TODAY IS NATIONAL TELEPHONE DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago

Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate the telephone!

Today’s poem is in loving memory of my husband, Bob, my favorite Telephone Man.

The Telephone

Its National Telephone Day!
A device that lets you say,

I love you, to someone far away,
Now most people use a text to convey,

A loving message.
Texting is progressive.

But my land line,
Suits me just fine.

Once upon a time,
It cost a dime.

To make a call,
When at the mall.

We actually had to dial the phone,
After hearing the dial tone.

Life was pretty dismal,
When you got a busy signal.

It meant they were talking to another,
Or the phone was used by their mother.

There was no voice mail,
So, your call was a fail.

There was no call waiting,
It’s a fact, I’m stating.

No name to see,
On caller id.

Technology has improved,
So that cell phones are mostly used.

The song Telephone Man, from 1977.

Video source

Kids reacting to a rotary phone.

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL PIGS IN A BLANKET DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL TAKE A CHANCE DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL JELLY BEAN DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL CHEDDAR FRIES DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL HANGING OUT DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

Word I remember when I used to see those telephone stands where you had to pay a quarter to call someone.
Damn I’m old lol

Lol, old is just a state of mind. I'm young and I remember the pay phone costing a dime!

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37