Traveling to the Great Indian Desert | Part 1 Arriving to Jaisalmer

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear steemit friends,
If you have read my previous post on Jaipur, you know I was heading to the desert town called Jaisalmer. So, today I want to share my train journey arriving there.

Train delayed

4.jpg

My first experience on an overnight train was really not bad. My seat was in AC2 , a higher class compartment. But it was freezing so I couldn't sleep well. In the morning, more than half of the passengers on the cabin had left ..The views were getting really boring, I thought the view in the desert would be epic, and let me tell you it was not. It was plane and mostly nothing on the sight, but occasionally with small trees that grow in the desert.

thumb_overnight train to jaisalmer female solo traveller_5017_1024.jpg

Our train made at a halt a location where it seemed to be a military based, there were lots of soldiers. The only compartment mate left was a soldier, he seemed to be from quite a high ranking though..Before the train arrived to the station, he made a call and few soldiers came to pick him and his stuff. We said goodbye. I thought he was a gentleman as I didn't feel uncomfortable.. He asked me whether I could speak Hindi and he thought I came fom Manipur. Well , I google the place and yes they looked exactly like me.

SM23_MANIPUR_1408f.jpg

The ladies of Manipur , India (Image from google)

2.jpg

This was not exactly where I slept, I was on top bunker the opposite side , mine has the full privacy.But Since there wasn't anybody , I decided to move to a more spacious area.

5.jpg

Finally after listening the playlists from my phones on repeat for what it seemed like a hundred times, we finally arrived to jaisalmer.

Jaisalmer

Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 9.49.55 AM.png
Jaislamer is a desert city located far from everything.My first impression was really something. It was sad and old.. There weren't many people.. It just feel like a place from a movie scene. I thought I was feeling dramatic.. haha

I walked out of the train station, I had an address and booking printed on the paper, so I tried looking for a tricycle. Once I came out of the station, there were people waiting for the travelers with the signs of the hotels or names. So I just thought , let's just look at those names although I knew nobody was waiting for me. And guess what happened? There was a hotel name that I was staying, the guy was trying to convince some japanese travellers that they had the swimming pool. I asked him I already made the booking and whether I could tag along with him. He said yes! I waited for him on the hot burning sun but it seemed it was a bad day and he couldn't get the guests to convince. So here we go to the hotel..

overnight train to jaisalmer female solo traveller_1276.jpg

This was just in front of a random hotel.But the hotel that I stayed also have similar exteriors and design.

I couldn't remembered exactly how much I paid, I think it was around 25 or 30$ but they upgraded me to a much nicer room.. The room was glam although it was an old hotel.

1.jpg

Since I didn't really take a lot of photos that day.. photos are taken by phone on randomly ..Insert some of the photos that I took myself , felt super fancy though! :D

overnight train to jaisalmer female solo traveller_1294.jpg
It was 1pm and I was starving so I went up to the rooftop where the restaurants was located.. oh well what a great view to start, it was the Jaislamer fort! But to tell you , I think you would get this view where ever part of the town you stayed. It was windy and chilly. The desert wind can be very cold. So I ordered some mutton barayani , it was so delicious , I thought the cooking style here was different from the one I had in Jaipur. The guy working there was a nepalese and super friendly ..
3.jpg

To continue to Part 2 ..
Thank you guys for reading my post.. this post is already pretty long so I would like to post in different parts daily.

Thank you for reading.let me know in the comment of what you think, I really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

If you are new to steemit and would like some tips, check out my previous posts..

Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

That’s great! You travel to some really cool places

ပုံၾကည့္ရတာေတာ့ ရထားင ျမန္မာျပည္က ရထားလို့ဘဲ အိပ္မေကာင္းမဲ့ပုံဘဲ ေရာက္သြားတဲ့ေနရာေလးက အေဆာက္အဦးေတြကေတာ့ လွတယ္ nice trip

ေျပာလို႔သာေျပာမယ္ဆိုရင္ သူတို႔ႏိုင္ငံက trains and trains system ကျိုမန္မာျပည္ကမွီ ဘို႔ ေတာေတာိက္လုပ္ရဦးမယ္ , ဟိုမွာ .. all seat has charging plug, light etc . ေျခေထာက္ဆင္း လို႔ရေတာ့ ခရီးေဝးဆိုရင္ သက္သာတယ္.... thank u

Wow, that fort looks so cool! What was it about Jaisalmer that made it your destination?

and 3000 people are living in that fort.. I think it's the desert , because I have never been one and also the details of those sand stone architecture.. every house literally have those details, sort of like museum.

Cool, the architecture looked amazing :D

Nice blog post. India is something else.

Such a amazing experience hope someday traveling to there

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=aburmeseabroad
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=traveling-to-the-great-india-desert-or-part-1-arriving-to-jaisalmer


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

nice write up and experience

Im from Mexico far away from that place, see your beautiful pics make me want to go there, thanks for sharing

Yes! Mexico is far away .. thank u and have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51