Post-Hardfork Post

in #trains6 years ago (edited)

Hello, and long time no see steemians!

We now live in this new Steemit world and I haven't had a real chance to check it all out yet. I returned to Germany after 10 days in the US and was mostly absent from Steemit during my time away.

IMG-20180929-WA0004.jpg

The best man and the ring bearer, my boy

I attended my brother's wedding where I was best man and was far too busy with traveling and visiting for anything else.

If you read my last post, you already know I was traveling with my 3-year-old son and we had a blast. There was some real father-son bonding going on and I got to watch him grow over the past 10 days. I am so proud of him. The entire trip he was well behaved and always having fun.


We visited the only National railroad museum in the U.S.

My brother's wedding went off with a hitch (see what I did there) and it was beautifully done. He was married in a Scandinavian church and the reception had a rustic country feel. There were over 170 guests and I think everyone had a lot of fun.

The chapel where the wedding was held

My son went wild at the wedding. He was dancing, running, and playing free the whole night. At around 8:30 or 9:00 I could see him crashing hard so we decided to call it a night early. We were laughing and singing the whole way home.

Screenshot_20181003-214147.png

My son cheering during landing

The flight home was long and hard, but my son stayed strong and hardly made a fuss through until the end. He even slept for a few hours so I was able to catch an in-flight movie "Ready Player One", which I thought was pretty good.

For the return flight, I opted to bring his car seat on the plane so he could sit better and sleep better as he does in the car. He is far too small to sit comfortably in the seat alone and too big to sleep in my arms. The car seat worked great. I think he felt more secure too.

DSC_0624.JPG

Bonus train photo. Not from the train museum, but the wedding reception

Anyways, I am back home now and all caught up on rest. I plan to do a WWII post sometime soon and get back on my Monday posting schedule. I was worried about the Hardfork I may not be able to post.

I hope you all have been well and look forward to catching up!

SB_new.png

Sort:  

That’s church’s in looks great! Glad you had a good wedding . Stop blaming the child for going home early. It was more like the parent was asleep in the corner for drinking too Michael before the speeches 😜 #steemitbloggers

I am normally black out drunk before the nuptials at any wedding. But this one I had to drive so only had one beer, an American beer at that! But it was delicious and had to fight hard not to unleash the beast haha.

Three-year-olds are so much fun. Those years are called the trusting threes. I remember those years with my four sons. It is the best time to travel with them. The wedding venue looks really beautiful. But after all that travelling and running around for the wedding, you must be glad to be home. #steemitbloggers

So glad. 10 days was the perfect length for a trip to the states. Long enough to say hi, and short enough to get out with sanity intact!

How did the speech go @balticbadger?

You both look cool in your suits and the venue looks awesome.

Gaz

Thanks a lot! The speech went great, got a lot of jabs in but really was a nice one.

Nice one. Well done buddy.

Glad you enjoyed the trip, wedding, and the museum. If you don't mind me asking, what town was that museum in? I am not familiar with it and might want to check that out, my father was a railroad engineer for 50 years.

Wow, that's amazing! It is in Green Bay, Wisconsin. Really nice museum they have an observation tower and lots of rolling stock you can check it out here.

Thanks, I appreciate that link.

What a cool chapel!! looks like a fun trip

Was really small inside but definitely added to the atmosphere. We had a really good time.

howdy back sir badger! that sounds like a wonderful trip and I'm so glad that everything went so well! Looking forward to your new posts!
Man those trains look great, I would love to check out that museum.

https://nationalrrmuseum.org/ you should check it out! It would be quite the trip for you though hahaha. Looking forward to catching up on your posts!

well thank you sir badger! hey you are truly not addicted to steemit like most people are if you went 10 days without keeping up to date, which is very healthy on your part, I salute you! lol.

Yes sir that museum would be quite a trip but I wrote down the site for a friend who is nuts about trains in case he hasn't heard of it so thank you!

No problem! I was lucky cause that hardfork nonsense was going on right in the middle of it so that helped with the addiction lol

"helped with the addiction" lol.. yes sir badger well did you see this yet? your new measure of commenting and voting units strength?
https://steemd.com/@balticbadger

I saw it but have no idea what it means

sir badger! oh well the rc line shows how much commenting power you have, the top line is how much voting power you have.
And check it before you make a comment then go back and you can see how much it used.

The larger accounts love it but the smaller accounts hate it because they can only do a few comments each day, many are quitting in disgust!

Well, that is just ridiculous! Why the hell would they do that

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much!

Cute little boy you have. 💕 You guys had some fun, glad to hear that!

Thank you! We sure did, always nice to visit family and the town where you grew up. Very rejuvenating but also can be stressful at times 😀

Congratulations @balticbadger! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Rally Upvote Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

I am truly honored! Thank you so much!

Looks like a really charming place for the wedding and glad it went well with a hitch haha
Your timing to get back into posting is almost perfect
That HF20 hullaballoo is past us (at least it looks like it ) :)

I agree. Hoping that we can avoid another snafu like that for a while and build up the membership a little more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03