weekend.

"Always a pleasure having you along on our travels..."
Wishing you the best, @stewsak

Thank you so much for your kind response. Stay blessed. 🙂

Is it true that crypto has a huge presence in Chiang Mai?

This is a lovely post. You are truly fortunate to have visited this place with your younger brother. There is no joy quite like enjoying a trip filled with beauty and spirituality with someone you love. I smile in happiness for your happiness and I am grateful to the universe for your joy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85