Paris - Reunion - And who knows where next!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The last week has been a blur. This is a travel blog of sorts with a splash of 'life', with all its ups and downs!

FotoJet (3).jpg

A week last Monday, I left the sunny, but chilly island of Mallorca and flew to Paris to meet @osm0sis, where we would spend the night before flying to Reunion the following day.


3.jpg
Why is it when you don't book a seat, you get to check the wing stays attached?!


Paris

I arrived in Paris late Monday evening, and so we only had the next morning to take a quick trip to the tourist trap, Trocadero, a viewpoint of the magnificent Eiffel Tower.


FotoJet (4).jpg
Cue cheesy photos

It's a lot like Blackpool Tower in the UK, the French made theirs a bit bigger though!


IMG_9495.JPG
The tower shines a light at night!

Mid-afternoon we boarded a brand new aeroplane to make the 11 hour flight to the Bourbon Island, now known as Reunion.

Personally, I didn't need this information regarding the planes maiden voyage with passengers - I'd have preferred it to have a few solid miles on the clock!

The plus side was that each seat contained a tablet of sorts which was, in fairness, a total lifesaver for me as I've learned that I cannot sleep on a plane for love nor money.


grandma.jpg
The films weren't so bad, but check out the on-board (outside) cameras - ace!


Reunion

We arrived very early Wednesday morning and went straight to sleep, only to be woken by strong winds and a good deal of rain. Apparently, parts of the south of the island were flooded but cyclone Bergitta was kind to us in the North and passed around lunch the next day.

This gave us some time to walk around the capital, St Denis, and find our bearings - museums, pubs, places to eat and other essential must knows.


2.jpg
Check out these guns!

On Saturday, we visited the school which Sylvia was due to start at in a weeks time. We spent the day hoovering and then painting the huge classroom walls in sweltering heat - which, even after drinking 3/4 liters of water, still provided me with a killer headache.

Clearly I'm not used to a hard day's work any more - perhaps I never have been!


7.jpg
I'm bringin' sweaty back


4.jpg
Actually, can we go for yellow instead?


Now it's time to explain some of life's unexpected twists.

Before confirming our trip, Sylvia was told the school would be ready and would contain about 15 students. Following our arrival, this number became 5/6, and our accommodation and the school was clearly not going to be complete.

Booking somewhere else to stay was not ideal, but a Montessori classroom with this number of children is just not the way Maria Montessori envisioned it.

If this information was given to us prior to departing, we would not have taken the trip.


9.jpg
When life gives you lemons - stick one on a fence

So, after a day of deliberating, the decision was made to not take the role (and the 'accommodation' still without electricity and water!) and find another place to stay whilst we discussed our next move.

The current hotel is 'OK' for cheap and last minute, but we have a suitcase of smelly clothes (that's just my clothes!), and we lack a secure connection - this blog is brought to you by iPhone 3G 'Wireless hotspot'.

Cool. We can currently hear some sexual activities taking place! 2:30pm is good for some I guess!


So what's next then?

At this point we are planning to head west (where the beaches and sunsets are!) and relax whilst we decide what to do next.

Personally, I'm thinking we ditch the suitcases, buy a couple of rucksacks and disappear off to Asia, blogging our way to freedom. We shall see....


palm.jpg
Just give me the palm trees already!

This evening, we did finally make it to the beach. It felt good to finally get our feet on the sand.


beacn.jpg
Sun-down over the Indian ocean


I could well be delayed with the Stewards of Gondor post, and i'm not up to date with my utopian-io work. Sorry, I've not forgotten, I promise.

Thanks for reading my ramblings today, I wish you all a pleasant week. Hopefully, we'll have some more of the Island to show you soon.

Goodbye for now,

Asher and Sylvia - @abh12345 and @osm0sis

Sort:  

Life is full of miseries and Traveling is the best alter to the miseries of our lives. And the visit to any Island is not that bad choice at all -- I guess ;)

The most funny and favorite line is :D :D

When life gives you lemons - stick one on a fence

I did not know the relationship of @osm0sis with you may be you are husband wife but what i like the most that strong bond between you two <3 Yes SAND PICTURE :)

I am still under the process of learning and i learnt today how to write a travelling Blog :)

You have been so kind to guide me in all these So a BIG THANKS to ASHER

Looking Really forward to visit many more Islands ;)

My Support and Best wishes are always with you <3

Stay Blessed Asher and Sylvia <3

Steem On!

