Solo Female Hitchhiker: Yes That’s Me!

in #travel7 years ago

unnamed.jpg

“What are you crazy?!” is most people’s initial reaction when I tell them that I thumbed across Thailand all on my own.

This question comes from fear and the assumption that the world is an unsafe place. I challenged that mentality. I decided that I am loved and protected from harm, and that I have a lot of street smarts. I can read people and immediately determine if they have my best or worst interest in mind. This psychological shift opened up hitchhiking to be a legitimate form of transportation and an incredible opportunity to interact with locals, exchange stories, and get around for free. Some of my best experiences travelling have been in a stranger’s car.

The truth is that in Thailand I never waited for more than five minutes to get a ride, and the most kind genuine human beings picked me up.

Let me share with you one of the coolest experiences I had while thumbing.

Had one day left on my Thai visa, and a flight home to California booked the next day. However, I was 730km away from the airport in Bangkok, and no train nor bus reserved. I planned it out this way on purpose. I had utter confidence that the glory of beautiful Thailand would take me home. So, I hitchhiked.

The bus from the small town of Payao to Bangkok took fifteen hours. I thumbed there in eight. Nearly half the time, and double the fun. Each ride drove me for about two hours. On my very last ride, these two sisters picked me up.

They just happened to live five minutes drive from the airport, and to be going to the airport the next day for a job interview!

They drove me nearly 300km, invited me into their humble home, and fed me all of my meals for about twenty four hours. They did not let me spend a penny or give them anything in return for their generosity.

They just wanted to be kind to the traveler.

And that, steem world, is one of the many reasons that this Earth is such a beautiful place. Sometimes, you must take risks to see its beauty.


If you liked this story, you may also enjoy How to Travel the World for Less than $3,000 a Year

Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem!

Love,
@AcroButterfly

Sort:  

Hello, @acrobutterfly!,

I am a life-long hitch-hiker as well... I have many stories to tell, most of them good ones!

Thank you for sharing this very positive post about the hitch-hiking experience!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Re-Steemed!

Thanks so much for resteeming me!!! I've followed you :) have you published any of your hitchhiking stories?

You're quite welcome, friend @acrobutterfly... ;)

Yes I have, at least one that I can recall:

"My Walk On The Wild Side - A True Adventure Hitchhiking"

While this particular story has a few scary moments, I am still overall quite positive about my hitch-hiking experiences overall...

Thanks for writing your story! Perhaps I'll write some more of mine on this topic! ;)

Love hearing about the world in a more positive light.

That's why I'm on here :)

Wonderful story @acrobutterfly! I also had a positive experience hitchhiking from Oregon to East Texas in two weeks! :-) Sharing! Following! Glad to hear you had a safe journey in love and light! :-)

Thanks so much for resteeming me!!! :) that sounds like an awesome hitch!

Thanks @robyneggs for reposting this. That's how I found her.

thank you for sharing

Thank you for reading!!! :)

Phuck Yeah!

I have been hitchhiking in Mexico with a couple of young Mexican guys. We will be going separate directions in a few days and I have been considering hitchhiking alone. Your story compels me to seriously consider it. These guys tell me they know women backpackers who are hitchhiking successfully.

I too am blogging my experiences. I UpVoted you and am Following you. I hope to hear more of your travels.

Whenever I decided where to hitchhike, I looked at gown that country treats their women first.
I think you'll be fine :)
Following you back! Can't wait to read about Mexico!

Wow! That's awesome. I've always wanted to hitchhike, but always made excuses not to. Thanks for the post!

Stay tuned for a how to hitchhike post! :)

Creatr

YES YES YES, the world has laid FEAR at our doorsteps. Unfortunately we have decided to pick up the fear and make it our psession.

Well done in putting the fear aside.

Please return the favour and follow me.

Yes, we needn't let fear take ahold of our lives! Instead I choose LOVE! :D

Great story and nicely written. You might dig this book by Osho: Courage: The Joy of Living Dangerously

Thank you! Glad you like it. I will check that out!!!

yea!! Brave girl! Love you!

Awesome story :) Enjoy your travels :) I follow you for more of your inspiring stories ^^

Thank you! Glad you liked it. More adventures are always in the making!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97