Traffic Koans [Day 9]

in #traffic-koans7 years ago (edited)

This is Day 9 of the 30-day Traffic Koans contest. Details on how to enter can be found here: https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256


traffic-koans

Battered and bruised, the man was separated from the other people he recently got into a fight with. Unfortunately for him, he was placed further down the queue.

"Queue quickeners, salves," yelled a passing hawker. "Get your queue quickeners, salves, deodo—"

"Oy! You there," interrupted the man. He thought it suspicious how specific the items were, but it didn't matter. "How much for the queue quickener?"

"You look as if you need the salve more."

"Don't tell me what I need and don't need."

They discussed this matter for quite some time. After a while, angry rumblings from behind the man started to become louder. The line had already moved, and there was quite the distance between the man and the person in front of him. In his haste, he grabbed the salve and went along his way.


the-shoulder-lane.png

I don't know if this is something that's prominent in other countries as well, so I would just come out and say it. The koan specifically talks about road peddlers. Not illegal roadside peddlers who hawk their goods on the side of the road. I'm talking about peddlers walking along the lines on the road while selling snacks, drinks and other items during traffic.

Now, I'm not trying to knock on all of them. Everyone has to make a living, it's just that these people chose stoplights on intersections as their office. They're useful in a number of occasions, specifically when it's a hot day, you're parched, and you have nothing to drink. You just flag one down and a cold beverage is delivered right to your door, er, window.

Some of them knocked on your window incessantly, but the majority of them are nice guys who would just pass you if you didn't show interest. Their wares vary from place to place. I wanted to show a picture I took, but I can't seem to find it. Must be in my other phone that won't open anymore. Now, I told you earlier that their goods range from snacks (usually nuts or junk food) to cold beverages to flannel used to wipe your car with. Near Manila Bay some sell fishing rods, in case you wanted to go fishing. In other areas, bobble heads you put on your dashboard and mini trash bins are popular items. But, the most ridiculous thing I've seen sold in the middle of the road is...


coatrack
Image Source

That's right. A metal coat rack. I kid you not. I'll give you a moment to process that. A road peddler bought a metal coat rack, lugged it around and tried to sell that to people, driving on cars, in the middle of the road. Mind you, this was in one of the busiest intersections in the metro. Specifically, it's the intersection between the main highway in Metro Manila and Ayala Avenue (located in one of the main business districts of the country). I used to work there for a number of years, so I became familiar with that guy during my commute. That guy banked on selling a metal coat rack to people going to offices. He could've sold peanuts or softdrinks, but he chose to sell a metal coat rack. A. Metal. Coat. Rack.

God, I wish I was able to find the picture for more effect. Unfortunately (or fortunately), and strangely enough, that metal rack... was sold!!! You can't make this stuff up! I remember celebrating, rolling down my window and giving him a hearty woot right after he sold it. It was sold to a van located two vehicles ahead of me, so I was able to see the whole transaction going down. Haha!

Have any funny stories about roadside peddlers? What types of items are being sold in the roads you travel on? Sound off in the comments section below! Who knows, your comment could win you more than 15 SBD :D


THIS IS A CONTEST WITH SBD PRIZES!


To know how to enter, check out the link below


https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256



Vote @lukestokes.mhth | @steemgigs as Steemit witnesses!



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

Kabayan you're in a roll. Good luck and let's promote that prize pot. Voted up.

New Roll Call is here.
https://steemit.com/philippines/@yehey/teamphilippines-roll-call-32-sept-9

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you

Thanks pare! I already posted in the latest roll call earlier :D

Wow, you just don't get that kind of thing here. No selling of any sort to cars in traffic. In fact someone trying it would be greeted with suspicion!!!

Here, it would be weird to not see that. Huh, I guess it's exclusively a third world thing. Wait, what!! :O Could removing that from the equation make a country first world!? Never mind the corruption in government and all the crime. This is the real difference maker! Good grief! I just solved it!!

You have done it!!!

The answer was under our noses all this time!!

I sent in my 10,000 word thesis detailing my proposal to the Office of the President. I expect to hear back in a couple of days, since the President does have a number of other things on his plate. I won't be surprised if I would be immortalized as a statue!!

I would not be surprised at all

Day 4, and I haven't heard back. It's aight, I'm aight. It's cool, we're cool. Rain delay s'all.

This does not surprise me

I'm surprised that you're not surprised!

The Peddlers I've run across are little more aggressive. They are pedaling a service and run up to your car with a spray bottle and spray down your windshield. The next thing you know they are wiping it clean with a towel. You can wave and shake your finger no no no but they just continue their work. The next thing you know they are demanding money for their service, it's often easier just to pay.

Ach! I encountered those as well! Those are awful. You know once, we refused to pay, then they spat on the windshield and dumped dirty water on it. Man, I can't believe you have those there too. Thanks for sharing it! I wouldn't have known otherwise!

Wha?? A coat rack?? Hahaha! That's awesome!!

Yep as meesterboom said, we don't really get that kind of thing here... oh actually, I think I've once seen someone offering to clean windshields at the lights.

But all they got was people hurriedly closing their windows and staring straight ahead haha!

Awww man I don't know why my reply didn't send when I wrote it! It was long, too >.< I'll try my best to recall what I said before.

Yes! A coat rack! I used to wonder what kind of emergency would require the need for a metal coat rack. I'm so glad I didn't bet money whether that would be sold haha!

There are those people who clean winshields here as well. I do the same thing, talking about just staring straight ahead haha Usually they tire of it, but some are really persistent, and after cleaning your windshield (without first getting the permission by the owner) they spit at it and throw dirty water when they're not paid haha The mentality of those people astounds me.

D'oh!!

What?! That's so NOT on! Pure rudeness!

Really though, they just expended twice the amount of energy they would if they just passed by haha! So no worries about that. Those kinds of people will never go beyond the state that they're in. It's the mentality that drags them down.

Spot on. :)

Really though, I do hope they get educated so that they won't be such a waste of space.

So is there more than 1 contest going on? Besides the traffic violation one, I'm a bit confused on the rest of it. I upvoted you anyway because it's a nice gesture and nice idea.

Awesome! I appreciate you raising your concerns. So, it's a month-long contest, and every day there would be a daily winner. You can enter by telling a story that relates to the daily koan, like for this one--stories about road peddlers. Once September is over, all the daily winners will be entered into the monthly finals, and three winners are decided, winning 15, 10 and 5 SBD respectively. They would also get some SBD from the earnings of the day they won in. I've received donations for the prize pool, so the total prizes would be going up.

Would you mind letting me know which part of the rules confused you? It might be that many other people are confused as well, that's why not many people join.

Thank you! I hope you get the chance to join the contest :D

I want to do it! that I have to do?

really a nice post,love this,i deffinatelly follow you,
thanx
if you want to follow me thn its good for me.........

i post dailly best content that will help you surelly
so i hope we bcm friends on steemit,,
TC

Thanks for reading and following! I hope you get the chance to join the contest :D

CAN YOU TELL ME HOW I JOIN CONTEST BECAUSE M NEW HERE I DNT KNOW ANYTHING ABT IT SO PLEASE

Sure thing! Basically, I post a koan every day. What you have to do is to interpret what traffic violation I'm talking about. If you have encountered that traffic violation in your life, share that story in the comments section. Most voted on comment wins that day. Then, all of the daily winners would be considered for the final decision. Does that help?

Congratulations @jedau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jedau from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53