Thank you Salman

I'm glad you found amusement in my blog, we did laugh seeing the fruit impaled on the fence!

I suspect we will both have to get used to writing travel blogs, my aim will be to bring a smile while I think you will find better photos and more location history at @osm0sis's blogs.

Hopefully in the coming weeks, we will have more to share with you, and all.

Thank you for you kind words as always!

That impaled fruit created a huge Laughter indeed :D
Sure thing i am going to follow @osm0sis to know more about the historic locations of the world.

You always boost my confidence level with your encouraging words ASHER <3 :) :)

I may be a little biased but I do think her posts are informative and really well produced.

Have a great week!

Good heavens, that may mean a complete change of plans! Well, quite an adventure so far, and more to come, I think. I hope you will enjoy Reunion once you are used to the humidity. I wish you two all the best whatever you will do and I upvoted you for 100% because I not only liked the story and the pictures but you wrote for two isn't it?
Besides Sylvia wrote life is expensive over there!!

Thank you @clio!

Yes I guess as we are on an island with many imports, even basics like bread and water are expensive compared to what we are used to.

The humidity is much different to the likes of Valencia and Mallorca, those places have higher temperature readings but Reunion feels hotter and stickier to me!

Thank you for your support, we hope to be able to share some more photos and stories from the island soon.

giphy (1).gif

U 2 ARE AWESOME!

tenor.gif

Thanks man!

It's been a hectic week. I think at least one of us has had a headache for the last 4/5 days, and booze ain't nothing to do with it!

Take care dude, cheers!

haha leave the booze and always stick to the green medicine:)

Mahh man you 2! Talk soon!

STEEMBLESS!

Sounds like a plan to me - can smell it but no for sale signs anywhere?? 🤦🏻‍♂️😁 peace!

well well well! No luck.
I hope at most you'll enyoy the island. I'm waiting for more photos and for the following storie.
A bientôt Asher et Sylvia..

Thank you Brigitte!

Yes we have been exploring today, more on that soon 😁

The island is beautiful in-land!

I hear you have been staying indoors and writing to pass the winter rain, tres bien!

Oh guys... don't worry, you will find a solution... be it La Reunion or a new destination like Asia (sounds also good).
Enjoy the beach ;-)
Ciaooooooo

P.S. you are a super-great couple :-)

Thank you @steemitri, we have lots of options and so life isn't so bad. @osm0sis will need to get her blogging boots on though as even the bread and water is costly here!

😊😊😊 Merci hombre! Ciao!

hey, great to see you're fine, and I'm very jealous about the sun and the beaches. I'm having 5 degC and rain here ;)
Looking forward to more pictures, enjoy the island!

Thanks!

Yes we are well, perhaps a few more days acclimatising will help further - it's so humid here, but I think I'd still take it over 5 degrees!

You just crossed off one of my bucket list destination spot. Next on my list is Egypt; Pyramids. Beautiful.

I would love to see the Pyramids on the Giza plateau, I read a lot about their history as a young adult.

Thanks @greenrun, let's see what happens next 😊

Great post. I really liked it. You made the post very informative. I am glad that you have overcome the difficulties of these days with dignity.

Великолепный пост. Мне очень понравилось. Вы сделали пост очень информативным. Я рад, что вы с достоинством преодолели трудности этих дней.

Thanks @cranium, yes just about re: dignity - those shorts may not make the next plane ride though!

This is the second most beautiful pic in the list:

@osmosis looks beautiful. Tell her I just connected with her at Steemit. looking forward to reading her posts. You both look perfect for each other.

Travel blogs are my favorite ones because there is an element of liveliness in these blogs and are not boring like many other blog types. Also, travel blogs have this story telling element that keeps the readers engaged from start till end. Lastly, I like the travel blogs because they make it easier to write a travelogue.

Excellent post @abh12345. Steem On!

Thanks, I took that one myself! 😁

I cant believe to watch these pictures. Pictures taken perfectly and the scenes and people in the pictures are superb. It seems that you had lot of fun there. Keep sharing such a beautiful material all the best @abh12345

I have a long way to go as a photographer but thanks for your kind words @jawad09

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52