How to Travel the World for Less than $3,000 a Year

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Money is the biggest obstacle that most people present when explaining why they don’t travel/haven’t as much as they would like. When I see lips forming that “money” word, what I really hear is “priorities.” If travelling is your number one priority, then few other things can truly come in your way.

I have met many people travelling the world with incessant wanderlust with very little money – I’m talking less than $400 a year. Now, I’m not that hardcore, but I’ll tell you how I did it for less than $3,000 (USD).

U5dttBJsTh8oVa3GRak8uWXwCBKfHvF_1680x8400.jpg

When travelling, there are five expenses to consider:

  1. Transportation
  2. Accommodation
  3. Eating & Drinking
  4. Entertainment
  5. Purchasing Power

Transportation


Waiting for the train to Machu Picchu, Peru

Cheap

Get your flights cheap as dirt by being flexible on your departure date, destination, and time of day. SkyScanner.com is an amazing place where you can search from country to country or even your city to “anywhere.” Or you can set a price alert on Trip Adviser if you have a specific location in mind.
It’s often cheaper to fly into/out of a mega city and then book a separate local flight/take a bus/train to get you to your destination.

Cheaper

The more you move around, the more transportation is going to cost you, so consider staying in one place for longer amounts of time, really getting to know the area. Unless you…

Free

Hitchhike. Some of my best experiences travelling have come from thumbing around continents - its an amazing way to connect with the locals. Just don't tell my grandma. It requires a little bit of intel on how to do it properly so you actually get picked up, but more on that later - stay tuned for a How to Hitchike article.

Accomodation


Location: Anza Borrego State Park, California

Cheap

Hotels in developing countries and hostels around the world offer a night's stay for anywhere between $3-$40. The most I've ever paid for a bed was $17, and there were cheaper options.

Cheaper

There are thousands of volunteer opportunities where you get to trade your labor for food and/or accomodation. They usually involve farming, hostel work, helping out a yoga school or animal rescue center, or teaching a language. Great connections to these opportunities can be found at:
Aiesec = run by students for students, six week - two year commitments available
Workaway = Run by everyone for everyone. Shorter term and less organized gigs available
Woofing = Working on Organic Farms. These are farming volunteer opportunities, all around the world.

Free

When in nature, camp outside. Its awesome.
When in a city, stay with locals. People around the world are excited to meet travellers, so they open up their homes. In exchange for interesting conversations and good times, they let you sleep on their floor/couch/sometimes even a spare bedroom. Check out:
Couchsurfing For everyone, review based
Warm Showers Specifically for touring cyclists
Trust Roots Specifically for hitchhikers
Talk Talk BnB For people who want to learn your language!

Eating & Drinking


Got treated to this meal for free by my awesome Chinese friends. Yes, that is chicken head.

Cheap

Street food, grocery stores, and markets are home to the budget traveller. If you are travelling to a country that doesn't have free potable water, instead of constantly buying disposable plastic water bottles (which quickly add up and destroy our oceans), make the one-time $25 USD investment in this compact, light weight water filter.

Free

You could score free food from your volunteering gig or your couch surfing host. Or you can table dive - an activity where you hang out in a very crowded eating area, such as a shopping mall, and wait for people to be finished with their plate. If there is food left on the table, you sneak in before the bussers and pretend like its your food. Or if its a self-bussing place, you can hang out by the trash can and ask people for the food they are about to throw away; they with never say no.

Entertainment


This gem was found underneath a freeway in Mexico City

Cheap

Rent bicycles and tour the land/city. Get a guide book and read up on archeological sites instead of hiring a guide. If you drink alcohol, buy it at the store, not the pub, and drink it somewhere else.

Free

Go outside! To the beach, waterfall, river, cave, anywhere. Meet locals and just talk with them. Try talking even if you have no language in common - you will amaze yourself!

Purchasing Power

Think about how much your currency will be worth in another country - will you gain spending power, loose spending power, or will it be the same?

If you are from India and you want to travel France on a shoestring budget, you're going to loose a lot of spending power. You may have to utilize more of the free options I have given.

If you are from Australia and you want to travel to Thailand, you are going to gain a lot of spending power. You could probably utilize more of the cheap/cheaper options I've given.

Unfortunately this is a global reflection of huge inequality. Its good to be aware of it when deciding your budget and how comfortable you'd like to be, therefore where you can go.


Thanks for reading! If you want more travel tips, acrobatics, and poetry, follow me @AcroButterfly

Sort:  

Great post Selysa! You are a traveling queen!

I prefer butterfly goddess ;)

I plan on following this guide starting august 15th.... I've had a wonderlust building and festering inside. Thank you for posting this how and exactly when you did. I might not have seen it otherwise. You might have just saved my life and set my heart free again with hope as well as imagination. I've followed, reSteemed and even promoted this post with what SBD I have. I only wish I had more. I'm excited for once in a long time.

Oh my goodness that is so wonderful!!! You are doc sweet!!! I'm so glad that you found the post and that it will inspire you!!! Can't wait to read about your travels!!!

Fantastic post @acrobutterfly life is to be lived and you are living it large. I'm not sure about the chicken head though, I might give that a miss B)

Thank you very much!!! Chicken head is entirely optional. Living an unfulfilled life is not

I love this! I was actually looking at Workaway a while ago when I was single and wanted to travel. Now that I have a boyfriend though, we're less flexible, because of work. It's a regular lifestyle for me for now.

Yes, that goes back to the whole priorities thing. Its fine to have different priorities than travelling, just important not to use them as an excuse ;)

That is a bit of an easy answer sometimes though. I mean, I wouldn't call it an 'excuse' to not travel, because my boyfriend can't come. What would you have me do? Leave him at home because of his job while I travel the world, because I don't currently have one? Make him give up any and every security he has by quiting his?

An 'excuse' sounds like it's something you can easily work around. Like some nonsense reason you give for not going out of your comfort zone. I would call this a solid reason, just like money sometimes actually is a solid reason (can't travel when you're deep in debt an on government pay, atleast not in my country).

You're right that sometimes people come up with crappy excuses though and when they have enough to go around, it's just a priority of what you spend your money on. Want a big, luxurious car, or you want to see the world? It just isn't always as simple as that and calling everything an excuse, instead of acknowledging it as a good reason seems too simple to me.

Cool post. I used Workaway on my trip to Brazil. What a great way to travel. You get to meet people from all around the world, live with the locals, get to know a few locals aswell, it was awesome!

Yes, workaway is awesome! You'll surely have an excellent experience if you use it enough :) glad to hear of your success with it.

Love it. Thank you

Great post. It's wonderful you can see the world!

I like the shot in the California park, nice lighting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49