Top 10 Must-Read Books (Fiction) - Books #10 - #6

in #top106 years ago (edited)

After adding a new novel to my figurative Top Ten Favorite Books list, I decided to formulate something more literal and see what kind of literary-gold made the cut.

These books vary in genre, but you will see an emphasis on modern day fiction. Sorry, the genre is my first love (after my wife, my dog, hockey, food, baseball…)

Without further ado, here’s Part 1: Books #10-#6….

10. The Stand by Stephen King

This book has been the baseline for epic, apocalyptic stories ever since it was published by the King himself in 1978. This was the first monster novel I sat down to read and, at the time, I was not entirely sure I had the ability to barrel through an 1100+ page story. Now almost a decade later, I still get all misty eyed when I think of that post-epidemic wasteland, and the incredible characters Steve brought to life within it. Damn near a rite of passage for any fellow compulsive readers.

9. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

So... I did NOT read westerners. I was NOT into rolling tumbleweeds, spurred boots, cow-herding and cold-blooded Kiowas. And yet, I was still told that I MUST read Lonesome Dove. No small undertaking either, given the book is a mountain of small font pages... 864 of them in fact. And holy freaking cow, I’ll be damned if every one of those stereotypically western chapters were not a part of a literary masterpiece. I was crushed when I finished reading about Gus, Captain Call and the rest of the Hat Creek Cattle Company. Roll your eyes if you must at the reviews, the cover and the premise (I surely did), but just be prepared: You may shed a tear when those wonderfully developed characters disappear with the last page.

8. The Martian by Andy Weir

Did you see the movie? Me too - that was an awesome flick! Now go read the book, bro! I laughed through probably 20% of this book (that’s a lot when you read late and are trying not to wake the wifey) thanks to the sheer wit of Mr. Weir and his bad ass Mark Watney character. The majority of the novel is written with Watney writing/speaking to his journal, and while that may strike you as an unconventional style, rest assured it works! With impressive scientific research peppered throughout the novel to go along with Watney’s hilarious smart mouth, this is an easy, entertaining and action-packed read. If you need any further appeal, consider The Martian’s quite original opening line: “I’m pretty much fucked.”

7. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This one you have time to read before the movie comes out. You a nerd like me that enjoys video games? How about VR? How about an assload of 80’s TV and movie references? RPO has it all in this futuristic novel about The Oasis virtual reality platform and the greatest scavenger hunt ever (Prize: A gazillion dollars and control of said VR platform). Packed with plenty of sci-fi action and even a bit of a love story, we all pretty much knew it was only a matter of time until Stephen Spielberg got his hands on Ernie Cline’s bestseller. Movie hits March 30, 2018. Conversely, you can buy the novel from the kindle store right the f now. Get on it!

6. The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin

This book is actually the final installment in, and representative of, The Passage Trilogy by Justin Cronin. I do like my armageddon-type stories, but before The Passage I had no idea how good they can be if you toss in some vampires as well. Cronin absolutely tortuuuured his fans with a slow release of each of these books before TCOM hit in March 2016. What did those fans say afterwards? 110% worth it! Collectively an epic tale with characters you follow through their lifetimes, The Passage might actually be my favorite trilogy ever. (Besides Star Wars, of course. And maybe some other ones I can’t think of right now. But seriously, this trilogy is that good.)

Part 2 of the Top 10: #5 - #1 soon to follow!!

What books make your own top 10 list??

Feel free to give me your input! I’ll gladly accept support or chastising - you pick!

Sort:  

I enjoyed The Martian tremendously, and I was able to read it before seeing the movie, which enabled me to enjoy the movie so much more. I've also read Ready Player One, which I also enjoyed. I recently bought Ernest Cline's follow-up novel Armada, but I've yet to read it. I'll be sure to let you know if I do.

I haven't read much Stephen King, but I'll have to add The Stand to the ever-growing list of books I want to read.

I don't know what you're going to include in Part 2, but I'd suggest checking out Patrick Rothfuss's The Name of the Wind, which I mentioned briefly in a blog post earlier today. It's a great fantasty epic.

Wow @ethandsmith, you are officially the nudge over the edge I needed to read The Name of the Wind. I have heard about that book soooo many times and have yet to pull the trigger. So I guess that's a spoiler that it didn't make my top 5 (yet) but I am pumped to read it now. Thanks a ton for the input!

Glad I convinced you! I'm headed over to read your top 5 now!

If numbers 1-5 are Harry Potter novels, that would be hilarious!

You're probably not going to have time to read any more novels, now that you're on Steemit. It sucks you in like you're a lozenge in an old folks home.

Lol!!! And you might be onto something there with the legendary Harry Potter series...

Solid list so far. The Stand is a classic!

Awesome knowing that I have read at least one of the books. I'm surprised not to see Lord of the Rings or any Dan brown's books here.

Definitely support! no chastising needed

Part of me was expecting all ten here.

If you enjoyed The Martian you should dive into Red Mars, Blue Mars, Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson its an amazing series

Good call and you're right I should've made it clear in the title it was just #10-#6 in this part. My bad! I'll check all those Mars out! Thanks buddy!

The stand looks like something I could read... but I just lack the time to read now :(. Cool list you made though

Nice list so far. I was a bit disappointed in the recent film adaptation of the story. I am not sure the rest of the story will be told based on the mediocre reception the first film received. Player One movie previews look really bad. I hope the film is better than the trailers indicate.

Thanks good buddy! Which film adaptation you referencing? And we shall see about RPO, I agree I am not sold based on the trailer.

disregard. I was thinking Dark Tower.

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 5 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41